We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, gorgeous food, relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grill at Flemings Mayfair

The Grill at Flemings Mayfair
Ranked #6,700 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$19 - US$31
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Transit: Nearest London Underground station: Green Park
Description: Located in the heart of fashionable Mayfair, Flemings is situated in a peaceful residential street with the best of London's attractions, shopping and restaurants on our doorstep. The Grill is the glamorous and opulent Mayfair restaurant at one of London's oldest established luxury hotels. Open for lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, enjoy stylish decor, a relaxed atmosphere and personal service.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Brilliant, gorgeous food, relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends came here to celebrate a birthday. We arrived early but we were seated with no issues.

We came for the chocolate afternoon tea and were served with the tea of our choice, (I tried them all and they were all really tasty, fresh and refreshing).

Our afternoon tea stands were brought out, (3 to be specific), and we're placed on our tables in order for us all to share. There were cream cheese, pickle, egg, salmon and ham sandwiches. There were cakes varying from raspberry macaroons, red velvet, salted caramel, chocolate sponge and luxurious chocolate scones. All of which were of a high standard quality.
There were compliments for the food for the entire time we were there. We spent 3 and a half hours there and we weren't rushed at all.
The waiting staff were extremely attentive and friendly. They were eager to please us as a group and were happy to serve us in any way they could. (I asked for additional cheese and pickle sandwiches and these were brought out to me at no extra cost).

Overall the Mayfair hotel chocolate afternoon tea is a worth while experience to have. We were looked after, we're served perfect sweet and savoury food and had a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable experience.

A highly recommended place to visit for a celebration or just for a treat.

Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imran C, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager at The Grill at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
KerryPhillips,

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent visit to the Flemings - I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time. The chocoholics afternoon tea is a very popular afternoon tea at the Flemings and its very different to anything else that you would usually have for afternoon tea!

Thank you once again for the great feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind Regards

Imran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    95
    45
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not bad value for Mayfair and an afternoon tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

but the cakes and sandwiches were very average. The hotel itself is very tastefully decorated but the room where we had the afternoon tea was in the basement and there was no natural light which was a shame as it was actually a very sunny afternoon. The sandwiches were pretty forgettable, the cakes were ok but we were perplexed why there was a massive hot cross bun on the tray. Granted it was Easter Monday but could they not have made them smaller? It seemed incongruous next to the little scones. We didn't eat them as we were quite full up but they looked shop bought.
For £25 each it wasn't bad value, the chocolate one was £39 and that was probably because of the glass of bubbly. The afternoon tea is supposed to be half price for kids but we had to remind them of this when the bill came as they had charged full price. Ok but I think its probably better to pay the £40 + and go to one of the five star hotels to get a really nice afternoon treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 283Tanga283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imran C, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager at The Grill at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
283Tanga283

Thank you for the feedback regarding your afternoon tea experience at the Flemings. I'm sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. As mentioned, our restaurant is situated on the lower ground floor of the building so there is not an abundance of natural light, but we feel we can make up for it in the stylish decor of the room.

I have noted down your points regarding the food, and passed it onto our Head Chef Brian Henry who will be looking at further ways to improve our afternoon tea offering. For £25 per person, we are in fact one of the most affordable afternoon teas in London!

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back at the Flemings,

Kind Regards

Imran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Travelzoo voucher for chocolate afternoon tea, which I redeemed this week. Lovely. Good convenient location, pleasant dining area for tea and very good service (polite, attentive, friendly).

Sandwiches were a little dry but decent, followed by 2 delightful chocolate scones. A few mini treats later I was rather full, very nice selection of cakes. Had a variety of teas which were all very good.

Good value for money based on the voucher price and would recommend.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonagius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imran C, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager at The Grill at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
sharonagius,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent afternoon tea experience. I am pleased to hear that you had a good experience and welcome your constructive points regarding the sandwiches which we have passed on to our chef to analyse and improve on for the future.

Thank you once again for visiting the Flemings and we hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards

Imran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mediocre afternoon tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We booked afternoon for 4 adults and 1 child. The first fault was when the waiter placed the afternoon stand down one of the legs was in my tea cup! I pointed this out and he merely just lifted it out without an apology or even offering to replace my cup of tea! Service was poor and when we asked for the bill the child's wasn't half price - we pointed this out and the waiter corrected the bill. Not the best afternoon tea - compared to harrods or the Ritz - prob give it 6/10.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcakes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imran C, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager at The Grill at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
cupcakes67

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent afternoon tea experience. I am sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. The service you have mentioned is not what we pride ourselves on and clearly there are some issues with training that are being addressed. Without your feedback, we would not be able to make improvements where necessary.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback,

Kind Regards

Imran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“afternoon tea at the Flemings Mayfair”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Took my daughter for afternoon tea to celebrate her birthday today and it was terrible!!!!. The sandwiches had been made from bread that had dried out (all of the sandwiches were dry - including the egg and cress, smoked salmon on beetroot bread and the ham and mustard). The scones were also bone dry and so were the little chelsea buns. I had to get up twice to ask for a pot of hot water to accompany my Earl Grey tea. We had booked through the Emerald Street two for one afternoon tea. I would never go back - complete disaster. This hotel has really got to up its game if it wants to be a serious contender for afternoon tea at a London hotel.............................

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imran C, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager at The Grill at Flemings Mayfair, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Kerry b,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent afternoon tea experience. May I ask that you email me directly on imran.choudhury@flemings.co.uk so I may be able to investigate the matter and get back to you with a full report,

Kind regards

Imran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill at Flemings Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to The Grill at Flemings Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing