We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Real Pub Experience for Son”
Review of The Pembroke

The Pembroke
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pembroke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,658 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Earls Court
Description: Welcome to The Pembroke, Public House and Lounge, situated in the centre of Earl's Court, on Old Brompton Road, minutes from Earls Court and West Brompton stations. The Pembroke opens it's doors at 12'oclock Monday to Saturday. Sundays we're open for roasts and Bloody Mary's and our infamous 'Hangover Club'. We offer a relaxed and elegant backdrop for coffee, lunch, romantic dinner or group drinks every day of the week. Recently fully refurbished this historic Public House offers an intimate dining room and open kitchen, vibrant bar featuring premium craft beers and Prosecco on tap. Upstairs is now a beautiful lounge bar boasting chesterfield sofa's, slouchy arm chairs and an 8ft projector screen, which will be used for cinema events, large sporting fixtures and classic comedy during our hangover club. Alongside the lounge, we also have Earls Court's best kept secret, our roof garden. The perfect, (and in our opinion the only) place to enjoy the best of the great British sun. Our creative and passionate kitchen team put together seasonal menus every 4 weeks, with a focus on balance, seasonality and of course great British ingredients, showcased simply in our monthly changing menu. The bar stocks craft beers and ciders from the UK and US, with Prosecco on tap offering something a little more special. Alongside hosting in-house events such as stand-up comedy, cinema evenings, wine tastings and breakfast clubs, The Pembroke is the perfect option for private events and functions, from sit down meals, canapés or secret cinemas. Our team will be able to put together the perfect evening for you.
California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First Real Pub Experience for Son”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had just arrived in London from San Francisco and my son was exhausted and hungry. He was a little grumpy, consequently, and he seemed really against the whole pub concept. He did not understand why Yorkshire pudding was called that if it was really a hollow biscuit. When his roast chicken arrived, he immediately ate the broccoli which looked different from ours, and then he cautiously tore off a piece of the Yorkshire pudding and dipped it in the gravy, He was in love.

I had the Dexter beef and it was really excellent. It was just a very nice first meal in the UK after a long day of travel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UglyDollOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    90
    29
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great venue”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I first visited before a gig at Earls Court (Artic Monkeys, which was amazing!!)) for pre-gigs drinks and loved it. The Atmosphere was great, the bar service was so fast and all the staff where so friendly. I would recommend it to anyone. I'm heading back for dinner before Calvin Harris this Friday as the food looked lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“nice pub”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

went into this bar before I went to Chelsea game didn't have time for food but it looked good good service and nice atmosphere will go back here next time

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

This is my usual drinking hole which serves a great selection of beers and ales.
Two floors with a bar on each and a decent outdoor area.
This time we decided to venture for a Sunday roast and we were not disappointed with the food.
The prices are a tad more expensive but are pretty big portions.
My only problem was that not enough gravy was provided.
Fast service and very attentive.
Would go again.

Helpful?
Thank londonchap999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Underrated.....”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Being locals in Earls Court we have been to the Pembroke for a drink many times but had never been into the restaurant before last night. Knowing many of the other dining spots around Earls Court I cannot believe how the Pembroke can be rated below so many other establishments in the area. We visited fairly late on Saturday at around 9.30pm with a group of 5 after going to the local theatre. The pub was busy and even though the restaurant area is segregated it is still quite noisy. However the variety and choice on the menu was very good. We shared prawns, squid and tempura courgette to start. All were freshly prepared and well presented.......the only downside were that the portions were a little small. The main courses were slow in coming but were worth the wait. Across our group we had the haddock and chips (not on the printed menu but available on the blackboard), salmon, beef short-ribs, and onion and mushroom tart (there are a number of vegetarian options on the menu). All received the thumbs up. There are some comments on this site about it being over-priced. We had starters, main course, and a variety of beer and wine (by the glass) - including service charge our bill came out at 24 pound each, which is reasonable for London.

The main downside is that when the restaurant and pub are busy (as they were on Saturday night) there are not enough staff and as a result the service can be slow. As an example we had to give up on another glass of wine to go with the main course as it did not arrive until we had finished eating. The main plus points - a good wide-ranging menu, nice seating area, reasonable vegetarian options, a good wine list (service issues aside), and the food is reasonably priced, fresh, and well-presented. We will certainly come again.......and hope to see that an additional server has been added for busy weekend evenings!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pembroke also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Pembroke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing