We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish and well-located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ranked #462 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Wrexham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stylish and well-located”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The location was, for us, unbeatable. A stone's throw from Euston Station, it would make a great place to stumble off the train and spend the night - especially if next day's destination was the British Museum or similar.
We had a room on the fourth floor, fronting out onto the main road, but noise wasn't a problem ( and I am a light sleeper). I can see how it would be noisy lower down, though. Maybe the hotel could help by providing/selling earplugs? The room had nicely efficient air-con ( unusual - I find most hotels massively overheated - this one was just right, and the air-con was nice and quiet - for once!!) We both slept well though - the bed was very inviting and extremely comfy, with loads of pillows and a big cosy duvet. The room was extremely clean, and was compact, but big enough. The bathroom was very nice - the walls were covered in coloured glass panels - very stylish and spotless-looking. The shower was nice and hot, and very powerful, not stingy like some hotel showers - with nice toiletries too!
The wifi signal was not great, but we were on the fourth floor. I wasn't too bothered, as I was only looking up opening times of stuff, but if you had to use the wifi for anything important, you might struggle a bit. The staff, while seeming perhaps a little undertrained ( new staff perhaps?) were extremely friendly and helpful and very pleasant to deal with.
The price, while not cheap, was not extortionate - all in all, I'd say it was an OK price to pay. I have stayed in nearby hotels which were cheaper, and I must say you get what you pay for. This is probably not great value if you are just in transit and want to arrive, sleep and then leave quickly - a cheaper "crash-pad" type place would be better value, but if, like me, you were going on an overnight as a bit of a treat and wanted something a bit better, this hotel will do the job. If you are concerned about noise, ask for a room higher up. All in all, I'd say this was a pretty good hotel - I'd certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are a must if you dislike noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chooksaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    855
    402
    170
    100
See reviews for
210
819
139
527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

my mum & I stayed in London for the weekend of 20th September 2013....the hotel was excellent..the food was outstanding and must give them 10 out of 10 for presentation...all the staff were very helpful & friendly and couldn't do enough for us....the bedroom was very clean and especially loved the wet room style shower...the only slight fault (although its not really) was that the room was a bit small....saying that ....you only sleep in it ...(but both mum n I both said it was slightly small)...otherwise its an excellent place to stay which I certainly will again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I am usually of the view that you only need a hotel room so that you can get a good nights sleep in a comfortable bedand a shower. My recent stay at the Ambassadors Bloomsbury has changed that view. This was uncomfortably small in both the bedroom and the bathroom. There was literally no place to put anything without it being in the way. It was also an incredibily noisy place as both nights we were there there was a continuous stream of emergency vehicles that interrupted our sleep. On the positive side we had a nice lunch and breakfast there and the staff were friendly and helpful it will not be somewhere I will go back to though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crockett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The good: Rooms are clean
The bad: Pricey
The ugly: Rooms are terribly small
Bottom line: For this price, you can probably find much better options

I went on a business trip and came to realize that I'll probably won't come back to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy_Shalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Nice hotel, close to Euston station. Friendly, helpful staff, took our bags on arrival at 9.30 am until we returned to check in after 3pm. Good selection of hot and cold foods for breakfasts.
We noted previous comments on the rooms being on the small side to up graded to a larger room. Save your money. The wardrobe only had room for 4 coat hangers and I could not get any shoes in the bottom it was so narrow. Ok for a couple of nights and we lived out of our suitcase but room a bit overpriced for the supposed upgrade.
Other than that a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEZ222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiberg, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Booked for 3 nights and the room was very nice. I had a double bed and the bathroom was big enough for me and I liked the long bathtub very much :) I got every day new towels.The tea and coffe making facilities are great and was refilled every day. The same with the free bottle of water-excellent service.
When checking in the team was very nice and helpful and the concierge can give you information about everything you want to visit in London-well done.
The breakfast was excellent in the Number Twelve Restaurant and the staff there is also very friendly. You have a wide range of different products you can choose for breakfast: fruits,eggs,mushrooms,vegetables,bacon,ham,sausages, cereals,croissants,bagels,marmelade,milk,tea,coffee,different juices,joghurt,everything.One day I had the full english breakfast which made me completely satisfied.
The reception/front office team was always very professional so I filled out my questionairre when checking out without any complaints.
I always would come back to stay again in this hotel. Also because it is very close to the city centre and Euston Station and Russel Square station are in the near.
Finally I can say I enjoyed my stay very much and the 4 stars are definetely entitled for this hotel.
Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivia257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel is well situated next to Euston train station. It is clean and tidy, the staff are professional and polite. The room just about has the basic facilities that you'd require. Breakfast was superb.
On the downside, the room was on the small side. It was very minimalist, 1 picture on the wall, our voices echoed in the room! The choice of TV channels was poor, 1 single complimentry biscuit each, no where in the bathroom to put your toothbrush etc. When showering you have to put your shampoo etc either on the toilet seat or in the sink, there is no shelf, nothing. Your wash bag has to live in the room. The room is similar, very little space to put anything. The black out blinds didn't cover the window, the complimentary newspaper didn't arrive.
The toilet has a frosted glass door, from the bed you can see your partner sitting on the toilet!! If this was your first night away with a new partner, it may be a little off putting.
The hotel is ok but we wouldn't return, there's better in London.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mildcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#637 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#283 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Property: Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#303 Luxury Hotel in London
#329 Business Hotel in London
#355 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing