We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ranked #469 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not great”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here recently for a night on business. The location is pretty good being right next to Euston station. The room (411) I think was a disabled room, was oddly laid out. 60% bedroom 40% bathroom. So the double bed hardly fit, but you could do a dance in the bathroom. Odd layout, and not the best you can get in the area for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Becquerel235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    871
    415
    173
    102
See reviews for
213
842
141
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The lobby carpet and couches were shabby and spotted. That should have been a good indicator of the room maintenance. The rooms were small, but to be expected in London. The carpet in the room was spotted. I always kept my socks on. There were smudges on the white walls. Although there was a clear “no smoking” sign on the desk, the previous occupant clearly smoked. The pillows reeked of it. The room also had a strange odor. It reminded me of kitty litter, although I never found the source of the smell. I was directly over the neighboring restaurants exhaust, which periodically spewed unpleasant odors into my room. When checking in, I was told there was complimentary water in the room. Indeed, there was an unsealed bottle of water. When I examined the bottle, there was a clear milky build up around the rim. It is clear that they consistently fill up the same bottle of water. I also noticed when the housekeepers were cleaning rooms, there was no stock of water bottles with their supplies. Needless to say, I did not drink the complimentary water. While I had issues with the maintenance of the hotel, the housekeepers did a great job.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Oh dear .... I've stayed here a few times in the last year and each time has seen a slight decline. Now I look back at my last review I remember the very positive experiences I used to have. For my last two visits there has been confusion with bookings and in the most recent I was given a very small "double" room with no windows and very noisy and ineffective air con. The bathrrom was apparently set up for someone with a disability but they would have to be very agile to reach the towels, toiletries, shower and toilet paper and if they travelled with a partner then one would have to clime over the other to get in and out of bed ...

At breakfast, a simple request for poached eggs on toast was met with "The toaster's over there. I'll get the eggs." So I second guessed (wrongly) when the eggs might arrive and made my own toast. The coffee is served in cafetieres but there is no sign of real coffee grounds. I could go on ....

The only thing that hasn't got worse is the location! Still very handy for many places.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Concentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I stay in London a couple if times a week with business and had never stayed here before.

I cannot tell you this has all the frills of a five star hotel but I will say this... It was spotlessly clean, the staff were excellent and prompt and the rooms were great. My room was quite small but the bed was so comfortable, much better that any at Jury's, Holiday Inn and that's great.

I had a beer in the bar and again nice and clean, prompt and offers excellent value.

If you are visiting from abroad then you will not find many better for the money and trust me I've stayed at a lot... The only negative and its a small one would be that its ten minutes or so to the nearest tube

However if you are in town, as I was on business and need a good bed and good value then this is excellent

Thank you for a great stay

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hospitalitygav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ambassadors, Director of Sales at Ambassadors Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we do hope to see you again at the hotel on your next visit to London especially as we are just 3 minutes walk from Euston underground and 10 minutes from Kings Cross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The so called superior room was clean but really small with almost no wardrobe space. The bathroom looked fine but had a tiny sink. The floor got wet everytime you used it. I missed shelves to store toiletries as well. The bed was ok. A lot of noise from the street made it impossible to have the window open.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

we booked this hotel through late rooms for 2 nights , the rooms are small with no windows , it smelt of damp , when asked to change room they put us in an even smaller room and twice the smell . so we complained again and was told that the only other room was the first one we was given . the front desk staff are ok , as for the manager she needs to learn her job better , I wouldn't stay here again if I was paid ... what a disgrace

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ambassadors, Director of Sales at Ambassadors Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at the hotel. Can you please contact us directly on sales@ambassadors.co.uk, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just had a superb afternoon tea at the Ambassador, Bloomsbury. Our waiter was excellent, the service was very good and the food was nicely served and very tasty. The strawberries were delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Ambassadors, Director of Sales at Ambassadors Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed out afternoon tea so much. All of our items are freshly made in house. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#651 of 1,069 in London
2,169 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#323 of 1,069 in London
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#362 of 1,069 in London
2,095 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#131 of 1,069 in London
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Property: Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#306 Luxury Hotel in London
#329 Business Hotel in London
#355 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing