We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ranked #456 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and gave it a good rating the last time. On this occasion though, my room was so small that I would never consider using the hotel again. I just cannot recommend a hotel where some of the rooms are ridiculously tiny.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nagsSuffolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Externally, the Ambassadors Bloomsbury looks grand and imposing. It conjures up images of large palatial bedrooms and executive London splendour. In fact, it's shoebox living at it's very best.

The location is fabulous. Minutes from Euston station and a short walk from Kings Cross-St Pancras. We walked to Oxford Street in about 15 mins and Leicester Square in about 20 mins. Actually, it was as quick to walk as it was to Tube it.

The reception area was neat, clean and minimalist. The staff were efficient and check-in was a breeze. Then we reached the room.

We, like a reviewer a little further down, had the pleasure of room 611. The bathroom is larger than the bedroom area, and if I tried to swing my cat poor moggy would have rather a headache after banging it on the way round and on the way back again. Top to bottom the bed just fitted in. There's no room to walk along the end. But for what room there was they made the best possible use of the space. The decor was stylish and contemporary and the room didn't want for anything. There was a large flat screen TV and a Nespresso Coffee Maker. The mattress was quite firm, which isn't my personal choice, but it was alright.
The room was an adapted room so the bathroom was a wetroom rather than a standard bathroom, and much like the last reviewer to mention staying in this room, we weren't advised that we were being given an adapted room either. The shower though was nice and powerful and, aside from flooding out the bathroom, it was rather nice.

Low-light of the hotel was that god-awful lift. I spent the first hour in the room thinking we had the neighbours from Hell intermittently blasting out some sort mid 90s techno drum and bass music in ten second bursts. Admittedly, it stopped late into the night when people stopped using it for the evening, but from about 7am it started up again and it's a continual loud thumping clinking noise. If we were stopping longer than a night I'd have insisted on being moved.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we had other plans, but the menu was advertised in the lifts and in the lobby and looked very nice, if a little pretentious, but reasonably priced by London standards.

Overall, the hotel was pretty nice. I didn't see any other rooms, so if we were just unlucky with the tiny box room and clunky lift noise then it's probably worth an extra star on the rating. If they are then my three stars are about its money.

Room Tip: Avoid 611! To be safe, ask not to be situated by a lift at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsMuffin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at the weekend in a superior room. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from euston and a short walk to st pancras so in a great location if you travel from the north. The room was modern clean and spacious and very comfortable. We expected some noise as the room faced the road but was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. The staff were helpful and the atmosphere relaxed, we didn't use the restaurant but would recommend the hotel for a weekend break.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank babylon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here while on a business trip and chose the hotel as it was convenient for both Euston and Kings Cross stations, both being a short stroll away.
Bedroom was small but clean and comfortable with a tiny wet room that could have done with a shelf rather than balancing stuff on the toilet.
Overall a decent stay and good value at £100 for London.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daftlad1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We found this a well placed hotel as Euston nearby and we could flit from bus to underground but also walk to places too. A clean well presented hotel and staff are welcoming. Food very good lovely breakfast . The room we were put in first had a bit if a musty smell to it and was overlooking g the back of the hitel but when we asked could we nice was no issue and moved within 10 mins to a room on the side if the hotel which was good and they said would be quieter but to be honest although plenty if traffic around didnt notice the noise if there was any . Stayed for 2 nights price reasonable and did book through Booking.com for a cheaper deal . Overall would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is conveniently placed 5minutes walk from Euston station. A lot of sights are easily walked to. Everywhere was very clean and tidy. We found the staff to be very professional and accommodating. Yes the rooms are not huge but for the price paid very fair for Central London. You can hear the traffic but that is city life. Good shower, TV and air con. The breakfast was excellent. A good choice of fresh fruit etc. eggs Benedict and scrambled egg with smoked salmon I found very tasty. We would stay here again when visiting London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisTim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed 1 night for a small break, a gift from my son. We had a lovely room great bathroom and the best nights sleep. The location is great for sight seeing and very close to Euston Station which was a plus as we didn't have far to go with the cases. Staff very nice and polite. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast which was more than enough to set us up for the day. I would go again as well as recommend to my friend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#629 of 1,077 in London
2,247 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#392 of 1,077 in London
2,178 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#141 of 1,077 in London
2,615 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#303 Luxury Hotel in London
#328 Business Hotel in London
#354 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £85 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing