We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very clean, but good breakfast and location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ranked #445 of 1,089 Hotels in London
England
Level Contributor
292 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Not very clean, but good breakfast and location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is just opposite Euston station - a really convenient location from which you can easily walk to the British Museum, or Oxford Street.

Positives: very friendly reception staff, a good buffet breakfast with hot food cooked to order (proper mushrooms, well poached eggs, decent bacon), windows that open

Negatives - rather shabby (the tables in the breakfast room were all chipped, the shower looked as if it needed re-grouting, for example), not very clean (hair in the shower, a line of dirt on the floor alongside the breakfast server, and the carpet at breakfast had clearly not been cleaned since the night before), lumpy double bed (which felt like two singles with a double sheet over them), impossible to shower without getting the whole of the bathroom floor wet.

To improve, please address the comments above, check that everything in each room is in good working order, and put a shelf in the bathroom for a washbag. I actually didn't have an issue with the small hanging area for clothes - it was big enough for one person for a few nights, but I could see that it might be more difficult in the winter or for two people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    839
    391
    164
    96
See reviews for
207
793
138
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed recently at this hotel, and there was a delay in check-in. Room small, but bed comfortable. Be warned there is no ironing facilities in this hotel. Bathroom wasn't large. Breakfast was ample, but just lacked certain things, and the ceiling was also leaking. The hilton across the road is superior in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medic2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

How this hotel gets a 4-star rating is beyond me. Our room was super-tiny, so was the bed. There were no closets for our clothes, and in the bath no space to place anything. Every time I showered, the whole floor was wet because the shower curtain was too small. The breakfast buffet is ok, but I certainly saw better.

On the upside, there is free wi-fi which works ok and the Location is okish (although certainly there are better situated hotels to find for this price - if you will spend most of your time in the west end.). The personnel is very friendly and the rooms are quite clean.

All in all, this was rather disappointing and I would not book it again. I am in London quite often, and this hotel had certainly the highest price for the delivered quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Myself & a friend stayed at this hotel for a weekend stay, the room decor was quite tired and the bathroom reminded my friend of a ships cabin bathroom! very small!! There was a wardrobe but you could only hang two/three items of clothes (hope this gives you an idea of the size) Lift was the slowest in history! on the up side the location was good, and the room was only £99 reception I have been advised that the hotel is currently going through a renovation project so this should improve didnt eat breakfast or drink in the bar so cant comment on this

Room Tip: Great location for Central London shopping/break
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snare1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in room 411. The room is very small, particularly as it is designed for wheelchair use, although the bathroom is a wet room, and by far the best thing about it. The hotel is really handy for Euston station and that really is the best I can say. The lift adjacent to this room is so noisy that I was grateful for the noisy air conditioning as they seemed to balance each other out. The receptionist asked if I enjoyed my stay. I said 'no' and explained about the lift. She has a great technique for dealing with disappointed customers - she simply ignored my comment, smiled, and tried to charge me for two breakfasts that hadn't been consumed! Still - I get the last laugh. I simply won't be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and gave it a good rating the last time. On this occasion though, my room was so small that I would never consider using the hotel again. I just cannot recommend a hotel where some of the rooms are ridiculously tiny.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nagsSuffolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Externally, the Ambassadors Bloomsbury looks grand and imposing. It conjures up images of large palatial bedrooms and executive London splendour. In fact, it's shoebox living at it's very best.

The location is fabulous. Minutes from Euston station and a short walk from Kings Cross-St Pancras. We walked to Oxford Street in about 15 mins and Leicester Square in about 20 mins. Actually, it was as quick to walk as it was to Tube it.

The reception area was neat, clean and minimalist. The staff were efficient and check-in was a breeze. Then we reached the room.

We, like a reviewer a little further down, had the pleasure of room 611. The bathroom is larger than the bedroom area, and if I tried to swing my cat poor moggy would have rather a headache after banging it on the way round and on the way back again. Top to bottom the bed just fitted in. There's no room to walk along the end. But for what room there was they made the best possible use of the space. The decor was stylish and contemporary and the room didn't want for anything. There was a large flat screen TV and a Nespresso Coffee Maker. The mattress was quite firm, which isn't my personal choice, but it was alright.
The room was an adapted room so the bathroom was a wetroom rather than a standard bathroom, and much like the last reviewer to mention staying in this room, we weren't advised that we were being given an adapted room either. The shower though was nice and powerful and, aside from flooding out the bathroom, it was rather nice.

Low-light of the hotel was that god-awful lift. I spent the first hour in the room thinking we had the neighbours from Hell intermittently blasting out some sort mid 90s techno drum and bass music in ten second bursts. Admittedly, it stopped late into the night when people stopped using it for the evening, but from about 7am it started up again and it's a continual loud thumping clinking noise. If we were stopping longer than a night I'd have insisted on being moved.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we had other plans, but the menu was advertised in the lifts and in the lobby and looked very nice, if a little pretentious, but reasonably priced by London standards.

Overall, the hotel was pretty nice. I didn't see any other rooms, so if we were just unlucky with the tiny box room and clunky lift noise then it's probably worth an extra star on the rating. If they are then my three stars are about its money.

Room Tip: Avoid 611! To be safe, ask not to be situated by a lift at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMuffin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#640 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#248 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#434 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Property: Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#303 Luxury Hotel in London
#329 Business Hotel in London
#355 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing