We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ranked #466 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ideally located close to St Pancras and Euston Station we found the Hotel easily. The Receptionist was busy serving another client when we arrived and was studiously giving lots of information about sight seeing opportunities around the city. We were not acknowledged but in less than five minutes somebody came from the back office and served us. We had a room just outside the lift on the third floor which made my heart sink as I knew it was likely to be noisy (which it was). Furthermore the room was facing on to a busy street which, understandably, meant we had the noise of the busy City. The room itself was small but quite functional. We were pleased to have the complimentary water and there were toiletries (outside of the bathroom as there was no shelving inside).

The major downside for us was the beds. We had twin beds and it was, frankly, like sleeping on a park bench. My back ached so much from the hardness of the bed that I had to sleep on a pillow. What was even worse is that the linen did not smell fresh. It smelt as if it had not been laundered properly and smelt disgusting. Thank goodness the shower was good !

Disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Don't have a room next to the lift and ask for a room that doesn't face onto the street.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandyTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,102)
There are newer reviews for Ambassadors Bloomsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel and location, friendly staff just rooms are very small! Room service very good the cleaner cleaned out my hairbrush! Room sevice menu- char grilled burger recomended! And heated towel racks are nice :) wifi coulb be better... No iron or fridge facility in room

Thank Rochelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here for one night in June for a visit to the new Foyles bookshop.
Check in was very quick and professional, I had a lovely room and an excellent breakfast the next day.
Will stay again whenever I am in London for a short stay as it is very handy and located perfectly for the shops and main London sites.

Room Tip: Try to choose a large room which I know is expensive but the cheaper ones are very small and no room...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BournemouthDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The room was very nice and clean. The staff was very helpful with different and not daily wishes/requirements. There was a suiting bluetooth soundsystem and a good choice of tea and coffee. Good connections to buses and trains.

Room Tip: Uppest floor has a nice view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mehmet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good comfortable hotel. Very efficient and courteous staff at reception. My hesitation over awarding 5 star rating is a combination of it being quite pricey [even on our room only booking] and the room [whilst very comfortable and clean] was "compact" including a "quite compact" bathroom.

Its location less than 5 minutes from Euston station is well placed. Bus routes outside offer good connections for many west end locations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Room next to air conditioning plant running all night. No curtains just Venetian blinds so writing this review at 5.28am as sleep which was hard to get to sleep, will not be resumed.
All a bit hopeless at £239 for one night pretty standard (and small) room and no breakfast!
The antithesis of Arnold Schwarzenegger "I WONT be back" .............ever!
I can't believe I've spent £239 for this!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank EdStrongbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There is no doubt location is perfect (!), but rooms are unbelievable small.
It was so not comfortable to stay there with my boyfriend during 4 full days and nights.
I'm sorry for details but bathroom with toilet are almost on bed beyond the transparent glass door ((

Sure. hotels around are more expensive but if you are planning a romantic trip and you can spend a little bit more money , go to another hotel.
Photos on booking look more nice than it is in reality.

But if you are planning to walk all day and probably night it would be good choice :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#643 of 1,072 in London
2,197 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#335 of 1,072 in London
3,170 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#132 of 1,072 in London
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
#329 Business Hotel in London
#355 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £94 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing