We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money in Camden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ranked #470 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money in Camden”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night and booked through Booking.com. Got a good rate and really liked the place. Clean room with great facilities. Liked the complementary Nespresso. Staff is helpful and got good service as well. Nice area with easy access to Soho. Brunswick neighborhood nearby has great atmosphere and nice mix of shops.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    867
    410
    173
    102
See reviews for
213
834
140
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

For travelling around Central London this is a great hotel to stay in, it is a 2-5 minute walk to London Euston(for rail and tube) and 5-10 minute walk to Russell Square Tube Station.

The Hotel was very smart, pretty. I did expect a little more in the rooms, because it was described as 'fashionable' on the website we booked with. It was a little basic really. White walls and sheets, The only thing that was different was the nespresso machine, which was very nice. The room was on the small side, perhaps because it is a listed building, but very comfortable, the airconditioning was great and easy to control.
The door to the bathroom was a little strange as it was just frosted glass, so you could see the outline of the other person while they were using the toilet and the sink. So it was not at all private.
The staff were amazing, could not fault them, very attentive and friendly. It was very warm during our stay and we would be welcomed back to the hotel after a day out with water in the foyer and we could request ice from the bar.
One thing that was great for us, was that once we checked out we were able to leave our bags in the hotel, meaning we could enjoy our last day in london before going to our evening train.
For location you can not beat it. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Close to Euston station and therefore all attractions easily accessible. we stayed for three nights and the room was very comfortable although it took a while for the air conditioning to cool the room the bed was very comfortable and it was made up every day and we had fresh towels. We had expected the room to be a little bigger as we had upgraded to a larger room so I don't know quite how small the other rooms were. Continental breakfast was very good with a good choice on offer.The staff were all very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked afternoon tea for 3 people on 22nd July. When we went I handed over my papers , however i forgot to take a copy of the vouchers , Manager Giorgio was very helpful and allowed us to enjoy the tea . we were very pleased . Afternoon tea was good and i will visit the place again

Room Tip: did not stay - went for afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aparnapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a one nighter in london. B&B for 2 £124. Deal. Bed comfy. Clean. Small room (605). Small wet room/shower but just what we needed. Right at the top of the hotel. Weather was ridiculously hot but the air con was a life saver. Apparently there were horrendous thunder storms but we slept right through, room was oppo the lifts. We were worried that we'd be kept awake. ... nope! Good sound proofing (hotel was full).
Had continental breakfast. Loads of choice, great coffee. Filled the belly for the day ahead. Staff were very very polite and helpful. Would def use hotel again. They could do with an extra lift.... :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank prettythingsfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogiet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a theater deal in June. The staff were very friendly and helpful from the minute we checked in to the minute we left. We were a little surprised at the size of our room and commented that it was probably the smallest hotel room we'd ever stayed in and the shower room was a little cramped. That said the bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet - located at the back of the hotel. The continental breakfast was exceptional, second to none. We are often disappointed with a continental breakfast as most hotel do not know how to do it. It is safe to say the the Ambassadors Bloomsbury is not one of them. There was a fantastic selection of bread rolls, meats, cheeses, croissant etc and again the staff were very attentive and helpful. I would recommend this hotel, however, be aware you might get a very small room!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Bagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Unlike other reviews I have read in the past, this review is solely on the hotel and not London.

Some background information:
Stayed between 11th July to 13th July.
Young Couple visiting London for a weekend break.

My review on booking.com would find the following ratings: Staff (Poor), Facilities (Fair), Cleanliness (Poor), Comfort (Good), Value For Money (Poor) & Location (Good).

Pros:
When it came down to location it couldn't be any better placed (within a 5 minute walk from Euston Station and about a 10 minute walk from London St. Pancras Station), which is an advantage when carrying large or heavy luggage.

The hotel couldn't be faulted for their beds either. After what is usually a long day walking around the busy streets of London you find that a comfy bed is a godsend.

Cons:
I should start by stating that we stayed in a double room.

Considering the average rating of 8 (at the time of this review on booking.com) it is hard to believe that our room WASN'T CLEANED after the first of 2 nights we were at the hotel. In a literally bizarre turn of events, we found that after returning in late afternoon after a day out that our room had been entered by the maid but all she had done was to open the window and remove our half finished bottle of complimentary water, not even changing the bed sheets, tidying the room or even removing the dirty towels that were left as stated on the floor.

Shortly after realising this we received a knock at the door to find what I assumed was a manager asking if our room had been cleaned but after explaining the situation her response was that the cleaner hadn't finished the rooms (even though she had been in ours already) and she would go to tell her to come back.

After 5 minutes the cleaner returned asking what needed to be done, which we explained, but at the explanation of needing clean cups for tea and coffee she laughed and said "I don't clean them". She then proceeded by dumping new towels on the bed, refreshing the supply of milk, tea and sugar & inserting a new roll of toilet paper... But never tidied the room, arranged the towels or changed the bed sheets. Considering for 2 nights this cost £250+ it is completely unacceptable.

Another feature of the room which is standard in other hotels but was disregarded in this one is the placement of any sort of shelf space in the bedroom or bathroom. All you get is a wardrobe that fits a grand total of 3 hangers in, 2 bedside cabinets (one is completely taken up by the safe) and a desk which is also taken up by all the coffee/tea making facilities.

Finally good luck if you are placed in room 105 because with the bathroom being what is described as a wet room it had a lingering smell of damp, which would emanate the bedroom and could only be described as stale sweat or sweaty feet.

Room Tip: Asked to be moved if you are given room 105 (see in my main review for the reason why)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigyJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#650 of 1,069 in London
2,140 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#304 of 1,069 in London
3,096 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#349 of 1,069 in London
2,080 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#128 of 1,069 in London
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Property: Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#306 Luxury Hotel in London
#329 Business Hotel in London
#355 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing