We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To call this place a slum would be a compliment! Disgusting appalling dreadful - foul smelling hovel of an establishment”
Review of Berkeley Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berkeley Court
Ranked #1,034 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“To call this place a slum would be a compliment! Disgusting appalling dreadful - foul smelling hovel of an establishment”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My 1st impression walking through the door was the overwhelming stench of faeces which pervaded the building for the entire 2 days i was trapped there. The owners had NO idea how to run a 'hotel' & the whole set up was shabby, dirty, broken, damaged, inadequate, stinking. I felt they were taking advantage of people & due to the fact they are in london & have many foreughn visitors they certainly have no concern about the appalling state of the accommodation & couldnt care less about return business. I have slummed it around the world yet have never been so disgusted and appalled in all my life

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddistgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    30
    36
    181
See reviews for
38
80
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My honest opinion of this hotel is that it absolutely stank. The walls were mouldy, the shower leaked all night, the bed was more like a hammock and to top it off, no ventilation whatsoever in the room.but even taking all that into account, It was better than sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

No idea why we didnt check this hotel on tripadvisor, if we had we would have known what we were in for... I have never been to a hotel where they ask you to settle the bill before you even step in the room but then again this hotel had a whole stream of 'firsts' to experience. Like another visitor we were immediately asked if we could be in a twin even though we had booked a double. Before we went into the room 'Carlos' was sent in first with what I can only assume was his cleaning kit: an aerosol. Somehow we didn't leave straight away - it must have been because we were already late for the party we had come to london to enjoy. The photos and other comments are fair and honest. In our particular room the only source of light was the TV.
The positives are indeed the clean bed linen and towels and the hot water. Also location.
Someone is responsible, probably not the people we encountered who were friendly enough.
I would say spend your £95 on a return rail ticket and skip the night in london...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gayboiuk36
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a budget hotel which is fair enough, paying £95 pn on arrival we were told room wasnt ready as cleaner had phoned in sick, (do they actually have a cleaner) the whole place is dirty and infested. I booked a double and was immediately asked if we would prf single beds as we are a male couple. Their was pubic hair in the sink on the floor in the shower the tiles had ground in dirt the bedding wasnt clean and hairs in the bed. Mould on the walls mouldy food left behind. There manager or was he said youve booked budget what do you expect. Its an old building. This hotel us a health hazard and ive also reported this to Westminster council ive stayed in better b&bin blackpool for £15pn and theyve been immaculate. There is no excuse for FILTH and pure Hygiene issues Do Not Book Here

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gayboiuk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gayboiuk36
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an absolute disgrace. The bedrooms mouldy,pubic body hair in the bed and bathroom staff very rudw amd unhelpful. The bed is at least 25 years old. They dont like gay couples as I was asked if they could put us in single rooms when arrived. Even tho a doulble was booked. Skirting boards absolutly filthy with grime and dust. Bedding smelt like some sweaty person had slept in it and bedding really old burnt frayed. STAY Well Clear for £95 per night ive seen and stayed at better B&B in blackpool for £15pn inc breakfast and modern facilities. You dont even get WIFI very very bad

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gayboiuk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a budget hotel so I was not expecting much but I was shocked that they would rent these rooms. The tiles in the bathroom were cracked, the shower cubicle was stained with dirt, the walls were covered with stains ( I fear mould) and the curtains had stains. The bed was really lumpy, and shook every time you turned. The room was boiling hot.

The only reason I have given this hotel one star is that hot water came out of the shower and the linen/ towel looked like they had been washed. The location is also good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherbs-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#763 of 1,069 in London
74 reviews
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Notting Hill
Bowden Court
Bowden Court
#795 of 1,069 in London
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#223 of 1,069 in London
204 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#158 of 1,069 in London
1,408 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Court

Property: Berkeley Court
Address: 22 Upper Berkeley Street, London W1H 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,034 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Court 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Berkeley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court London
London Hotel Berkeley Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing