We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for buisness and shopping in oxford st”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #447 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 January 2008

great hotel for buisness and shopping in oxford street
though 1st room offered was #1388 oh lord soo small i mean small and plain asked for bigger room as paying 245euros and they was glad to move us with out a word ,
next room was fantastic #1186 great bathroom and nice decor what i exspected
also you cant get in rooms till 2pm as very busy
enjoyed our stay
oioi

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oioigeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,163 - 5,169 of 6,368 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (Jan 11-12th 2008). It's a large hotel but still offers a personal experience - all staff are very attentive and courteous. The reception area is very artistic and contemporary and has a lovely feel to it - you'll have to experience it to see what I mean! The room we had was a little on the small side but we weren't in London to stay in our room so it wasn't a problem. It was clean, contemporary and also located at the back of the hotel which meant it was very quiet; not a siren was heard!

The hotel is located just around Marble Arch tube station on the central line or a few minutes walk from Bond Street tube station which links to other lines. Equally pleasant is a walk through Hyde Park to the Picadilly Line with Knightsbridge and Kensington a few stops away - all in all a perfect location.

We ate at the Rhodes W1 restaurant whilst there and that experience was out of this world - wonderful food, service, ambience, just perfect!!

Will definitely be going back to the Cumberland.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

I stayed at the Cumberland for two nights in January 2008. I was in town for a business trip, and the Cumberland has a great location - very central, near many shops and right around the corner from a tube stop.

The lobby of this hotel is very hip and stylish. Very impressive. My room was much less impressive, I had a standard twin on the 7th floor. The good things: very comfy beds, good in-room coffee/tea selection, nice TV, modern bathroom fixtures. The bad: stains on the carpet (ick!), my sink was clogged after the housekeeper's visit (although the hotel fixed it). In general, once you get out of the lobby, things looked shabbier.

This all being said, I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to London.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Antsy280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

The hotel was quite nice and we enjoyed the lobby bar. The concierge made a few odd recommendations for dining, etc., but other than that -- it was a nice hotel. The room we stayed in was tiny, but was clean, efficiently-appointed and comfortable. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DCTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

The Cumberland has been "done over" to make it more modern (almost a boutique hotel - see their website). We had two very different twin bedrooms; the higher grade "de luxe" room with views over Hyde Park was superb and the other "standard" twin was very nice without the extras. The best room had Royal Auping beds (which are the best), acres of space (compare any Paris hotel room), and quadruple glazing onto Oxford Street (shutting out ALL noise). Our stay was brilliant - early check-in booked and available at the time requested, check-in and formalities no problem, even the predicted breakfast queues minimal - but get a deal in advance as we did - the rack rates are absurd!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We were so scared to stay at the Cumberland after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor, but our stay could not have been more pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful; the conceirge gave us good advice every day. The room was small but clean and modern; we had an empty fridge and a hot water kettle which were very useful. The lobby was a little noisy and poorly lit, but my husband used the business center which he really liked. Paying for internet in the room was a little expensive, but what isnt expensive in London? The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was dark except for the green light in the bathroom which didnt turn off, so dark we overslept a couple of times. We booked on Priceline, so we were only paying $150 a night, and at that bargin our experience was excellent. But if I were paying the average price $450 a night, I would probably expect a little more bang for my buck (something like free breakfast, free internet, a bigger room, etc.)

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank muffyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2007

Arrived at the hotel at lunchtime. Queue checking in so we left our bags at the concierge who was very pleasant and helpful. Reception is very unusual and cold looking but also quite fascinating. Doorman pointed us in right direction and was again very friendly. Arrived back at hotel at 8 pm and our family room was not ready so we were upgraded to a large double room with and provision of a camp bed for our daughter. Room was beautiful, camp bed put up promptly, view out of window was Marble Arch. Couldn't fault it. \d\aughter spent eveing on laptop, we collapsed on the most comfortable bed ever. Unbelievable - fell asleep in about 3 minutes!! Very peaceful, very clean. Breakfast was superb, very strange set up in the dining room with different stations to obtain all different types of food but we did like it because it was so different. First hotel we have stayed at which provided choice of home made smoothies. Check out very efficient and left bags again at the concierge until the evening. Yes the staff were all from overseas but they were all very friendly and interested in what we had to say.

Open top bus tour across the road was excellent but plan for about 3 and a half hours for the full tour simply because of the traffic. We would definitely return. There was nothing we didn't like

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank primpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#101 of 1,081 in London
1,957 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#312 of 1,081 in London
707 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#163 of 1,081 in London
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Family Hotel in London
#289 Romantic Hotel in London
#299 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £124 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing