We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, questionable management”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #391 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, questionable management”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The hotel is in a great location for central London and good value for money. We had three rooms for our visit and as has been commented by some people below, they are a bit of a lottery. We were talked into taking rooms in the annexe on the basis we would get king size beds. One room did and was good, a second one had a standard double and was tiny, and the third....someone had clearly vomited on the carpet the night before. The carpet was soaked where cleaners had tried their best but the room smelled badly of cleaning fluid and vomit. The hotel were very good about changing it to a better room.

The plus points are the public areas. The foyer is fabulous with really funky sculptures and the bars are good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,819
    2,221
    1,129
    470
    354
See reviews for
1,001
1,895
379
1,560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,084)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I may have stumbled across all the employees who weren't having a great day when they saw me - as I wasn't that impressed by the Cumberland.

I stayed in a standard room.
The iron was a nightmare to use and my shirt looked un-ironed the whole day. I stay in enough hotels of similar quality and they obviously cut corners on the iron/ ironing board.
the walk in shower was designed that you couldn't really turn it on without covering yourself in cold/scoulding water
rooms were all hot

breakfast was ok, although never offered any coffee/tea

The bars were ok. we were keen to get some cucumber in our G&T and the staff a) didn't have any and b) werent able to get some from the restaurant upstairs. c) weren't busy at all...

Overall - Hotel was ok but could have been a lot better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HantsJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I've previously stayed here before and remember it to be amazing. The reception area is huge. Theres s o much going on at this hotel. Upon entry, we were'nt greeted by anyone, it didnt feel very welcoming. We checked in with a lovely gent at the desk, but then found out our room was not in the main hotel. It was in another building down the road which was much smaller. Felt a little disappointed. The room itself was huge, very very spacious indeed and the bathroom was also huge. Everything was very clean. I wasn't too impressed with the qualty of the bathrobes and sippers and some of the furnishings were a little worn for an executive suite. For the price we paid it was a great stay and just on the doorstep of selfridges around the corner and Marble Arch just in front. Great for tourists, and business trips as well as romantic getaways as it is so close to everything. The tube station is also around the corner. The breakfast from what I rmb last time was amazing. It was a 'buffet' but it was like a canteen diner. Each section was staffed and they served you everything from fresh made pancakes, to omlettes to croissants, eggs, toast, cereal etc. It was quite a lovely experience but i would defo ask to stay in the main section of the hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyGBC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (Saturday) with my wife in may. We booked through hotels direct who were doing a deal on the basic rooms which was fine for us. Reception staff were all polite and friendly and the room although very small, was clean and comfortable. This is a large busy hotel and quite popular with hen party's and such, so there was quite a buzzy feel about, especially in the cocktail bar area. The hotel is located right on top of marble arch, so selfridges is a 2 minute walk down Oxford st, to the other side is Hyde park. I would quite happily stay here again for Saturday night out in central London.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobnob1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel is very well placed for a trip to London. The staff are very keen to help and have been well trained. Rooms are bright, clean and modern. We had to ask for a cable to get the Internet to work. We breakfasted upstairs and again staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longweekendsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just returned from a one night stay at the Cumberland,we did not choose this hotel but stayed here as result of a competition win which also included tickets to a west end show.We have stayed in many hotels in different locations over the years but were most pleased with all
aspects of this hotel.The reception area was very pleasing on the eye and all the staff we encountered were polite and helpful.We stayed in an outside room on the sixth floor which was modern,clean and comfortable with a particularly impressive bathroom .Very good breakfast
with plenty of choice.The location of the hotel in central London is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask for room near to the lifts if any of your party have walking difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericred1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Entry to the tube is just around the corner, so extremely convenient. Also a good base to use in walking around London -- relatively easy access to many of the sights of the city, and easy to catch the tube back at the end of a long day of sightseeing. The place is very large, with two separated wings. To go from the main lobby to the second tower, you need to go down to a lower level and down a long hall. Unfortunately, the way to the elevator to go up in the tower is not well marked. We had to go back and find someone to show us where the elevator is -- through a set of doors that lacked a sign. That frustration aside, the room was modern, not large but adequate, and the bed comfortable. Internet access was expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiteGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#75 of 1,067 in London
1,548 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#288 of 1,067 in London
663 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Property: The Cumberland
Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#275 Luxury Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing