We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is it a hotel, is it a gallery?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cumberland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Cumberland
Ranked #380 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Is it a hotel, is it a gallery?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2008

The Cumberland is a break from Travel Lodge, Travel Inn, Travel Tavern monotony for anyone staying away from home with their job. Not the most homely place in the world due to the art gallery lobby area and harshly lit corridors BUT the beds are extremely comfy, rooms are spotlessly clean and well sound proofed from city noise and service is ok.

Breakfast offers good choice but again, a homely feel is replaced by a refectory style dining that encourages you to eat up and ship out.

I didn't mind it at all having experienced what other hotels have to offer in London.

p.s. The creaking noise in the room when you turn off the lights to go to sleep is the lights cooling down. It stops after a few minutes so don't fret.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank rex0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,769
    2,162
    1,099
    459
    345
See reviews for
963
1,844
369
1,522
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,050)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

very nice classy hotel
well mannered polite staff
offered upgrade from double to king upon arrival for 30 a night and well worthit as rooms are quite small
well decorated new age modern rooms
close to all local amenaties
great location
expensive but you get what you pay for
amazing foyer in main hotel
king delux executive suites in a different hotel next door but by same company , saves you being with all the adverage jo's
very nice over all stay
definatly go again when in london

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank megansmummy_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

I nearly didn't stay at this hotel because of some of the TripAdvisor reviews but I am so glad I did. Because of all the comments about rooms being so small, we booked an Executive Double which was just as well as the room was small!! The bedroom was very nice though although I would not have liked smaller. The bathroom was another matter. Whoever decided to install green glass doors should be banned from designing anything ever again. Aside from the lack of privacy (well it is sort of frosted), the bathroom has a night light that makes the bedroom glows green at night as it can't be switched off. I used to throw a towel over it, partly because I coudn't reach the towel rail!! The bedroom has an iron and ironing board which is a nice touch.

The location is superb, right next to Marble Arch tube station and all the shops on the doorstep. The reception and bar staff were excellent but we didn't think too much of the concierge service. Even though we asked, they did not tell us that behind Selfridges there are streets filled with restaurants and bars and a great nightlife.

I would definitely book there again because of the location and would make sure I get the right room. Nothing smaller than an executive double (unless you don't mind sleeping in a cupboard) and a bathroom with a wooden door. Our friends stayed in one, so I know they do have them.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bld211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

Stayed at The Cumberland on 23rd and 24th May to attend Chelsea Flower Show. After initial hiccup with being allocated a king size bed and spare bed in room rather than twin bedded room - this was sorted and room clean and adequate - very comfy beds. Breakfast was excellent and staff very courteous. Will certainly stay again

  • Liked — Comfy beds
  • Disliked — Lighting in reception area
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANZ8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

Just got back from wedding anniversary celebrations in London. Stayed one night at the Cumberland, which we found to be a great hotel. Speedy check in, free room upgrade and it cost less than the Premier Travel Inn! Great location just around the corner from Marble Arch tube and Oxford Street right on your doorstep. Rooms are a littlle on the small side, however they have all been recently re furbished and have a 32" plasma TV and fridge ( we stayed in room 3009 which has a great view of Marble Arch ). There is a Pret A Manger next door and two food and wine shops across the road ,so you don't have to pay hotel food and drinks prices if you dont want to! The hotel has a bar, Rhodes SW1 for food and Carbon nightclub ( free admission if your a hotel resident !) We dined at Gordon Ramsay's "Maze" on Grovsenor square which was out of this world! We also found a great spot for lunch and breakfast calledTruc Vert on North Audley Street ( really nice French Bistro, very popular with the locals ) Enjoy!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DavskiNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

After reading all of the reviews on this board, I was terrified to stay at this hotel. My husband and I booked a week long stay at this hotel while on vacation in London. Check-in was a breeze. The only "problem" we encountered was the air conditioner in our room was broken, however, we were promptly given a free upgrade to a room with a view of Hyde Park and the sincere apologies of the staff. Breakfast was great-homemade pancakes, omelletes, fresh fruit, toast, sausage, bacon, and an array of juices--I just don't see what everyone is complaining about!!!! We never had to wait in-line for a table (we generally went to breakfast around 8:00 A.M) We were given coffee with no problem as well!!! The entire staff was kind and extremely helpful. I would stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

My wife and I stayed Saturday night for her birthday. We were enjoying a lovely lunch at Scotts and a show at the O2. We know London as we live in Hertfordshire. It is a large hotel the rooms are ok. Trendy'ish, we ordered the larger double. It was clean, adequate, though not big, good shower but frankly we did not get back until 1am. The breakfast had a large queue as mentioned by other users but we went immediately to the other breakfast area in the Gary Rhodes restaurant. Concierge got me a discount on parking close by. The staff were helpful, concierge got me info on the river bus to get to the O2 and generally it was a good stay. For London it is an above average hotel in a great location. Easy to walk.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#68 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#303 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Property: The Cumberland
Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#268 Luxury Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing