We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and helpful staff”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #432 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 May 2014

At a great location, just opposite Marble Arch, very close to all major Oxford Street shops. The tube is literally underneath the hotel, Hyde Park is a mere minute walk away. Staff very helpful/polite/knowledgeable. Excellent/huge breakfast buffet selection catering to all tastes and dietary requirements. Room slightly small (single). Welcome addition from previous stays a lovely in-room Nespresso coffee maker. Overall excellent choice for a London trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on Oxford Street have a great view of Hyde Park.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 243MariliaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magali P, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your wonderfull feedback on your recent stay at The Cumberland Hotel.

I'm glad to read that you had a great time with us and that all suited your needs. It is good to see that you were well looked after by our staff who are always trying their best to get all customers satisfied.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ian L.Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,165)
There are newer reviews for The Cumberland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,692 - 2,698 of 6,165 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great hotel on excellent location. Large variety of food during breakfast. Good rooms and very quick wifi connection. But not very cheap. And during the morning you have to be very early if you don't want to wait in line for breakfast.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Wallfl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments. I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. It was a great pleasure to meet a lovely family like yours and I would love to have the chance to welcome you all once again to the Cumberland hotel.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very good all round hotel for a business or tourist visit. Comfortable and well furnished rooms, good gym, excellent wi-fi and helpful and knowledgable staff. It's a big and buzy hotel but all aspects run very smoothly. I highly recommend for anyone looking for a 'central hotel'.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Nassos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cumberland hotel and for posting a great review on TripAdvisor. Your continued loyalty to the hotel is greatly appreciated and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read such wonderful comments about our staff and service and we very much look forward to seeing you again for your next stay. On behalf of the whole team at the hotel, thank you once again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Literally opposite marble arch at the end of Oxford Street is a great location. Staff were friendly, if a little corporate. Food tried at 3 separate meals was fantastic & hotel was great for business. Rooms were pleasant but slightly small. Overall nice experience though.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank RLBAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. I read with delight how you truly enjoyed your stay at The Cumberland Hotel.

I am most delighted to read that our staff provided wonderful service, which was the finishing touch. We pride ourselves on our service standards, but it is still a joy to hear when we have got it right.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to our hotel. If I can be of any assistance in the meantime please do contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely welcoming staff and happy to help us when checking in even though we was much earlier than the advised check in time. Room was spacious and fresh and had everything we needed in it. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We always appreciate the positive comments left by all our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff have gone above and beyond in terms of service.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you and serving you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. The room was a little small and the was no clock, but it was clean, nicely decorated, and the bed was super comfortable. What impressed me most about the hotel was the service. The staff is very attentive and professional. One staff member in particular, Nahib, went out of his way to make sure myself and my 2 colleagues got breakfast each morning because there was a Speedo conference in the hotel and the wait for breakfast was over an hour. One morning he made us free espresso coffees and pastries. The next morning he set us up in the Club Lounge that had a complimentary buffet breakfast. Nahib went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The hotel is located off Oxford Street near Hyde Park and the Lebanese District where there are excellent restaurants.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Shadmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Cumberland.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your compliments in regards to the service you had received especially from Nahid our Food and Beverage Director.

I am sure you will give us various opportunities in the future in order to experience the best of the hospitality we have to offer.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My boyfriend took me on a trip to London and after looking at hundreds of hotels online, we settled on The Cumberland. After a long journey we arrived to a very friendly greeting and an impressive reception area.

The location is fantastic and the room was perfect for what we needed. We spent most of our time sightseeing and being so close to the tube was amazing.

This is a large hotel, so if you're looking for boutique, this won't be for you. But if you're after a clean, modern hotel, I would definitely recommend here.

We didn't have breakfast so I can't advise, but they were very happy to keep our bag for us whilst we went out after check in, which was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissVLC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to recognise our hotel. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Cumberland Hotel in the future.


Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#85 of 1,072 in London
1,700 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#299 of 1,072 in London
680 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#154 of 1,072 in London
1,415 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#294 Luxury Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £140 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing