We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel
Ranked #878 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I could go on and on raving about its fantastic location. It is so central with Bayswater tube station less than a minute away and Queensway probably three minutes away. It has so many restaurants especially the two most amazing chinese restaurants in London (ever) - Four Seasons and Gold Mine. It is such a convenient - Tescos and Sainburys two minutes away - and lively place. You can purchase lots of souvenirs and even musical tickets. Really great location.

The hotel however really needs refurbishment. The rooms aren't great but it will do. The rooms look very old and screams "this needs to be renovated." Staff were very very nice, helpful and friendly! They were lovely.

Restaurant however, I am Malaysian, and the food there was just as good as back home. A definite A+.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Berjaya_Team, Manager at Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear ecm2g12,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

It is great to read you found our location so convenient and that you enjoyed the food at Rasa Malaysia.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. For your next booking, please contact us directly so that we can ensure we assign you a room that best suits your needs.

Kind regards,

The Berjaya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    239
    262
    139
    163
See reviews for
136
273
97
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Location was great. Bayswater tube station in 1mins or Queensway in 3mins. But that was it. Staff members werent that bad but not that kind as well and there is only 1 lift with max capacity of 2ppl which literally means 2ppl. If you are carrying a bag 2people have to squeeze in. And as I mentioned there is only one of it so if there are 4family members, some of them have to wait or use stairs. Room was old and very small, toilet and shower was so small and narrow so the shower curtain sticks to u while taking showet lol. Ohh but room cleaning was reallly awesome.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BossHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Berjaya_Team, Manager at Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear BossHong,

Thank you for your review.

We regret you were disappointed with the size of your room. Unfortunately, we cannot be sure which room you stayed in but rooms in central London hotels do tend to be slightly smaller than they are elsewhere. Many of our guests would agree that the size of their room is at least adequate but this is of course down to the expectations of each individual guest.

Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of your room. Our Housekeeping team work hard to ensure our rooms are cleaned to very high standards.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, in which case we would appreciate it if you could contact us directly so that we can ensure we will assign you a room that suits your needs.

Kind regards,

The Berjaya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great Building and position, very close to Bayswater tube in a lively part of London. We had a 'deluxe double' which was quite nice - though also quite small. The bathroom was good, but the heated towel rail was very hot and very close to the shower door. There seemed to be no controls. The size of the room meant that it was very hot even though we turned the radiators in the main room off. We could not really leave the window open as the room was on the ground floor and close to the outside pavement.

Staff were very helpful and I am sure would have dealt with these issues - and we would have mentioned them if we had been staying longer.

Otherwise, the great position means that you have great access to all of the restaurants and pubs nearby (we went to a Greek place just across the road). Really good value for London and well worth a try!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M130454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Berjaya_Team, Manager at Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear M130454,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

We appreciate your feedback on the location and the staff and thank you for pointing out the towel rail issue so that we can promptly look into this

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

The Berjaya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I work in a hotel. I have done for a year, Before that I waitressed for 7. So I know a thing or two about good customer service.
Now I know some of you will say 'Oh stop moaning' or 'here we go, she knows best' but honestly as I work for a budget chain hotel I really didnt care less about the room or anything as Im not fussy, not now due to the ridiculous complaints we get where I work. Im fairly laid back.

Ill start with the good points.

Location - Brilliant!! Couldnt have got closer to the tube station.

Thats it!!

Staff - We got there early and walked in. We knew full well the room wouldnt be ready so asked to drop our bag off until later.
Now the prices listed on the wall was £200 double room per night. We booked 2 nights for £158 bargain we thought. Clearly the man behind the desk thought we were riff raff because he started to check our booking then PICKED UP THE PHONE halfway through a sentance!!!
Who does that!!
We left and came back later and a different woman checked us in. We had no welcome, no smiles and no directions to rooms or amenties.
This I could deal with, however whenever we left the hotel or returned from a day out we would get dirty looks from staff and no greetings.
I know this was because we didnt look 'the part' because we shared the lift with a buisness man, he let us out first and we were ignored, as soon as he walked round the corner it was all smiles and they even ran to hold the door open for him despite the fact that i was stood there being polite and doing it myself.

Like I said I wasnt bothered about the room at all but seeing as this is a £200 a night hotel, its disgusting. We were right opposite the lift and you could hear every word. I also woke up the first morning with a horrible rash across one cheek, a doctor said it could ne the linen powder they use to wash the sheets or BED BUGS!!
great!!!

For 2 nights at £158 for a bed to sleep in this place was fine but for £200 a night I wouldnt bother.

Its grim and in need of a facelift .. and im not just talking about the hotel!!!

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Berjaya_Team, Manager at Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Georgina K,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay.

We are sorry that we were no able to meet your expectations.

We would like to clarify that the prices listed on the wall by our Front Desk are actually our rack rates, not our best available rates, which tend to be significantly lower (hence why the total price for the two nights you stayed was £158 ) If you check the rates for any given date on any hotel booking website chances are these will be much lower than our rack rates.

We apologise that we could not deliver the service you expected from us. Many of our guests highlight the friendliness and professionalism of our staff and we regret that your experience in this respect was not as positive as that of others.

Kind regards,

The Berjaya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Let's just say that my first impression was terrible: I walked into a time warp of a room straight out of the early 1980s (complete with a miniature CBT television, cracked linoleum flooring, and the most tired and dusty bedspreads I've ever seen). I immediately stripped the bedspreads to reveal what appeared to be blood-stained sheets. I flagged down the chamber maid (who was actually quite nice and was very apologetic), and she promptly changed the sheets. Then I decided to take the bed next to the window... Well, it was a very drafty and uncomfortable spot. The windows looked like they've never seen weatherstripping (is that a North American term?)... no amount of heating could stop the awful draft. Also, the toilet had a leak. We were a party of 3 ladies (in a triple occupancy room), and there were only 4 scratchy, thin towels to speak of. I called front desk, and the man rudely asked "what do you need 6 towels for?". I kindly explained that women usually require a minimum of 2 towels (hair towel and bath towel) when showering. I decided against breaking the news to him that most civilized hotels also supply a face towel and hand towel for each guest. I also asked for extra pillows and blankets; which again, I was posed with the question: "what for?" (becuase the room was drafty and cold; and the one thin pillow just didn't cut it). I was beginning to get really ticked off. The next morning there was a much more pleasant lady at the front desk. She let us change rooms to a less drafty and leaky one. The room decor still conjured up a Dickenesque orphanage rather than a hotel... but hey, at least it was warm and clean...-er..-.ish.
The hotel stay came with a complimentary breakfast. Again, the food left much to be desired. As well, they had wrongly put in double occupancy in their restaurant guest manifest; as so, for each day for the duration of our week's stay, the following exchange took place:
Them: "Room XXX: breakfast for 2?"
Us:"No, we are three. Triple occupancy room."
Them: "it says two in here"
Us: "well, we are paying for a triple occupancy room, there are 3 beds in the room, and there are 3 of us standing here."
Them: "oh..." [she calls over another lady and has a minute-long exchange with her] "Alright then, follow me"
This exchange took place EVERY DAY. You'd think they'd recognize us by then (we certainly recognized them!); or that they'd at least make some note of this.
Well, it was certainly entertaining in a pathetic sort of way.
What else can I say? The location was excellent, and the porter was super-nice and helpful. (see, I'm not all doom and gloom!)
They had free Wifi; but it was painfully slow and unreliable... I almost expected to hear the sweet sounds of a dial up modem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Litallica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Berjaya_Team, Manager at Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Litallica,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay. We are most grateful for such informative feedback as this helps us monitor the service we provide and address specific issues we may not necessarily be aware of prior to them being brought to our attention.
We regret that on this occasion we were not up to our usual standards and would like to assure you that we are taking your comments on board to make certain that the issues highlighted in your review are promptly dealt with.
We were most concerned to read about the inconvenience you experienced at breakfast, which is of course regrettable. At the time, our Restaurant staff were fairly new and this perhaps explains why the service was not as smooth as usual on this occasion but this certainly does not reflect the level of customer care we pride ourselves on.
We were also concerned to read about the issues you experienced with our WiFi. We have recently installed a number of access points throughout the building and this has significantly improved signal strength and coverage.

On a separate note, we would like to thank you for your positive feedback on the location and our luggage porter.

While we appreciate that after this unsatisfactory experience we may not be your hotel of choice on your next trip to London, we would be delighted to have the opportunity to restore your faith in us at some point in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was a good Hotel situated in the Bayswater/Edgeware Road district. Malaysian owned Hotel from a very reputable Group. Decorated with Chinese Lanterns at the entrance due to it being Chinese New Year. Going left out of the Hotel and across the road is the Tube station.The other end of the road a good bus service direct in to City centre.

I was able to check in before the said time of 2.00pm. My room although small was adequate as this was just me occupying the room,siuated on the first floor.The room was spotless with tea coffee making facilities, flat screen television/ hairdryer/ Single bed a bit on the small side. Bathroom with bath and shower.toiletries etc.
The bar area downstairs had a lovely lounge small and comfortable with a lovely fire, making it a very snug place to have a glass of two of wine, which we did of course.
I went with my friend to Whiteleys Shopping centre for a buffet meal at the Real China Restaurant. Very good. Just round the corner from the Hotel where there is also a wide choice of all types of cafes and restaurants.
The following morning I opted for continental breakfast in the Hotel at a very reasonable price with plenty of choice and as much tea and coffee as you could drink.
I will certainly stay here again when I return for a stop over with my husband.
.
. ..

Room Tip: Do your research and find out as much as you can on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Berjaya_Team, Manager at Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Evelynenan,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is great to know that we will seeing you again when you return to London. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

The Berjaya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I went to London for a city break with my partner and stayed in this "lovely hotel" (I hope you can sense the sarcasam!

I was going to write a good point that the staff leave you to it, but a 9am "house keeping!" knock on our final day - are you for real, it's check out at 12pm?

So to start we were in the basement, this I don't mind yet we were directly below the foyer and right next to the management office which had the door wedged open so you could hear all conversations.

Toilet didn't flush properly, the hairdryer didn't work, there werent enough plug sockets, room smelt of smoke from time to time, tv remote buttons didn't all work properly, curtain was pointless in the bathroom, tiny lift hardly any room for luggage and we didn't have alot, walls were paper thin, heard people talking, heard next door having a shower and drop the soap and on the other side people having sex, a constant buzzing noise, and you can forget a lie in because come 6am (this happened everyday) you could hear ladies heels walking across the foyer above, suitcases being dragged, - personally I'd recommend a large rug to help deafen the noise. Was far too hot and not enough ventilation.

The staff were ok and always said hello, yet when we checked out we weren't even asked if we had a good stay. Instead we got a, "OK, you're done."

On the positive - the room was a decent size, the bathroom was large and the shower was good, the bedding and pillows were comfy and until the last day the staff did leave you to it. The main entrance was very nice and the location was good for central links.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Berjaya_Team, Manager at Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear hsclk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations.

We have made our Maintenance team aware of the issues highlighted in your review so that they are promptly dealt with. As for the housekeeping issue, this has been discussed in a recent staff meeting to ensure it will not happen again.

If you do change your mind in the future and decide to give us a second opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel we will ensure you are well looked after and we are confident we will make a far better impression.

Thank you once again for your your feedback.

Kind regards,

The Berjaya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#484 of 1,067 in London
210 reviews
Central Park Hotel
#850 of 1,067 in London
2,598 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#280 of 1,067 in London
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#615 of 1,067 in London
451 reviews
The Byron Hotel
#532 of 1,067 in London
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel

Property: Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel
Address: 35-39 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #878 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built circa 1860, the hotel is a welcoming and relaxing haven in the heart of London. Contemporary meets flair and grandiosity in this quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling centre of Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park. Introducing a new standard in living spaces, this Victorian hotel is your ideal choice for an exquisite stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Eden Park London
Hotel Berjaya Eden Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing