We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Ranked #607 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for two nights as had to meet a group of friends at the Wallace Collection. Very friendly and helpful staff in this compact hotel. I usually stay in the Bloomsbury Holiday Inn when passing through London so have a comparison point. The atmosphere in this smaller hotel is different and more informal. As a single traveller I appreciate being treated as a person, not just a room number. The buffet breakfast was very good and included Ryvita, which I always have at breakfast, as well as the usual piles of wheat-based stodge. My room was comfortable and well appointed, as was the bathroom. The hotel is well-positioned, a short walk from the Wallace Collection, Marylebone High Street and, for masochists, Oxford Street. A nice touch was the free copy of The Independent on both mornings. Was that because I am a member of the Premier Club? Anyway, very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    411
    310
    127
    82
See reviews for
214
308
66
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Staff is very friendly and hotel is conveniently located. Apart from that, it's not the best in terms of dollar-value.

Internet is extremely slow so that even normal websites barely load. TV has HDMI input but that is blocked so that plugging in external devices (laptop/ipad) is impossible. Both very disappointing for a longer stay and rainy days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuhestani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear kuhestani,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry some aspects of our hotel were not to your liking. I am pleased that our staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service. I was glad to hear you did appreciate our great location.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We were running the London marathon and needed a very early start, comfort and a good location. Staff were very helpful and sorted out an early breakfast.

Location great and room ok for size in Central London. Bathroom a bit tired but functional.

It's not cheap but I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peelypost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night whilst up in London to go to the theatre. Hotel is 5 minutes walk from Oxford Street and even closer to Bond Street tube station, so was great for what we wanted it for! The hotel itself was pleasant enough, clean and the rooms are modern and spacious. Breakfast was ok.. However felt a bit like there were too many tables for the room- very cramped! Staff were a little rude at some points and check in staff were slow and it was almost as if they were unsure on what they had to do.
Despite the negative points the location really is a winner so I will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for a long weekend. The hotel is nice, rooms are comfortable and service is friendly. The hotel could use some refurbishment, but if you're lucky to hit a good rate then it is good value for money. London is expensive in general so one can't expect a real bargain, anyway. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and that was quite alright: good food selection and very friendly service.
We neede to change one of the rooms and the reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Location of hotel is very convenient, just 5 minutes walk from Bond Street station. It was a pleasant stay and there were no issues. Easy check in and check out procedure, rooms were clean and rather spacious. Overall great experience and value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RegginaNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights. The location of the hotel is ideal, just off Oxford Street behind Debenhams. Great choice of eateries nearby on St Christpher's Place. Hotel itself is comfortable enough, but look a little closer and you can see it really does need a bit of updating eg - one lift for 6 floors and a basement; it can take you five minutes from third floor to reception. Oliver's restaurant still operates a carvery ( took me back to the 70s) - a little man arrives to hack off a chunk of meat, then you help yourself to vegetables etc - all a bit dried out. Having said that, I quite enjoyed my meal and they do a la carte as well. Breakfast was good, but no cold meat, cheese option ( not very continental). All areas of the hotel suffer from that giveaway waft of overused 'shake 'n vac'. There is a minigym ( treadmill and cycle) which seemed redundant - why not put in a mini spa instead ( sauna, steamroom).
Room comfy enough; bath and a rather dated 'trickle from a hose' shower. Bed ok and pillows labelled firm and soft, but all the same. Typically, as I am only a club member and on my tod, I got a room with a view over the courtyard and extractor fans, next to the building site, 7.25am start.
Being a Grumpy Old Man I find everything expensive these days, but this HI was cheaper than the London HI Express I stayed in last time and the breakfast was better here ( except for the absence of cheese!!!) I found the staff very pleasant ( esp Rosa the Receptionist who remembered checking me in - probably because I was a Grump!!) but why do all their waiting staff insist on whisking your plate away before you've finished chewing - probably because there were so many of them per customer they were looking for work.
If you can get a deal on the price, it is a hotel worth looking at.

Room Tip: Ask if you can look out over the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of staff service, comfortable rooms, quality of food and the location of the hotel. It is regrettable to hear that we failed to meet your expectations in a few areas in particular with the fitness equipment and elevator service. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

We value you as an IHG Rewards Club member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#207 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#378 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#870 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #607 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing