We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed smoker” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Ranked #598 of 1,089 Hotels in London
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed smoker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed here loads of times...but no more...This is a copy of the email I sent them in case anyone is interested.....Its a nice hotel but it has jumped on the bandwagon of going non smoking...

I just want to say that I have been staying at your hotel once or twice a year for a few years now and have always been happy with everything. I (and my wife) have been staying in Holiday Inns forever but it seems like that is about to come to an end. I recently had to stay in Exeter HI Express (not for the first time)only to find out it has become "non smoking"...So I won't be staying there again.
So what do I find when I go online the other day to book a couple of nights with you in Early July as part of my wifes birthday celebration.....You've gone "non smoking".....Well thanks a bunch for that.....So you've decided to jump on the bandwagon of turning smokers into second class citizens and I'm sure you'll have a good excuse but I'm sure its down to money cos I'm damn sure you are not doing it out of concern for anyones health.
Was there really any harm in keeping a small proportion of rooms available for smokers, we don't ask for much, we don't want your silly little areas set aside for us to go and have a cigarette....We just want to be treated the same as anyone else....A room that I've paid for and should be allowed to smoke in if I want to. If the precious non smokers of the world don't like it...Tough...I'm not asking them to sleep in my room with me and inhale the (unproved) terrible toxic fumes that will kill them in minutes if exposed...I'm not even asking them to look at me and judge me and see the (unproved) terrible toxic fumes which will obviously kill them if they see me enjoying myself for to long.....God how I wish I could be like them, so righteous, all knowing so "how dare they smoke in my presence and spoil my view of the world".......Oh enough.....Can't be bothered to rant on anymore...Thanks for nothing....Very disappointed Holiday Inn...The law does not state that all hotels have to be non smoking but you've decided for your own reasons to alienate me.....I'm not going to turn into one of those smokers who lies to you to get a room like 100's of them do then have a ciggy in your rooms anyway with a window open.

I won't be staying with you again........bye bye...........Name and IHG Rewards Number supplied

Room Tip: If your a smoker there is a perfectly good Radisson around the corner with smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    410
    305
    121
    82
See reviews for
209
307
66
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bilston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was a bit small, but this seems pretty standard for London. It was, however, very comfortable and fine for a short stay. Reception staff were very helpful, as were the waiting staff at breakfast. No complaints whatsoever, this is a good choice of hotel for central London with shops and restaurants right on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greentrees09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

i usually stay there at least 2 or 3 times a year for business and short leisure , its very ideally situated in the heart of the shopping area and easy access to transportation,cafe and restaurants. the holiday inn is a very good chain in my opinion, there has been a global upgrade but this one is still lacking behind in terms of refurbishment of rooms and food quality in their restaurant. its a bit pricy for whats its worth but they get away with it because of their location. they have a consistent staff very cheerful and friendly. i recommend for short trips , their single rooms are like cupboards so pay a little extra and go for double its a little extra space which you will appreciate the difference. if your lucky enough to have a priority card then stay on the 6th floor in the executive room, you may need to sort this out with them directly and not the call center upon availability.

Room Tip: go for double rooms as the single is too small, if you have a priority card then you may be upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Karim R,

We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your business and leisure travels. It’s nice to know that our location is suitable to your needs and we thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. On the other hand, we are very sorry you were not 100% satisfied during your recent stay. Thank you for bringing your concerns about the overall condition of the rooms and food selections to our attention. As one of our IHG Rewards members, we value your feedback as this is our best resource for improvement. Should your travel plans bring you back to the area, we would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Location of this hotel is great, a stones throw from the shopping high street but far enough to be quiet. Room was basic but comfortable. It was fine for 1 night. Breakfast was more than adequate. Would stay again if spending 1 night in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaumontBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear BeaumontBlu,

Thank you for your posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our amenities and that our location was suitable to your needs. I appreciate the high scores given for cleanliness, quality, and value as well.

We appreciate your feedback as this keeps us highly motivated in providing good value, comfort and superior guest satisfaction to valued guests like you. We look forward to serving you again when you return to London.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
716 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I am a fairly regular visitor to the hotel and one of the great aspects is the great team who look after port wring, room service and reservations. Central location is of course a huge bonus and there is a huge range of very good eating places within a few streets.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great central location just a few minutes from Oxford street and the nearby marylebone road with an excellent selection of restaurants and bars.
Reception and bar ok.
However......sited directly and very quickly apparent, just above the tube line, be ready ( if you're unfortunate to be on the ground floor) for your room to rumble every four minutes as trains pass underneath .
Asked for a high floor......but supposedly full......so how many more trains will I count before morning
Avoid unless you're sure your way above the Victoria line!

Room Tip: High floor or avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tykemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Tykemike

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed the hotel's great location.

I am really sorry you were disturbed by the noise of the underground. It is not often we get negative comments about noise as in fact we pride ourselves with being in the heart of London yet based in a quiet residential street however, if you could please email me directly on dmelrose@holidayinnoxfordcircus.com I will be happy to update your reservation profile with a preference for a bedroom on higher floors.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

D. Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Oxford Circus hotel as we were going to be out until the wee hours in Central London for a 30th Birthday bash and didn't want to be hunting taxi's down or trying to get my wheelchair on a night bus!

In a fantastic location the hotel was 5mins from the party. I have used other Holiday Inns so was confident we'd have a good stay! The main entrance isn't accessible but I was told there was another entrance but I just got up and walked the 4 steps to save time.

The reception staff were lovely and very friendly.

Our room was on the ground floor as I'd requested a disabled friendly room. The room was clean, a little dated, but cosy. There wasn't enough room for my manual wheelchair so we sat that in the bathroom when I wasn't using it.

We got back to the hotel at 2am and again the reception staff were great, the hotel bar was still open (although we'd had enough already!) we fell into the very comfortable bed and slept very well.

We'd booked to have breakfast and there was plenty to chose from; full English, toast, cereal, fruits and pastries. My only complaint about our stay was that some of the restaurant were rude and seemed put out if asked for something.

Overall, this was a great hotel with a fantastic location at a reasonable price if you're partying in Central London.

Room Tip: Let them know if you have any special requirements or needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladygogo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Ladygogo84

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Of course I am delighted you had such a great stay and key points such as cleanliness and facilities were completely to your satisfaction.

Regarding our disable access, I'm afraid this has been something we have tried again and again to change but unfortunately our hands are tied as we are a listed building and Westminster Council will not allow us to make any changes to the front entrance. We have implemented procedures to ensure all our guests with limited mobility are taken care of and feel safe when staying with us. In fact we do have an accessible room on the 6th floor which would have been more suitable for you and although I do understand you prefer a room on a lower floor, I'd like to suggest to try it when you next stay with us as I believe you will really like it.

I am really sorry to hear about your experience with some of the restaurant staff during breakfast. I have forwarded your comments to the Restaurant Manager to deal with this as it is not an acceptable behaviour I expect from my staff.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

D. Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#215 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#386 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#873 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing