We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here many times”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kensington Manor

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kensington Manor
Ranked #935 of 1,088 Hotels in London
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay here many times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

It's true that this old fashioned hotel hasnt been renovated in a zillion years. However, the size of some of the bigger rooms and it being 2 blocks away from the tube stop more than makes up for it to me. I especially love using the big grocery store right above the tube and carrying my carry-on to the Underground directly to Heathrow on my last day in London (Gloucester Road stop)

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank wonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    4
    1
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

We had stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and have to say that it was a nightmare, right from the time that we had a airport pick up arranged by the hotel, for a price of £20 and we were later asked to pay £30 for the same,

The room was extremely small & smelly, the bathtub even worst, the breakfast we received, was in broken plates, and even the coffee was in boken cups.

The staff din't try and help us when we tried to explain the problems, all in all a nightmare experience.

Would NEVER suggest anyone to stay here EVER.

  • Liked — none!!!
  • Disliked — Everthing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller4146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

This hotel was good. The only downfall was that we couldnt stand up in the bath and there was no lift to any floors. But that didnt bother us. The staff were friendly. Rooms cleaned every day. The location was great too.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarahfromglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2006

I have to agree - three adults stayed in the "suite" on the first floor and it was very worn and dirty. The staff seemed nice enough but the whole place very run down. We were out and about except for sleeping but it was just unpleasant being there at all because it was so dirty. We witnessed housekeeping "vacuuming" but the cleaner must have been so old it didn't do much good. Curtains filthy. However, as others have stated, the location is fantastic and we have since explored other hotels in the very same neighborhood. It was 2 years ago, maybe they have cleaned the place up since we were there.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2005

I would never, never, never stay here again. The photo is lovely, but the rooms were grubby. The carpets filthy, the heat could not be controlled. The tea kettle was dirty, the bathtub and shower were full of mildew. I was afraid to use the towels, although they did smell clean. The breakfast room was awful. I recommend going to Harrington Hall, only a few steps in the other direction from the tube. If you go to the cheap hotel web sites, and book in advance you can get a much nicer hotel for a little less money. I would not send my worst enemy to this hotel. (I do have to say the staff was sympathetic, but no one did anything about the dirt and they did not give me another room. It would probably have been just as bad.) Also beware- this hotel has several basement rooms!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhine-and-Roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2004

While the location is fabulous, this hotel was terrible; it did not appear to have been updated in many years. Rooms were so over crowded with battered, worn-out furniture that vacuuming would have been impossible. We moved from a dusty third floor room with grubby carpeting to a ground floor room that was only slightly better because we could at least open one of the two windows that were dressed with water-stained draperies. While the staff was friendly, and helpful, everything else was sub-standard. The caucking packed faucets on the sink and tub appeared yellowed and dirty. Nothing felt fresh and clean. There might be hope for this hotel if the owners gut it and start over.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, N.E. England.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2004

We have just got back from the Manor where we stayed for four days at the end of April 2004, and I have to say I agree with much of what has already been said. We chose the place as it offered a triple room in three stars for only £70 a night. Even having read the reviews here I still felt confident enough in the ratings system to give it a go. Sadly I was wrong. I wholeheartedly agree with the previous reviewer in suggesting that the 3 star rating is misleading. If it had been two stars then I certainly would have avoided it. The place IS well situated, and our room ('Hastings') did have a reasonable amount of space and a mini fridge. However, the overall decor is shabby, paint is flaking off, there are holes in the plaster, the wallpaper is stained, a thick layer of grime covers anything not directly in the line of sight, and we had bare electrical wires hanging from the roof. The bathroom again was simply dirty; broken tiles were mended with copious trowel slaps of silicon filler, the sinks and plugs were covered with mildew, and the icing on the cake is a handwritten note saying the toilet can't take paper - you either put it in the main room bin or use the main toilet down on the landing. Breakfast is croissants/bread and coffee (no tea when we were there) and the bread was stale each day.
We did have a good time in London and made the place our home of sorts for the four days we were there. So I don't mean to rubbish it outright, but anyone thinking like us that this place is a hidden bargain, please think again, it is two stars at the MOST, more likely less than that. Beware...

Helpful?
Thank Nuscw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#631 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#427 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#272 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
South Kensington
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Grange Strathmore Hotel
#510 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Manor

Property: Kensington Manor
Address: 8 Emperor's Gate, Kensington, London SW7 4HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #935 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable hotel in refurbished 1820 Victorian Terrace; multilingual staff; situated in South Kensington, near museums, shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kensington Manor Hotel London
Kensington Manor London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing