We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality hotel near tube station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #380 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Having stayed at the Rydges hotel at Sydney airport I was really looking forward to a two night stay at this hotel. I took the tube to Gloucester Road tube station and the hotel is across the road and a short 75m walk to hotel. Check-in very smooth and easy. Located room which was in an odd location directly off the stairs. Upon entering the room was a little disappointed as to the size and quality compared to the Sydney hotel, The room was quite small as was the bathroom, Everything I needed was there but lacked the finesse of a real quality hotel.
Had dinner in the restaurant which was a lovely meal and would definitely recommend.
The hotel is a short walk to the Natural museum and Victoria Albert. It is about a 25 mins walk to Harrods and 30-35 mins from Hyde Park. As such is well placed for all amenities in the Kensington area. I think the only reason for my disappointment with this hotel was due to the hotel in Sydney which was outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazbWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear GazbWales,

Thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington for your stay in London.

Thank you for your review and taking time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. Great location is definitely one of our greatest assets and it guaranteed easy access to famous museums, parks, airports and much more.

I am sorry that you were disappointed by the room size and quality. Unfortunately being located in the Victorian style building we have limited space, however all rooms are well equipped to ensure comfortable stay.

I hope you will decide to come back to Rydges Kensington again.

Best Regards,


Joanna Caruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Top quality hotel, great service nothing was to much trouble, modern room very comfortable and very clean. perfect location for Albert hall. very close to Gloucester Road tube station and local amenities. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Damion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Damion J,

Thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington for your stay in London.
Thank you for your review and taking time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great location is definitely our greatest asset. Famous London museums, local shops, bars and restaurants are just a short stroll from the Hotel.
Once again thank you for your great review. Look forward to welcome you back to Rydges Kensington.

Best Regards,


Joanna Caruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We recently spent ( Feb 2014) a couple of nights at Rydges and were very impressed with the hotel. The standard of accommodation is very good, our room was a perfectly acceptable size, whilst not particularly spacious (typical size of so many central London hotels) ours was a good standard, clean and well serviced. The hotel does have a boutique feel and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We ate in the resturant one evening and the food was of a high quality.
The location is excellent for exploring being @5 mins walk from the V&A/Natural History Museum and very close to the tube. .I would have no hesitation in booking this specific hotel again.

Room Tip: We booked an executive king room and did not see others but would not want a room any smaller than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RBucks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear RBucks23,

Thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington for your stay in London.
Thank you for your review and taking time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great location is definitely our greatest asset. Famous London museums, local shops, bars and restaurants are just a short stroll from the Hotel.
Once again thank you for your great review. Look forward to welcome you back to Rydges Kensington.

Best Regards,


Joanna Caruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel more than once because of its great location only a few steps from Gloucester Road tube station. The hotel is really nice, but we were very dissapointed to find out our executive room was on the lower ground floor. They should at least inform you about this when booking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bjemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Bjemar,

Thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington for your stay in London.
Thank you for your review and taking time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great location is definitely our greatest asset. Famous London museums, local shops, bars and restaurants are just a short stroll from the Hotel.
Next time you stay with us please contact our dedicated reservations team to express your requirements and we will make sure they are accommodated.
Look forward to welcome you back to Rydges Kensington.

Best Regards,


Joanna Caruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great hotel with very nice room. The room was a little small but so are most rooms in London. The location is excellent as it is walking distance to Hyde Park and next door to Gloughster Road tube station.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Ken O,

Thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington for your stay in London.
Thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great location is definitely our greatest asset. Famous London museums, local shops, bars and restaurants are just a short stroll from the Hotel.
Look forward to welcome you back to Rydges Kensington.

Best Regards,


Joanna Caruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed 13th Feb with my Frond.
Location is great- everywhere clean, comfortable and welcoming.
Was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a premier suite ( room 104) which was fantastic- thank you !!
Look forward to staying again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Racy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Racy40,

Thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington for your stay in London.
Thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and welcoming.
Look forward to welcome you back to Rydges Kensington.

Best Regards,


Joanna Caruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Visited to celebrate birthday, lovely hotel, friendly staff, would highly recommend as a hotel both for relaxing and for close proximity to the museums.
Left some property behind, hotel informed us and posted it back to us, excellent service

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JKLWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear JKL Wales,

Thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington for your stay in London.
Thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Great customer service is one of the top priorities for us and I am very happy that you had a chance to experience it.
Look forward to welcome you back to Rydges Kensington.

Best Regards,


Joanna Caruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#148 of 1,078 in London
914 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,078 in London
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#257 Business Hotel in London
#265 Luxury Hotel in London
#325 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £106 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing