We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to detail shows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #344 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
185 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Attention to detail shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I just love staying at hotels that are 'bothered' about how they leave a customers feeling and this hotel is definitely bothered!

What I mean is that they have thought about the key aspects of the customer experience - reception, public areas and room.... everything ties together to create a good impression.

Rooms are modern, well kitted out and very clean; I may have got lucky but I didn't think you could have this quiet a room in the middle of Kensington a stones throw from the Cromwell Road! You can just tell this hotel has worked hard to gets it rep' and intends on keeping it and this showed.

Breakfast is a bit pricey but this is the case at all these 4* hotels (£15) plus I don't have an hour to spend indulging - I nipped out to a very nice little patisserie/café across from Gloucester Rd tube and had a couple of coffee's and a sausage sandwich for £7. Quick and good value.

Final thing I liked was I checked out at breakfast and there was no queue - couldn't really fault them. Good value, convenient and top quality stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, perhaps next time you will try our lovely breakfast in our restaurant as you can also order items from the menu with coffee for the value of £5.00.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards

Joanna Carrunters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    473
    186
    61
    32
See reviews for
213
429
91
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Second visit to Rydges in the space of a few weeks and were so pleased with our first visit that we chose to spend another couple of nights this past weekend.

The hotel is ideally located for the Kensington museums with all three no more than a very straightforward 10 minute stroll away, Hyde Park a little further, Knightsbridge a couple of tube stops away and Gloucester Road station about a minute away with excellent access to the rest of central London. Amenities are plentiful and despite the busy A4 it is generally fairly quiet. The room itself was comfortable, well refurbished and a fantastic - if a little cramped - bathroom. Staff are friendly and courteous; on both occasions we had a room ready for us around 10am and leaving our baggage behind after check-out was not a problem.

Unfortunately, on our second stay we had a few minor problems with the room that had we not stayed at Rydges before would have given us cause for complaint and perhaps dissuaded us from visiting again. The outer part of the sash window did not close and only the secondary glazing kept the noise down, the espresso machine was temperamental and only sort of worked and our air conditioning did its own thing, turning itself up to 23C from 19C overnight and turning itself off at random intervals. Of course, reporting this after the stay is a little redundant but I feel it's important that these were very minor issues that were completely non-existent during our first stay.

The price of the stay was reasonable when compared to other hotels across London and both visits were booked on short notice. Whether the prices reflect the time of year I'm unsure but I feel that overall it reflects decent value for money for a pleasant hotel in an excellent location. The manager noticed that this was our second visit and on our return to the room on our first evening we found a nice welcome letter with some complimentary sweets - a very nice touch for a city that can be impersonal at times.

Room Tip: Stayed in an Executive King Room which is a decent size but a small bathroom. Not sure if bathroom i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimvild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am delighted that you decided to stay with us for the second time.

Our location is indeed one of our great assets as we are very close to the underground train station.
The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of London’s Royal Borough, Kensington and Chelsea neighborhoods. We also a few minutes’ walk to the Natural History Museum, the Victoria and Albert and the Science Museum

I am very pleased you liked our product and our staff will be thrilled to read your comments. I am however sorry to hear there were a few issues that marred your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback with regards to the window, espresso machine and the air conditioning and we are grateful you have shared this with us.

I am glad you found our hotel good value for money and we hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel for another great stay.


Kind regards

Joanna Carrunters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lublin, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very nice hotel with great location, just one minute from the undergroung train, this is very important in London. You can go to the city centre in 10 minutes. Outside the hotel also is very nice. You can find great Inalian restaurant just few steps from the hotel. Minus -Very small single room, but clean and nice. Good breakfast. I can recomend it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniaKrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. I am pleased to hear you liked our location. We are indeed very close to the tube station with easy access to the city. The Indian Restaurant close to the hotel is highly recommended by the hotel. I will pass on your feedback to them as well.

Our housekeeping department will be delighted to hear you found the rooms to be clean and nice and so will our chef with regards to your breakfast feedback.

Thank you for recommending the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Joanna Carrunters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed at Ridges a number of times for appointments in London. As usual it did not disappoint! The place has recently been refurbished and is kept to a good standard. The staff on reception speak excellent English and whilst I was in reception I heard a customer assisted in Spanish. The cost is reasonable (considering it is Kensington!). The bed was extremely comfortable, and although the room was small it was well laid out. The bathroom was warm and clean, with no sign of the black mould that appears to inhabit the showers of so many hotels! We will stay again and I could recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely feedback. I am pleased to hear you have stayed with us on numerous occasions and that you have always enjoyed your stay with us.

Our reception and housekeeping staff will be delighted to read your comments and I am very glad you are happy with our products and services. We appreciate you recommending our hotel and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The room is smaller than we see online, but the location is great!!! I like the cleanileness and the service, but there is not special to do for kids. But, one block from the hotel, there is the Natural History Museum, because of that , you don´t need any activity for kids in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmirJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am delighted to hear you liked our hotel location. Our staff will be delighted to hear you were impressed with the hotel’s cleanliness and the service.
I am pleased you were able to you were able to visit the Natural History Museum with the kids. The Science Museum and the Hyde Park are other places kids may love to visit and our concierge will be happy to recommend other places should you decide to visit us again.
We appreciate your feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at Rydges Kensington twice within a month. It's a good hotel in a good location.
The hotel is located right opposite the Gloucester Rd Tube stop, so it's handy to all parts of London. It's close to Hyde Park and Harrods. There are a couple of good restaurants and supermarkets within metres.
The hop-on, hop-off bus stops right outside.
The hotel is clean, tidy and modern but doesn't have any real bells and whistles to set it apart from any other.
The rooms are small but the beds are comfy.
Continental breakfast was included which was great. The restaurant 'The Jam Cupboard' is pretty good and the Polo Bar has great ambience, but is pretty small. Maybe only big enough for 20 people.
It has a small gym and really friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJLuvsHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. I am very pleased to hear you have visited us twice in one month. Our team will be delighted to read your comments. We are indeed located very close to the Gloucester Road Tube Station and other tourist attractions. We also located near various local restaurants and bar.

We appreciate your feedback with regards to the room, restaurant and bar. I am glad you were happy with the continental breakfast and the ambience in the bar.

We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back again to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Really enjoyed our one night stay at this great hotel. We had a triple room, 104, which in fact was a suite. Lots of space, huge bathroom complete with bathrobes slippers & really nice products. Beds extremely comfortable. Staff very friendly. Location excellent just across road from Tube Station. 2 min walk to some really nice cafes & restaurants heading towards Kensington High St & Kensington Palace. Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BRIGID056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff will be delighted to read your feedback. I am very glad you liked the triple room which is indeed a suite. Location is indeed one of our great assets as we are very close to the tube station and local shops and restaurants.
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for recommending us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#430 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#342 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#371 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#173 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Property: Rydges Kensington London
Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
#257 Business Hotel in London
#326 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing