We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rydges Hotel, London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #366 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rydges Hotel, London”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very near to the tube station. Room very clean & service was good. Only they charge for late check out of £50 for 2pm. Other than that would love to come back again as its clean, near to food place and attraction.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rad2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Rad21,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am very pleased to hear you liked our product and our services. Our housekeeping department will be happy to read your feedback.

I am glad you were able to take advantage of our great location. Indeed late checkout charges are applied from 1pm onwards.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    482
    192
    64
    35
See reviews for
217
444
93
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Clean comfortable modern room - no view but didn't pay for one either - reasonable price for good clean hotel with breakfast
Staff friendly and polite
Breakfast very well presented (continental)
Good overall experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Charladys,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am very pleased you had a lovely stay with us.

I will share your comments with our team and our chef will be happy to read your comments about breakfast.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A nice hotel at a great location! Do go! Nice staff an ok cleaning. Breakfast was nice and diversified enough for us. In the neighborhood you will find an excellent pizza restaurant and several others including Churchill Arms a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerstinBjellerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Ms Bjellerup,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am very pleased you had a lovely stay with us and that you were able to benefit from out great location.

Our staff and the chef will be happy to read your comments. Thank you again for sharing your experience and for recommending our hotel. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It's difficult to find a good hotel at reasonable price in London. We chose the Rydges regarding the location and it's nice pictures of the rooms !. We family of 3, stayed in the One Bedroom Suite for 3 nights. There is one master bedroom and a separate living room that adjusted to be our daughter bedroom. Although the room area is a little small but manageable.The place was comfortable and clean. Everything needed is there, as well as a coffee maker. The location is great, only a few meters from tube station. We like the front ladies, very friendly and helpful. We appreciate an English girl at the front desk on the 13th April ( around 8 pm) who's very thoughtful and generous in offering us free WiFi, for we lost our handbag at Oxford street ! and because of that, the Rydges WiFi helped finding some of our lost stuffs. We finally had our iPhone and some important papers back. It maybe a little expensive staying here but for us it's worth it. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niramit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel London. I am very pleased to read your comments.

We strive to exceed our customers’ expectations and reading such a review is naturally pleasing to both myself and my team, who all share a passion for great customer service. I will definitely share your feedback with the team and I am happy that our front desk were attentive to assisting you when you lost your hand bag.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and for recommending the hotel, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A hotel that is centrally located within a stone's throw away from the metro station. The staff was very nice and the service was good. The rooms were clean and fresh. You had to leave £ 300 in Deposit Policy In.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Belino70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel London. We are pleased to read your wonderful review. Our hotel is indeed only two minutes walk from Gloucester road metro station and we are very close to various tourist attractions and local restaurants and bars.
Our staff will be pleased to read your comments. We do require a £50 deposit per night for any incidental charges. The deposit is returned if no incidentals are consumed during the guest stay. I am truly sorry this was not explained to you properly at check in.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vankleek Hill, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our trip at the Rydges. This hotel was booked after the first one we booked was closed for renovations. Location of the Rydges was perfect and check in and out were very easy. Executive king room (304) was lovely. Not the biggest, but it was very comfortable, and the bathroom was huge. Polly in the Polo Club was just smashing, and the Burger and Pint deal was just what we needed after a long day of touring the sites. Food was superb! Would definitely recommend this hotel, despite what some people are saying. You get what you pay for in Europe.

Room Tip: Try staying in the back of the hotel if noise is a problem for you. Hotel is on a rather busy stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Rydges Kensington Hotel London. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that you liked our product and services. Polly will be happy to read your comments. I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Get the good out of the way first. Staff very courteous, buffet breakfast more than plus marks. However having stayed here on several occasions before, was distraught to our cells in the basement, ( I booked three rooms at nearly 200 pounds per night!). When we went to lower ground we found it was the twilight zone of the basement. The corridor smelt of damp and it was obviously the boiler room of the hotel; we had to negotiate trolleys and piles of towels to get to our rooms when we checked in. Greeted by massive stains on the carpet from what I dread to think! Little reason to open the curtains since the sun doesn't reach that level! We were obviously more downstairs than upstairs!, but we had paid full whack for something a lot less. All typified by my return to the room at 5:30pm from running the London marathon to be just ahead of the lady making our room. They obviously start and finish in the dungeons but where does that ever happen in a normal hotel? Needless to say, our room remained unmade. It will take a lot to convince me to return to this hotel and to once again risk, the London Dungeon! ps I am also a privilege club member!

Room Tip: Avoid the sub terrainian levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank YaniMoomkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Rydges Kensington London, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Rydges, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I was deeply embarrassed to have read your comments pertaining to the damp smell in the corridor, the trolleys and towels obstructing the corridor and the stains on the carpet.
I would be delighted to receive your email to discuss the issues further and offer you my assurance that you will not have the same experience should you wish to stay with us again. I can be contacted on joanna_carruthers@rydges.com .
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#349 of 1,068 in London
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#370 of 1,068 in London
974 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#480 of 1,068 in London
632 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#412 of 1,068 in London
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Property: Rydges Kensington London
Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#257 Business Hotel in London
#259 Luxury Hotel in London
#326 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing