We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Hotel in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #344 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
La Hulpe, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“perfect Hotel in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is very well located, easy to walk to museum and tube station across the road. Cosy, nice and very clean hotel. Bathroom was perfect and room too with confortable bed ans pretty modern decoration. Some rooms are very small but we booked an exective room and it was perfect. Nice breakfast, reception very helpfull and kind

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helene v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Helene,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel London. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location. It is always a pleasure to receive positive reviews.

I will share your comments with our staff as this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    473
    186
    61
    32
See reviews for
213
429
91
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a single room for my mother. I thought, it's a 4 star hotel and it wasn't cheap so the standard will be high. Her room was so small that she felt like she was staying in a closet. The shower wasn't clean, there was black fungus in the corners.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joess_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Joess,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Rydges Kensington London. I appreciate the time you have taken to write and would like to thank you for making me aware of the issues experienced, this kind of honest feedback is essential for us to address areas in which we may not be fulfilling our full service potential.

I am very sorry to hear the single room was not up to your expectations. Our Single rooms are equipped with a single bed , perhaps you could book a double room or executive room on your next visit as these rooms are much more spacious should you wish to give us another try.

I am also disappointed to read your comments regarding the shower. Please rest assured I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team and I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel London and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kløfta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Me and 3 friends stayed from thursday till sunday in april in twin rooms. The rooms were very nice! Very comfortable beds, nice bathroom with a good shower. Nice complimentary beauty products and a good variety of amenities. Also very good climate in the room, I often think it is too warm or poor ventilation in hotels.
However I think its a shame that the hotel does not offer free wifi, even though I read earlier in a reply from manager here on Tripadvisor that they had started to offer it. I had to pay 10 Pounds for 24 hour code, this is too expensive!
Othervise very friendly and helpful staff and a very good location in London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Camila,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am very pleased to hear you loved our twin room and the room amenities.

I am however sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Wi-Fi charges. Unfortunately we do currently charge for this service. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to review our product and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saonara, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is in a good location, they give me a very small room. I can not stand with my arm wide open without touching both the walls. It was not a comfortable room, at all. I left the room at 7.30 and at 14.00 none has clean up the room and I have to ask twice to send someone. There was a strike of the public transportation (not their fault of course) the guy at the concierge was so rude and he didn't reply to the questions concerning bus or taxi. For the price I've paid there are so many other option here in London.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ste79pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Ste79pd,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Rydges Kensington Hotel , but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Rydges, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I am very sorry to hear you were allocated a very small room. Perhaps next time you can book our double or executive rooms which are much more spacious. I am also sorry to hear about our shortcomings with regards to the service you received from our concierge.

I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Rydges Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely, cosy hotel, in a great location. Tube station across the road, and walking distance to many interesting places. I had a ground floor room at the back, no view, but the room was bigger than I expected given the reviews. Comfortable bed, small bathroom, but fine for me, with very nice toiletries. I did not eat on site, there was a number of nice breakfast places nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Shoeberry,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Kensington London Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are very pleased to hear you liked our location and your room. We are located very close to the tube station and we are surrounded by many local restaurants and bars.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

rooms are not extraordinary (size basicly) but hotel have a very good location (bus and tube) to visit London. Breakfast is in the average rating or level of a hotel with this categorie but the breakfast-room is pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francesc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Francesc,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Kensington London Hotel. We are very pleased to hear you liked our location and our breakfast room.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel delivered, what you saw in the glossy pictures were real. Lovely hotel with a cosy atmosphere and extremely nice and courteous staff. The bedroom as in most London Hotels was not huge but big enough to get around, bed was very comfortable, lovely pristine bathroom and toiletries. We could not fault this hotel or the service we received.

The continental breakfast on offer was excellent with a lovely choice of produce which was more than enough to set you up for the day.

The Hotel is situated in a top area very central to tube, shops, restaurants, galleries, etc. For a London hotel in this area it represented good value. We would most definitely return.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tonmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Tonmax,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Kensington London Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We strive to exceed our customers’ expectations and reading such a review is naturally pleasing to both me and my team, who all share a passion for great customer service. I will share your comments with our team as this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#430 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#342 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#371 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#173 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Property: Rydges Kensington London
Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#248 Luxury Hotel in London
#257 Business Hotel in London
#326 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing