We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and quite expensive stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #364 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average and quite expensive stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good location, Gloucester Road tube station right across the street. Friendly staff and average breakfast which could, however, have more variety. We had booked a room at discount and found ourselves at the lower ground floor, or in the "dungeon" as we called it: the room was quite big but the view close to nothing and the room was dark. We were unhappy and asked for another room on the upper floors and in the end, got an executive room with no extra charge so that was well handled by the staff. Still, would have appreciate a room with a decent view to begin with compared to the money we spent on staying at Rydges.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room on the upper levels (on 1st or above) if you're after a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
It is disappointing to see that you’re original room was not to your liking however it’s pleasing to see that we could swap your room to something more suitable for you.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    478
    189
    64
    34
See reviews for
214
439
92
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Poor service from reception staff who were extremely unhelpful. Room was very small and did not reflect the images on the website. The fridge didn't work properly which all added up to a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKb471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
It very disappointing to read your review, please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you have raised and for the inconvenience and frustration that would have been caused!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I made a last minute reservation after driving for hours wonderinng where I would stay. Reception desk was welcoming and I knew I had found the right place from their greetings and attention. Room was just the size and price I needed, well equipped, neat and very clean.

I left an article behind, and before I knew I had left it, they rang me to advise and arranged delivery to me.

The hotel is close to a 24 hour accessible parking at reasonable rates. It is also very close e to a London Undergraound station.

Room Tip: a room at the rear faces east and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Wow! This is definitely the type of feedback we aim for as a team!
It is so very pleasing to see that we beat your expectations. I look forward to sharing this feedback with the team.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhinobasket
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

the hotel was booked at a discount . Despite this we had a good room on the first floor overlooking the main road. Hotel clean throughout staff helpful and a great location. As we have not stopped in London before I cannot really say whether it was good value but I thought it fair value for money. Restaurant good though the menu a little limited. Wine excellent and good value. Bed superbly comfortable. Would look forward to stopping here again as a very pleasant area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhinobasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
We are very thankful for your feedback on your stay with us, it is wonderful to see that you had an enjoyable stay!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were given room 1, a clean twin room. Alarm bells rang when the curtains were drawn in the middle of the afternoon. I opened them to be confronted by the kitchens of the next hotel.
The noise late at night & early in the morning was terrible.
When i tried to put on the TV to drown the noise it didn't work. Despite the work of the helpful maintenance man till 11.15pm it still didn't work.

Room Tip: Not Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank i58oen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
I appreciate the feedback as this allows us to improve both our services and standards.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I really enjoyed staying here during my recent visit to London. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube station, which made it so easy to catch the tube from Heathrow as this station is on the same line. I purchased a pre-loaded Oyster card before leaving Australia which made it so easy as I could just get directly on the tube at Heathrow with no time wasted buying tickets there. The hotel has an excellent restaurant and a good wine list. The room was well presented and serviced to a high standard every day. Staff were very helpful. A very central location in a quintessentially English part of the city. I was able to catch a bus directly outside the hotel (number 49) to the huge Westfield Shopping complex at White City. I will stay here again when I return to London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stavanger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
I have to agree we are in a great location being so close to the tube, it really does make getting around so easy!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel welcoming with friendly staff but standard double pretty small and a little noisy due to lift being close
Rooms clean and properly turned down. Hairdryer and ironing board a bonus
Breakfast standard fayre

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nscarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#394 of 1,067 in London
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#484 of 1,067 in London
629 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#354 of 1,067 in London
2,035 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#361 of 1,067 in London
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Property: Rydges Kensington London
Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#257 Business Hotel in London
#259 Luxury Hotel in London
#326 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing