We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #374 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First of all, I should say that the location is great.

Prior to my visit, I had emailed a request about my visit which was fully met, which was much appreciated. All the staff who we encountered were friendly enough, no complaints there either.

There is no way though that the hotels - or at least the rooms - could be described as "boutique". For example, the carpet was badly fitted in our room, lots of dodgy touch ups to the painting, mirrored wardrobe was filthy and there was just an overall feeling that everything was just a little bit on the tatty side.

Overall the hotel was fine, but it was not the luxury experience which is implied. I wouldn't say to avoid it, just have realistic expectations.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank quizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location. I am however disappointed to hear the comments in regards to your room - I will be looking into this and ensuring that it is rectified.
I do hope we can welcome you back again.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Location is convenient, maybe 10 minute walk from Harrods, friendly staff, decent-sized rooms for the price. However, in 2014, one needs working Wi-Fi at all times. Day One, Wi-Fi kept kicking me off it about once an hour, and then the access code stopped working, prompting a call to the front desk for a new code, which was done through the speaker feature of the phone, because the handset wasn't working.
Day Two, I woke up to now access whatsoever, only an error message telling me that too many guests had accessed the system, please try again later. Came back 10 hours later, and it was still not working...gave up and sat outside a Burger King to use their free Wi-Fi to send my work e-mails, but also burned $25 of international data charges on my phone sending e-mails.
When I complained upon check-out, the clerk kindly informed since the Wi-Fi was free, they would not compensate for my data charges....nice, huh?
I think I will pass on this hotel when I return to London in a few months.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration that would have been caused by the points you have raised in your review. It is very disappointing to hear!
However it is pleasing to see that you found our location convenient.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

- cleaning was perfect
- internet was not working the most of the time
- breakfast service was more or less absent
- breakfast food was good
- no one helped us with the luggages when we arrived
- the room was very big and confortable
- location perfect
- no envelope was given of the check out paper

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luluclb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your recent stay, it is very much appreciated.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a good location. We unfortunately had a room in the basement which was clean and modern , but wouldn't want to stay in that particular room again! The breakfast and coffee was very good! The hotel was too expensive, but we must of chosen an expensive week to visit london! Weekends are a lot more reasonable!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

It’s wonderful to see another comment on our great location!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent a month in Britain at a range of hotels and B&B's - Rydges was the worst place we stayed. Staff were rude, condescending and completely unhelpful. Room facing Gloucester Rd had a window which would not close, making it cold and letting excessive traffic noise in. Breakfast on first morning was poor, with very little selection and no service, so did not go there for the rest of our stay. Wifi reception in room was poor and so slow in was useless. Had to sit in lobby for Wifi and still very slow.
Definitely will not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing Gloucester Rd if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

This is definitely not acceptable service standards by any means; please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and frustration this would have caused! Be assured this is not our normal level of service and I have spoke to the team to ensure this type of feedback doesn’t occur again.
It’s wonderful to see another comment on our great location!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We were here for four nights - very easy to get around, we walked almost everywhere! Staff are lovely and breakfast buffet is plentiful and yum. Bar staff could be more professional, but plenty of options around.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

It is so pleasing to read your review on your recent stay with us, I look forward to sharing this with the team.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Rydges is your average hotel, no major problems at all. I stayed here with a girlfriend for a girlfriend weekend. Rooms were on the small side, but this what you have to expect in London at this price and hotel category. Service was fine too, no complaints. Breakfast was ordinary but good. Rydges is a great location for visiting nearby V&A museum, the museum of Natural History.... It's also just steps from the Gloucester road tube station which is on the Circle, District and Piccadilly tube line. The only downside, there are few bus lines that come direct to this area. There are pubs, restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacies and Boots all in walking distance!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiapiaMiapia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Thank you for the feedback, it is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your girl’s weekend with us.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#143 of 1,077 in London
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#378 of 1,077 in London
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#257 Business Hotel in London
#262 Luxury Hotel in London
#325 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £108 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing