We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #352 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having found this deal we we're very excited to staying in an executive room in central London, however it didn't feel executive I don't feel.

The staff were incredibly friendly and when we first entered the hotel the staff were smiling and greeted the three of us warmly. I had mentioned when booking online that this was for my mothers birthday, I was delighted when the receptionist wished our mother happy birthday when we checked in! Goes to show these messages do get passed on.

The staircase between the ground floor and first floor had a lovely clean linen smell to it, between floor 1 and 2 and all of floor 2 on the way to our room had a horrible dank smell to it. It smelt of what can only be described as sewage which was not pleasant at all.

The room was incredibly clean and well prepared however upon entering the room it was a shame to see that it was a very small room. The pictures on the website and booking description lead me to believe it would be a bigger room. For three people it was a tight squeeze and somewhat uncomfortable in terms of space.

It was disappointing that we had to ask for a third dressing gown and slippers set. Considering we had made a booking for three people in a triple room this was not a good start, however when we highlighted this to the staff they made sure another set had been bought up to the room while we were out.

The location of the hotel is fantastic and very central with some fantastic little bars and cafe's nearby ideal for breakfast.

Overall we were satisfied with our stay, however there were a few touches that were somewhat disappointing as highlighted above.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
It is so pleasing to see that you found our location fantastic!
I appreciate the feedback, I have taken it on bored and am currently reviewing it as we speak.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    475
    187
    62
    33
See reviews for
213
435
91
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My experience was wonderfully memorable. From the room to the service everything was excellent, I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends. The location is absolutely fantastic, walking distance to museums and the tube.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, it is very much appreciated!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First of all, I should say that the location is great.

Prior to my visit, I had emailed a request about my visit which was fully met, which was much appreciated. All the staff who we encountered were friendly enough, no complaints there either.

There is no way though that the hotels - or at least the rooms - could be described as "boutique". For example, the carpet was badly fitted in our room, lots of dodgy touch ups to the painting, mirrored wardrobe was filthy and there was just an overall feeling that everything was just a little bit on the tatty side.

Overall the hotel was fine, but it was not the luxury experience which is implied. I wouldn't say to avoid it, just have realistic expectations.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank quizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location. I am however disappointed to hear the comments in regards to your room - I will be looking into this and ensuring that it is rectified.
I do hope we can welcome you back again.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Location is convenient, maybe 10 minute walk from Harrods, friendly staff, decent-sized rooms for the price. However, in 2014, one needs working Wi-Fi at all times. Day One, Wi-Fi kept kicking me off it about once an hour, and then the access code stopped working, prompting a call to the front desk for a new code, which was done through the speaker feature of the phone, because the handset wasn't working.
Day Two, I woke up to now access whatsoever, only an error message telling me that too many guests had accessed the system, please try again later. Came back 10 hours later, and it was still not working...gave up and sat outside a Burger King to use their free Wi-Fi to send my work e-mails, but also burned $25 of international data charges on my phone sending e-mails.
When I complained upon check-out, the clerk kindly informed since the Wi-Fi was free, they would not compensate for my data charges....nice, huh?
I think I will pass on this hotel when I return to London in a few months.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration that would have been caused by the points you have raised in your review. It is very disappointing to hear!
However it is pleasing to see that you found our location convenient.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

- cleaning was perfect
- internet was not working the most of the time
- breakfast service was more or less absent
- breakfast food was good
- no one helped us with the luggages when we arrived
- the room was very big and confortable
- location perfect
- no envelope was given of the check out paper

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luluclb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your recent stay, it is very much appreciated.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a good location. We unfortunately had a room in the basement which was clean and modern , but wouldn't want to stay in that particular room again! The breakfast and coffee was very good! The hotel was too expensive, but we must of chosen an expensive week to visit london! Weekends are a lot more reasonable!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
It’s wonderful to see another comment on our great location!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent a month in Britain at a range of hotels and B&B's - Rydges was the worst place we stayed. Staff were rude, condescending and completely unhelpful. Room facing Gloucester Rd had a window which would not close, making it cold and letting excessive traffic noise in. Breakfast on first morning was poor, with very little selection and no service, so did not go there for the rest of our stay. Wifi reception in room was poor and so slow in was useless. Had to sit in lobby for Wifi and still very slow.
Definitely will not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing Gloucester Rd if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
This is definitely not acceptable service standards by any means; please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and frustration this would have caused! Be assured this is not our normal level of service and I have spoke to the team to ensure this type of feedback doesn’t occur again.
It’s wonderful to see another comment on our great location!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#413 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#359 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#364 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#169 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Property: Rydges Kensington London
Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#250 Luxury Hotel in London
#257 Business Hotel in London
#326 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing