We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #345 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
emmakemp22
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Lovely hotel for a base to explore London. Ideally located for all major transport links, wonderfully equipped rooms, comfortable beds and staff very accommodating. Would definitely stay here again, don't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmakemp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
It is wonderful to see another comment on our famous Rydges Dream beds – they really are super comfortable!
I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Kensington London.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    472
    186
    61
    32
See reviews for
212
427
91
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I would not recommend this hotel as a place to stay - terribly overpriced, no facilities, tired and they even have bedrooms in a basement...The staff was always busy, service completely unpersonalised. Also experienced a bad attitude from one of the staff one late night when came back from the city and asked for information about the area. Ahmed rudely advised to find the information on Google. Will not return and again, would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
I am very disappointed to read your comments on your recent stay, this is definitely not the type of service we aim for! Be assured that I am looking into your comments as we speak. Please accept my sincere apologies for not only the inconvenience but also the frustration this would have caused.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

A review of a London Hotel is always difficult as they are inherently expensive, often old and you pay for location and proximity to attractions/underground stations. But when a hotel is listed as 4.5 stars and expensive - I think it is fair game to do an honest review.

Good Points
The staff at this hotel are very professional and helpful and are the redeeming asset of the hotel. Polite and friendly even under pressure.

Located 2 mins from the Glouster Road Tube Station - it is very handy.

It is walking distance to South Kensington and the Natural History Museum and the 'hop on and off' bus stop is right out the front.

We stayed in room 413 which is on the upper level and had 2 big windows, comfortable (soft/medium firmness beds) and ironing board, hairdryer etc (see below for other comments though). It also had a small sofa (which I understand is a sofa bed) - it would be very crowded for three adults though.

Poor points
The staff are the redeeming feature of the hotel but the hotel infrastructure is tired and struggles to be a 4.5 star hotel - in my view 3.5 - 4 star. There is poor natural light and the corridors are narrow with multiple fire doors makes it feel pokey and tired.

We originally booked a twin (I was travelling with my son) and we were re shown downstairs (room 12) - it is a souless dark space that is not worth £230 per night (approx $410 Aud per night!) You weave through stairs, narrow corridors and many fire doors - claustrophobic and depressing.

Oh did I tell you there is no concerirge to help with bags so you drag them yourself - including up the stairs into the hotel as you arrive and its 4.5 stars.

After expressing our concern and disappointment - no shock - with the room the friendly staff were very patient and helpful to find another room we inspected two and settled on 413 ( we were told two King Executive rooms were 'out of service' - a sign that this is a distressed building).

The room was pleasant but small with two suit cases and still expensive and over priced for 4.5 stars. The sink was blocked in bathroom and airconditioning rattled at night. It was also a very dusty room - just settled everywhere even though room serviced each day.

Lastly my transfer to the airport - the front desk offered to book a 'taxi' - in the end a private van turned up (which I was advised would be £45 ponds and cheaper than a 'cab'). Given I had used Uber with my son I thought it would be ok. It was dirty and stunk of cigarette smoke and when we arrived at the airport he tried to charge £50. Just sort of summed up my stay. Sorry I wont be back even though I am an Aussie.

Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances book a twin room that is located on the lower ground floor (rooms 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Guest feedback is invaluable to us as it allows us to improve our standards and services – so I thank you for your very detailed review.
I am disappointed to read that the hotel didn’t meet your expectations but have taken all your comments on board and am currently reviewing them as we speak.

Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at the Rydges for one night while traveling through London on a business trip to Continent. The location of the Rydges is excellent -- right in the heart of Kensington and close to Harrod's and the museums, as well as a number of good restaurants (as well as some quick, cheap eats!). The property is very pleasant inside and the staff were efficient and friendly.

My single room really was a single i.e. with a twin bedside a room that was about the size of a dorm room at an American university. Once I put my suitcase on the floor, there was literally not enough room for me to fall out of bed. Everything though was squeaky clean including the bathroom. The sink in the bathroom was just slightly bigger than my face so face-washing required bending over the sink, which was no easy feat as there was a glass shelf just about 15 inches above the sink.

All that said, the hotel served my purpose perfectly as I wanted to be in Kensington close to the Gloucester Road tube station for an easy ride to Heathrow. I have stayed at other places in Kensington and there definitely are better choices with more American style hotel amenities e.g. electrical outlets for US-style plugs. Little things indeed but as a business traveler I prize convenience and predictability over novelty in accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
I have to agree, we are in the perfect location being in the heart of Kensington!

Thank you for the review.

Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here on our honeymoon, rooms were lovely and clean however breakfast service was poor and unorganised. Also they hold £100 from your account for 'incidentals' which takes up to 10 working days to go back into your account - still waiting!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth8814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Firstly, a big congratulations on getting married! It’s pleasing to see that you found the rooms lovely and clean.
If you’re preauthorization hasn’t clear by now please contact me directly ASAP and I will look into this straight away for you.
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is ideally located on Gloucester Road. The lobby is very nice and the rooms are cute but very small. Bathrooms are nicely renovated. Our first room had a very loud squeaky fan so we immediately asked for a new room. We got one in the basement floor which was dark but very quiet (accept for people slamming doors). The fire alarm went off 3 times during our stay - once early in the morning. The internet was ok but very annoying that it kicked us out about every 15 minutes while in use. We went back a second time (we had taken a side trip to Scotland in between our London stay) and the shower stall door did not work. Management should double check all of the fixtures prior to booking people. My brother also stayed there. One day it rained real hard and he had water come into his room via the vent. They did move him, but did not offer any kind of refund.

Room Tip: Immediately complain if room has issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
It is disappointing to read a few of your comments in regards your recent stay. There is absolutely no excuse for fixtures not working in rooms so please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and frustration this would have caused to both you and your brother.
On a more positive note its great to see that you found our location super!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed as a party of 6 on a visit to the Albert Hall and London. Staff very helpful and polite. Room and bathroom clean and not very big but rooms in central London are not huge. Breakfast good. Close to Tube Station and Museums. The Jam Sandwich restaurant was very good; food and service excellent

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. No view but no noise from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaEd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
This is definitely the type of feedback I love receiving, it is so pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay!
Kind Regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#427 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#373 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#174 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Property: Rydges Kensington London
Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
#257 Business Hotel in London
#326 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing