We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No disappointments, great London property in Mayfair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Ranked #236 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No disappointments, great London property in Mayfair”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just stayed here for 2 nights. We used Marriott points for the room and it was a great trade. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite on the top floor overlooking Hyde Park. Aside from the lucky upgrade, the hotel was in a great location. The staff was friendly, and afternoon tea in the Park Room was great.

We ate dinner at the JW Steakhouse inside of the hotel one night and it was very good. Prices were about the same as a Manhattan steakhouse.

In all, I would stay there again. I would recommend anyone I know to stay there and would gladly use Marriott points again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    712
    277
    119
    63
See reviews for
448
874
125
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Location: View of Hyde Park, centrally located in London, front door is very protected in a drive-through round-about behind a gate that made you feel very protected from streets

Room Comfort: Rooms scaled to the smaller size but the bathroom is the same size as the bedroom which makes it Huge. All furnishings and styling in the bedroom and bathroom are stellar. The bed and pillows are superb for sleeping. Room has safe, flat screen TV, and high end soaps/shampoos. Very quiet.

Lobby, Concierge Desk, Theatre Desk & Registration Staff: The lobby is well appointed, large & with fresh flowers. Check-in/out was fast, extremely friendly and efficient. One of the Registration Staff, after I told them my niece collected foreign coins, gave me her own Hungarian change from her wallet. I offered her sterling in return but she refused. We heavily utilized both the Concierge and Theatre Desks and they fulfilled ever need with charm...very helpful.

Restaurants: The hotel offers 3 venues - steakhouse, large tea room with bar and a quick pick-up coffee shop with a bakery. Breakfast: Steakhouse serves a full breakfast in the morning; room service; or utilize the coffee shop with ample comfortable seating and tables. There is an afternoon tea which we saw a lot of guests taking advantage of. The sandwiches looked great and seemed to be unlimited for refills. We ate dinner in the large tea room several times and the food was delightful, yet expensive, as I guess the case is for all of the restaurants in London.

Library: There is a wonderful open library where a lot of people hang out. There are no books or games, so I think people just drink there. We wanted to play scrabble one night and were disapointed there were no games to be had.

Clientele: This hotel caters to Japanese and Arab guests which we found very interesting for "people watching". There are Japanese and Arab channels on the TV.

Local Contact Info: This is important to take with you. There are several Grosvenor Hotels in London and your London black cab may not know where you are staying!
Park Lane, London W1K7TN, UK
[--]

Room Tip: If you want a view of Hyde Park you need to ask for it. Our room looked at walls, but we were never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhippetsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We spent a week in London with the Grosvenor House as our base and had a fantastic experience. The location in the Mayfair district was prime, the Marble Arch tube stop was a quick walk (a block? maybe less) as was the Bond Street stop. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. We had a BIG surprise upon returning to the hotel on our first evening to find paparazzi, red carpet, lines of limos....and the Pride of Britain Awards taking place in the ball room! Prince Charles as well as a large number of celebrities (Rowan Atkinson was my favorite!) strolled the carpet and that was a bit of unexpected fun. Turns out that Grosvenor House has the largest ballroom in London and there was an event every night while we were there. Thankfully, no noise or crowd issues affected us as we snoozed in our beautiful room. Our 7th floor room overlooked Hyde Park and was VERY spacious and filled with thoughtful details. It was wonderful to fall into a feather bed after a full day of sightseeing. We ordered room service just one evening, I honestly can't remember the prices (aren't they always too high?) but the food was excellent and the service prompt. I loved the cheerful greeting from the doorman as we came and went, and I will forever remember the hotel being filled with the scent of fresh flowers. I loved every minute of our stay at The Grosvenor House.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyduck63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

had a celebration afternoon tea in Park room on 5th Sep 2011
level of service could not be better
selection and quality of food could not be exceeded
refills of sndwiches as requested very good selection of teas
will go again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa clarita, ca.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed 11 nights ending September 13, 2011. On seventh floor overlooking Hyde Park. The executive lounge was great. No problems with crowds either morning or evening. Front desk staff great especially Victoria who checked us in. We are self contained travelers who didn't use concierge. Ate at restaurants all over Mayfair. Many choices. If you are a runner as I am the park is across the street with a couple of underground ped subways under Park Lane. Housekeeping was very good and the crew in executive lounge excellent. Bond Street tube station a 10 minute walk away as is Marble Arch. Fitness center is very large and well appointed. All in all everyone in hotel very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to returen

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pellanconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
249 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

You should expect a lot from the name Marriott and even more from a JW Marriott. But not this property. I should clarify that the problem was not the property, which is a nice hotel in a great location. Right across the street from Hyde Park. The overpriced food was good. House keeping was very good. The problem was with the registration staff who did not seem to care about you at all. When asked a question, no reply, or completely ignored. We stayed 5 days and all shifts wrer the same. Even the door man did not want to open the door for us!!!

Room Tip: All rooms in this property are good as it is an older building. Sound insulation from the busy traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay with us in June. I am delighted that aspects like the hotel location, food quality and Housekeeping service were to your satisfaction. I am, however, very concerned about the attitude of the Front Office team during your stay. You are absolutely right to expect a high level of service from a JW Marriott hotel and I will be personally following up with all associates in these teams to ensure that our welcome and guest service meets and exceeds your expectations.

Thank you for raising these points as it is only through such feedback that we are able to improve in the future. Please do contact me personally when you next stay with us so that I may meet you and ensure you have a welcoming and relaxing visit.

Kind regards

Nicholas Chalmers
Director of Room Operations
-----------------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
172 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here 3 nights in September. This is a lovely, well maintained hotel right next to the park and near excellent shopping. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, large tub with shower, etc. Unlike others who reviewed we were not able to get in early and while the front desk took our cell number to call and give us "priority" on getting a room, it never happened. It is a busy hotel however.

The restaurant and bar were great - good food and service. There is a small market where you can get quick coffee and pastry as well as the regular dining options. The neighborhood is good for walking to shopping and the park but is lacking in normal dining options. It is next to other lovely high end hotels and that is your dining choice without getting in a taxi.

The negative - I could never get their internet to work (and it was not free) and upon checkout they commingled charges apparently from an unrelated room and it took a while to get sorted out and correct.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#321 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Address: Grosvenor House 86-90 Park Lane, London W1K 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#178 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel is a landmark 5-star hotel on Park Lane, Mayfair offering luxurious guest rooms & suites, high quality dining and 24 hour fitness center. Our hotel's ideal location is just steps from Hyde Park and a short trip from Buckingham Palace or the London Eye. The hotel also boasts elegant and expansive meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing