We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Ranked #230 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific getaway”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel staff are warm and accommodating. I arrived far too early to check in so went for a walk then sat in the library to read and catch up on communications. They were supposed to come get me when the room was ready but no one ever did, so three hours went by before I gave up and just went back to the desk.

The room was larger than I expected for staying at the "friends and family" rate, and we could see the Eye from one window - handy for the New Year's Eve fireworks! A well-appointed bathroom and a comfortable bed are all I really need from a hotel and these were both excellent. We were on the 6th floor and found the room to be very quiet.

Since the in-room wifi was prohibitively expensive, we made use of the lobby/library's free wifi and therefore had a chance to people-watch. I was dismayed by the number of unattended children left to romp, shriek, and hang from the furniture while their parents chatted obliviously nearby. My friend had to jump out of the path of a child leaping down the stairs AT her! I know that the staff is trained not ask guests to quiet their children lest the guests become offended, but this was a safety issue as well as a serious annoyance.

I was happy to find a cashpoint downstairs, away from the throng. We ate at the steakhouse twice and had lovely meals with attentive service even though we chose lower-priced dishes.

The lobby personnel were very helpful. The room got a lot of attention during the day - I wish they could combine the afternoon check-up with the fellow who comes to "check for expiration dates" at the minibar, because two interruptions to our afternoon freshening-up time every day was a bit wearying. We were sent "Happy New Year" muffins on NYE - a charming touch.

The location is terrific for shopping and sightseeing. Buses run from a point between this hotel and the Dorchester and can take you anywhere in the city. There are underground pedestrian walkways to get you to the park and the northbound buses, and they felt safe both day and night.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a few days' luxury stay in the heart of a great city.

Room Tip: We followed a tip to stay on a higher floor and were pleased at how quiet it was. There were rooms d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    718
    279
    119
    65
See reviews for
454
883
126
713
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Spent 4 days here through New Years on Holiday. We arrived early AM after long flight and they were able to have a room ready for us well before the elite member check in time. Hotel was very luxurious and perfectly located close to restaurants and many of the tourist attractions. My wife and I walked to most of the sites including Buckingham Palace, National Gallery, Piccadilly Circus, Soho, Harrods and Westminster Abbey. (Would recommend taxi or underground if you're not used regular exercising. Rooms weren't huge, but about what you'd expect in a large city. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Good day and thank you for your very pleasant comments regarding your stay with us over the holidays.

I am pleased to hear that we were able to accomodate your early check-in, especially after a long flight.

I am also delighted to hear that our friendly associates were able to make your stay an enjoyable one.

With kind regards and thank you once again,

Morten Skumsrud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Travelled a few times to this hotel in the last few years.

Pros:
Great location
Very nice service
Nice breakfast

Cons:
The rooms are on the smallish side, although this is a central London, so no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivetti137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Took my wife to London for her 35th birthday and loved Grosvenor. Excellent property and good location. We're walkers so had no problem basing here. We took back streets to Buckingham, Churchills War Museum, Downing Street, Westminter Abbey, and back one day. You can walk 2 blocks behind the hotel and dine/drink at Audley or a host of excellent restaurants. Try upstairs at Audley for a nice pub dinner? The Bond Street underground is maybe 10 minutes and you pass USEmbassy. Lots of shopping that way. 2 stops from Bond to St Johns Wood underground gets you to Abbey Road. Iconic - take pictures!
We had a nice Junior suite and Concierge level gets you nice, breakfast, snacks, wine, and champagne. Given the cost of everything in London, this takes some of the pain away! We loved this spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FishSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Good day and thank you for your review of our hotel.

I am so pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your time with us and that your wife enjoyed her Birthday here in London!

I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Executive Lounge and all of it's offerings!

With kindest regards and thank you once again for your comments.

Morten Skumsrud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed New years eve and had a fantastic stay. I will keep it short, this hotel is everything you could want in central London without being too formal. Rooms were comfortable, staff friendly and food was good. Thank you, we will recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

2 Adults 2 Children
Stayed 28th Dec 2013 in a Superior Suite
Having stayed in many outstanding hotels The Grosvenor House Hotel is right up there with the best of them
Everything from the friendly staff to the actual hotel oozes class
The location of the hotel on Park Lane meant everything was to hand
We visited Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park, Wicked at the Apollo Victoria Theatre and the Harry Potter Studios
Firstly the Winter Wonderland was a spectacle to behold with all kinds of rides and stalls but expensive wasn't in it
Beware if travelling to London just for the Winter Wonderland it is soooo expensive and the queues for the rides are huge then when the kids eventually get on a ride it lasts seconds
An example of this is the carpet ride, £3 per slide which we thought was outrageous
£5 for a hot dog so be warned you will need plenty money
The ticket rides are only valid for the day purchased so make sure you use them all the day you intend to visit
Harry Potter Studios were brilliant and a must if visiting London
Wicked was outstanding and deserves a visit
The whole show lasted around 3hrs with a break in the middle but everyone was on the edge of their seat the whole time we were in there.
The Grosvenor House Hotel is wonderful, I am not sure exactly what we expected but we have no real complaints about the hotel or its staff other than we asked where we had breakfast and we were informed it was in JW Steakhouse
The morning after we went downstairs, had a wonderful breakfast and were then handed a bill for £100
The lady said we were supposed to eat breakfast in the executive lounge upstairs, we obviously complained and the manager waived the bill but said we would have to eat breakfast upstairs unless the lounge was full then we were allowed to come downstairs!
Not happy!
The executive lounge is so small and the selection of breakfast was a fraction of that downstairs.
We paid £2k for three nights BB in one of London's top hotels and did not expect any problems especially being told where we could and couldn't eat breakfast.
This breakfast issue needs addressed and its only right that future visitors to the hotel are made aware of this stupid rule.
We also found that by the end of our stay all our clothes that had been kept in the chest of drawers smelt of mould, I think they need a good clean but to be honest we were leaving by the time we noticed this so it never became a problem but if we had stayed longer we would have had a real problem.
We had afternoon tea at the hotel and it was what we expected really, no better no worse than most places only plusher surroundings
We enjoyed the afternoon tea but I don't think we would book this again
On our last evening we had a table booked at J W Steakhouse and we weren't disappointed, the food especially the steak (£71) was outstanding and in my eyes worth every single penny
Our waiter was superb, making sure we were all happy at every turn
Nothing was a problem to him and he helped make our evening so memorable
As a whole our Grosvenor House experience was superb and other than a couple of "niggles" we had a great time and will be returning at some point in the future

Room Tip: We paid £2000 for a superior suite with executive lounge access and ended up with no view at all and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrians66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Good day and thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.

Your views and comments are truly appreciated and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our associates were able to make your stay a most pleasant one.

With regards to our Executive Lounge, I must apologize for the confusion with regards to where you had been directed to go for breakfast on the first day of your holiday. During peak times, such as the festive season, we are unable to accomodate all elite members comfortably in the Executive Lounge during peak times such as breakfast. We therefore monitor the movements of the Lounge and do offer complimentary breakfast in the JW Steak House should the Lounge be at maximum capacity.

Our aim is to ultimately ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable experience in the Executive Lounge. We are currently reviewing the Executive Lounge procedures and will be working even closer with the team moving forward.

Thank you again and I wish you a very pleasant New Year.

Kind regards,

Morten Skumsrud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent 3 nights here in August and were very happy with this property. I booked with points, which was a great value considering the high cost during August. Our platinum membership allowed us to be upgraded to a room with one and a half baths and extra space to relax. We weren't in the room much, but it was very nice to not feel cramped. We also received breakfast each morning and hor d'oeuvres in the evening in the concierge lounge. The food was good, but the selection was limited. It is the smallest lounge I've seen and there were never enough seats for everyone. Some mornings, we couldn't even get in because it was so busy. They offered a voucher to have breakfast in the main dining room, but we had activities planned and couldn't give up the extra time.

The hotel is located close to everything and easily accessible to public transportation for anything further away. We took the Heathrow Express train to Paddington station and then walked the remaining way to become more familiar with the area. During our stay, we used the tube and walked to most of the sites. We also rented bikes from the bike share rack one afternoon to ride all the way around Hyde Park.

While it was a very nice hotel, we will try the new Edition or the County Hall Marriott on our next visit. These are both a little closer to the main areas and will have more options for restaurants nearby, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Good day and thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in August 2013.

Regarding the Executve Lounge, during peak service times, such as breakfast and evening canapes, it does tend to be rather popular with our elite members. I am pleased to inform you that we have since introduced more structured guidelines with regards to access and availability during our busier times in the Lounge.

I thank you for this valued feedback and I will also be sure to share with the relevant departmetal managers.

Kind regards and best wishes for the New Year,

Morten Skumsrud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#39 of 1,067 in London
1,531 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Address: Grosvenor House 86-90 Park Lane, London W1K 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#173 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel is a landmark 5-star hotel on Park Lane, Mayfair offering luxurious guest rooms & suites, high quality dining and 24 hour fitness center. Our hotel's ideal location is just steps from Hyde Park and a short trip from Buckingham Palace or the London Eye. The hotel also boasts elegant and expansive meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing