We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After all these years and visits I still enjoy coming here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Ranked #231 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
1 review
“After all these years and visits I still enjoy coming here”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I travel for both work and pleasure and London is one of those cities that I frequently find myself in. I have stayed at this hotel several dozen times over the years. I look forward to the end of the taxi ride from Heathrow, passing Hyde Park, wrapping back around Park Street and into the gated drive up to the front doors whose entry have graced many distinguished guests. i like the wide entry, the library sitting area where you can still enjoy a good book by the fire late at night, and the champagne bar. The last time I was there in March, when I entered the room, I found a birthday cake waiting for me with a note from the manager. Small touches like these male you realize how entirely personal this operation feels. Yes, I've seen the changes through the years, I miss the old restaurant. I miss the meeting room inside the executive lounge that was so convenient for a quick meeting. But the bones, the friendliness of the staff, and the attention to detail are still there. For personal travel, I also stay here. The environment is just so relaxing. I love walking and running and the area is very conducive to that. Short walks to Regents street, Bond street, Selfridges or a nice run through Hyde park. I believe that a stay here for vacation is part of the quintessential experience to London. I wish to thank the staff for creating the space where both work and pleasure can be so easily combined.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 988PlacesToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,341
    713
    277
    119
    63
See reviews for
448
878
125
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Since my last visit to the Grosvenor House, a couple of years ago, much has changed. The staff has, if possible, become even more obsequious, and even more Eastern European and, it must be said, poorly equipped for their day jobs. The room I had was a joke--literally 9 feet by 18 feet--I paced it off to be certain--and the wireless internet did not work. I had to shimmy by the end of my queen sized bed. There was no place to sit, in reality, other than at the desk. The bedding was still quite fine. The room service was much longer than I remember last time, even though the menu has improved a bit. The most amazing thing was that when I ordered breakfast--coffee and orange juice--they forgot the orange juice??? Hello? The plumbing and air conditioning all worked (not to be taken for granted in England). Check out took forever--one person checking out a line, literally, of 10 people. The concierge was hopeless--a simple question--"where is the nearest Amex office?"--was met with, "oh, you don't want to go there, let me tell you where you ought to go." When the quarterback says go around left end, go around left end. It was hard to believe.

I am not saying it is off my list, but it is no where near the top anymore. The place has changed, and mediocritized, if that is a word. At a cost of 199 pounds per night, one ought to get more than this. Buyer beware.

Room Tip: Don't accept a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcasepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten S, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to complete a review of your recent return stay with us at Grosvenor House, A JW marriott Hotel.

I am disappointed to read that you found your stay no to expectations. It is regrettable to learn that you found the service levels not up to standard and for that I truly apologize. Clearly these are not the service levels we pride ourselves on.

Should you wish to share more observations with regards to your experience, please feel free to reach out to me via inbox message, I would be most appreciative of hearing your further feedback.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments.

Kindest regards,

Morten Skumsrud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Really good service.
Very clean and comfortable hotel.
Easy to explore London.
Internet service was satisfactory.
Room was nice - no complaints.
Perfect for business or personal.
Will definitely return in near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great Location opposite Hyde Park.Rooms are not particularly big but huge bed and very comfortable with the usual Marriott bed linen which I love. On the 6th floor, quiet. Slightly irritating that every area we went we were told we couldn't have a drink as we hadn't booked a table so we left to find somewhere else for our pre-theatre lunch and drink. Had a lovely dinner in the Steak Bar and then couldn't get a table in the lounge or library for an after dinner drink..The Red Bar is great but we didn't want to go back in there. All the tables were 'busy' !! Empty but busy! Breakfast was excellent. Nothing cheap about this hotel but I would go back and make sure I booked tables in every room! Most of the staff are friendly and welcoming particularly in reception, the Steakhouse and in the Red Bar.

Room Tip: Room 622 - corner room with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
238 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed just one night this week, with friends.

We had a wonderful time, location perfect. All members of staff were very professional, friendly, courteous and helpful. One of the chambermaids showed us a much quicker route to the lifts. Even when one of the bars was closing we were shown to another seating area within the hotel to continue and finish our drinks.

Our room was huge by British sizes, the bed was really comfortable, the room had every amenity. The quality of the food served was really good.

I can highly recommend this hotel, it is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We hold our annual event at the Grosvenor each May and over the years it has become like returning to see an old friend.

It's difficult to fault this magnificent hotel and being a regular, it's always nice to know what to expect. Service is always very good as is the food, cleanliness and comfort. It is a tad pricey and service charges and drinks can be higher that other hotels but I guess you get what you pay for.

It's a great location, especially for oveseas visitors wanting to visit central London and the parks and it's a fabulous place to hold an event. There appears to be a regular refurbishment programme so the carpets and furnishings always look new.

There's a busy bar and great cream teas in the lounge, depending on your preference.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFitzEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was staying here during the IP week in February this year. Simply said, a great hotel with spirit. Very good location for both business and holiday, enables one to explore the posh environment of Mayfair whether for good restaurants or shopping not far off.

Checkin was quick and effective. Room was spacious by London standards and not so overstuffed like in other London hotels. I quickly rushed for my meetings outside and came back before dinner for another round of meetings at the hotel. The stakehouse being one of the signatures of JW anyway, was up to its standards and expectations. We had good time with colleagues and were well taken care of. A late drink at the lobby bar was the perfect ending of the day. Breakfast was very good with good selection and nothing much to complain about. Meetings started shortly after 10 and next day checked out. A bit of complain was the crowded lobby with various people hanging out there, don't know who is a guest and who isn't but I also assume given that it's such a large property, one can expect this traffic.

Good London-stay choice.

Room Tip: Try to get park view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentBizTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#325 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Address: Grosvenor House 86-90 Park Lane, London W1K 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel is a landmark 5-star hotel on Park Lane, Mayfair offering luxurious guest rooms & suites, high quality dining and 24 hour fitness center. Our hotel's ideal location is just steps from Hyde Park and a short trip from Buckingham Palace or the London Eye. The hotel also boasts elegant and expansive meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing