We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Ranked #218 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here 5 nights during the Wimbledon tennis tournament. The staff were all super nice and there's always taxi's waiting. There's an ATM inside the hotel which is super convenient. I had the buffet breakfast at the JW Steakhouse every morning and the staff were nice and the food tasted great. Room was clean and quite large especially for a big city. The view from my room wasn't anything special just the back road. The only negative I had was their wifi was slow. The wifi would be fast during early morning or the middle of the night, but during peak times it was really slow. Other than that I enjoyed everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB-Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    706
    271
    117
    59
See reviews for
445
862
123
694
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've just returned from a one day event held at this hotel through the company I work for. Although I work for a travel company and normally find when I stay away hotels fall over themselves to go above and beyond this hotel really is amazing.
The service I received when I arrived was great. I look slightly puzzled when I walked in and can only assume it was the General Manager who asked me if I was OK and I explained I was attending a conference and he then had someone take my bags and show me to the event suite - first class!
The event space was wonderful, the staff where great and the choice of food and beverages available were of excellent quality.
Whilst I didn't stay in the hotel, what I experienced has prompted me to stay here the next time I am in London to encounter the same great service again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just spent 15 nights at Grosvenor House in London and were generally impressed. We were disappointed to learn just before we arrived, however, that the Executive Lounge was still under construction as we had deliberately selected a hotel with a lounge since we are Marriott Rewards Platinum lifetime members and like the opportunity to relax and enjoy hors d'oervres. . The Guest Relations staff, in particular Steve Nash and Joseph Simmons, did what they could to accommodate us .with drink vouchers in the Park Room and we appreciated that. Speaking of the Park Room, it was being used for continental breakfast for Marriott Gold and Platinum members and that worked just great. Also, in the evenings they have a very nice menu and we really enjoyed getting to know Adam and Altay. They were extraordinarily attentive and provided terrific service.

We also want to specifically compliment the plumber, Danny, with the maintenance staff. Although our room was spacious, we did have a plumbing problem that turned out to be quite complex. Danny made a special point to explain the problem, suggested that since it might take awhile and create something of an odor that perhaps we would like to vacate the room for awhile. So, we did. When we returned, Danny was just finishing the repair. He did a great job and is to be complimented for his friendly and efficient demeanor.

Our only real complaint has to do with the inconsistent housekeeping and turn down service. Just as an example, some days we had extra face cloths, other days not. One day there was no replacement toilet paper. A few days we received shortbread biscuits, other days none. One day we had to call at 5 pm saying that our room had never been cleaned. Some evenings the bathrobes were set out, other nights they weren't. Another night we received no turndown service at all. My point in bringing this up is that there is an obvious need for some training in what services are to be provided. One suggestion is that the Operations Manager develop a "check list" that be provided to the housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: ASk for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a couple day visit to London where we stayed at the JW Marriott. The people and service at the Marriott was fabulous. The staff went way beyond normal to help family members with a couple issues; the concierge staff was amazingly helpful and patient with our many inquiries. The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance of excellent restaurants and fine stores. Great place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 6 nights at the Grosvenor. Great location, wonderful staff, but the property is maybe not quite up to the standards of a JW Marriott. We had a lovely large suite and were very happy with the room. Breakfasts were very good. The executive lounge was under construction while we were there, and the Red Bar is a little dated if looking for a place for a drink. Overall a nice hotel, if a little pricey, but it is London. The staff were to be commended... They always went above and beyond to give great service. The concierge got us great seats for the top show in town...can't beat that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The staff was great, excellent service, great location - wish it had a pool. Some rooms don't have a view but overlook an inner courtyard that is not so lovely. Food was good and Starbucks located in the lobby is open late. Very comfy, a bit pricey. Close to west end, Hyde Park and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for exterior room or the view is only of the mechanical area and roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Like many before me, I read the reviews before going to the Grosvenor. Because it's a Marriott there are certain expectations and, sadly, this hotel doesn't live up to all of them. We were there a week spending good money. This got us a room that faced an inside courtyard, no view, with a bed that was completely worn down. Our backs killed us the entire stay. The hotel is worn and is in need of an update. In addition, I wanted to have breakfast in the front room overlooking Hyde Park and was told it was only for use by Executive Club members-which I wasn't. So I got a coffee in a little shop and the next morning(s) had my breakfast out of the Hotel. I couldn't have felt more like a second class citizen. Having said all this, the room was big with closet space for clothing. The staff is very friendly and attentive. It is a great location with the Marble Arch station just blocks away. But this hotel should be used when you will not be in your room much. It's a great place to base from and seemed to be very family friendly. Rooms are not ready until 3:00pm and there are lots of travelers camping out in the lobby all day waiting for rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten S, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review with regards to your most recent stay with us, here at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel.

Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and rest assured all of your comments have been duly noted and will be reviewed internally with the relevant heads of department.

I am sure you will be pleased to hear that we are proudly celebrating our 85th Anniversary this year at Grosvenor House. We are currently in the process of completing a full renovation of our Executive Lounge and we also intend to set our sights on perfecting other areas of the hotel, including our guest rooms and suites, in due course.
As you had been informed, The Park Room has currently been set aside as the temporary back drop for the service of our Executive Lounge breakfast. This again, is a temporary location until completion of the new Executive Lounge reaches fruition. I am most sorry to hear that you felt slightly undervalued when being advised that the Park Room was only available for our Elite Members to enjoy breakfast. This was truly not our intention and I do hope you were able to enjoy our other delightful breakfast offerings in the JW Steakhouse.

As with many city based hotels, not all of our guest rooms have an outward facing view, with a selection facing an internal courtyard, which seems to be the case during your most recent visit. Our check-in time is indeed 3pm daily and at times the lobby area is alive with many guests checking in and out throughout the day.

I am most pleased to hear that our talented team of associates was able to assist you with all questions you may have had. We do pride ourselves on ensuring that we provide the highest level of service, while being attentive to the needs and requirements of all of our guests.

Should you elect to stay with us again, we do hope you allow us the opportunity to share our true elegant service, whilst allowing you to enjoy all that London has to offer!

With kindest regards,

Morten Skumsrud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#326 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Address: Grosvenor House 86-90 Park Lane, London W1K 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#166 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel is a landmark 5-star hotel on Park Lane, Mayfair offering luxurious guest rooms & suites, high quality dining and 24 hour fitness center. Our hotel's ideal location is just steps from Hyde Park and a short trip from Buckingham Palace or the London Eye. The hotel also boasts elegant and expansive meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing