We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Mary Poppins, practically perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Ranked #235 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
444 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Like Mary Poppins, practically perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We just finished a 9 night stay at this lovely property and were very, very impressed. I had researched hotels in London on TA and other websites and this property rose to the top. It totally lived up to the high praise it received from guests.

We arrived on a very early morning flight and after taking the Heathrow Express into Paddington Station, (which we highly recommend) it is a very brief taxi ride to the hotel. The lobby had several Marriott staff roaming around with iPads ready to assist if the reception desk was busy. We were greeted immediately by the doorman, then the reception desk member and another person who wanted to ensure our every need was met. Though our room wasn't ready, we were shown to the concierge lounge to enjoy a full breakfast and relax. Inside the lounge, placed conveniently and discreetly off the lobby, a lounge concierge is seated at the entrance, ready to welcome each guest and see if they can assist in any way. The full breakfast had more than we could have imagined, ranging from scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, assorted pastries, fresh cheese and ham, lox, fruit, yogurt, etc. Two expresso machines are available all day which also make cappuccinos, lattes and regular coffee. Breakfast also had fresh squeezed OJ and various juices. bottled water, and soda. The lounge is very well appointed but the most impressive part of this lounge is the staff. There are probably 10-15 well dressed professional team members working there full time, ensuring food is beautifully presently and constantly refreshed, tables are cleared and cleaned and service is at it's finest- professional and exceptionally friendly. The lounge also has afternoon team with sweet treats, cocktail hour (wine, beer, champagne) in the evening accompanied by different dishes. Usually the evening offerings are theme based and change daily ( Asian, Italian, English, etc) and include 3 hot dishes, several salads, fresh cheese and bread, etc. We found that we ate breakfast and dinner in the lounge every day and didn't even go out for dinner since food was so varied and plentiful. Since we are Marriott Premier Platinum members, access to this lounge was complimentary for our entire stay. If you don't have access to the lounge as a frequent Marriott guest, but plan to stay here, I'd suggest upgrading to a room with access as the extra cost is worth it. Wi-Fi was free throughout the hotel in the lobby and in the guest rooms. Our room wasn't ready until later in the day when we arrived so we chose to walk across the street to Hyde Park and visited the Princess Diana Memorial. Hyde Park is vast with horse trails, bikes for rent, a lake with paddle boat rentals, and walking trails. When we returned and got into our room, we were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a lovely small suite with a separate living room. The bed was comfortable except it felt like 2 twin mattresses had been put together and we could feel the bump in the middle. While not a showstopper, it wasn't taken care of when we asked housekeeping to address it on several occasions. The bathroom was spacious and the tub/shower had a rain head shower. The tub drained very slowly so again, we asked that maintenance come to fix it. We asked about 4 times but it wasn't addressed either. The only reason we didn't rate this as a full 5 stars were these two items and the view into the courtyard of the hotel which was an ugly mix of heating and electrical equipment. Perhaps the hotel can address this by covering them with something more pleasing to the eye. Many rooms face this courtyard so I'm sure it would be worth the investment if a nicer look could be achieved. We found our room to be exceptionally quiet and sleeping was excellent (( even with the bump). The entire team at this hotel was focused on customer service excellence. Everyone we encountered- reception staff, the concierge, the lounge team, the doormen, the security and housekeeping was top notch. The hotel concierge was able to arrange our tickets for the London Eye and tour of Buckingham Palace. I'm sure Luca ( the concierge) could have and would have happily done more if we had asked.

The hotel is perfectly located on Park Lane, a short walk to Oxford Street for shopping and Marble Arch tube station. Walking the other direction takes you down the street towards Kensington area where Harrods is located and Buckingham Palace. The location is also a block or so from the the hop on-hop off Big Bus which is a good way to get around the large city on a good weather day. As the title of my review says, this place is practically perfect in every way! Our most sincere thanks to the hotel team for a lovely and relaxing stay

We definitely will stay here again on the next trip to London.

Room Tip: Would recommend getting a room on the executive floor with access to the concierge lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loves2TravelALOT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    711
    277
    119
    63
See reviews for
448
870
125
701
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Having stayed at close to 50 Marriott properties across Europe and the United States, never have I been more impressed with the friendliness and competency of a Staff, or the atmosphere of a property. I am a Platinum Rewards member (nearing 800 total membership nights), while not one to demand recognition for such, I felt more appreciated for my loyalty at this hotel than any other.

After deciding to celebrate my 30th birthday in London, I spent countless hours researching which hotel I should stay. The consensus from the Marriott Insider forums seemed to rate the County Hall and the Grosvenor House equally. Based on availability of Rewards, I selected the County Hall and could not have regretted the decision any more. So disappointing and dismal was the experience, I checked out early (at a considerable loss of points) and spent my last few days at the Grosvenor House.

The Grosvenor House will be my #1 choice in London and already I have booked another trip in September. Thank you for ending my trip on such a memorable note!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2014

From the moment we walked in to the building and were courteously greeted by the doorman, until the final goodbye, our stay at this property was simply incredible. As soon as we set foot inside the door there was a doorman to assist us with our luggage, and then he kindly pointed us in the direction of the main lobby for check in. We were promptly greeted by a very kind woman name Clemence who spoke with us for a moment while we waited for the next available agent. She was very personable and made us feel extremely welcome. Thanks very much to Clemence for being the first person we encountered, and for being one of the last people we said farewell to. It was a very nice first and last impression of the Grosvenor House.

Our next encounter with Andreea at the front desk was fantastic as well. She was very welcoming and accommodating. We arrived a little early, and they had been sold out the night before, so the room wasn't ready yet. Andreea quickly remedied that situation by offering us complementary soft drink vouchers for the lounge right next to the lobby, as well as offering us complimentary WiFi access in the room. We had a nice cup of tea to hold us over for the short time that we waited for the room. When we went back to get the keys to our room, they had already been made and the room was ready within 45 minutes of our arrival.

We headed to our room on the 6th floor and opened the door to a very nice sized room with plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was very large with a lot of counter space. We called to have the bags delivered and in less than two minutes a very nice bellman arrived at our room with bags in hand. He gave excellent service and was very helpful. We enjoyed the city of London for a few hours, and when we returned there was a very nice cheese plate on the table. This was totally unexpected and a very delightful surprise, since I wasn't expecting anything and I just happen to love cheese. Yet another nice touch that exceeded my expectations. We had a wonderful stay the first evening to say the least.

The next morning we woke up well rested and ready to explore the city. We left in the morning time to do some site seeing, and then had to return to get ready for afternoon tea. When we entered the room at about 1PM the room had already been serviced nicely, and all the bathroom amenities had been refreshed. We got ready and then left the room. When we came back a few hours later, we were surprised to find our room had been refreshed again! Another big thanks to Mohammed at the concierge desk. He recommended a nice afternoon tea in the area, and made the arrangements for us in a swift and professional manner.

Truly 5 star world class service. This really was one of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Thank you so very much to everyone at this property for making my stay memorable, and hopefully I will get to return to this beautiful property the next time I'm in London.

Room Tip: Just be hospitable to the hotel staff and they should be equally hospitable back. That's really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel over dozen times and though this is not the fanciest of the hotels in London, I keep going back there because they are so reliable and consistent. Park lane location is superb.... Rooms are well appointed and largish with London standards. Newly installed members lounge on the ground floor is very comfortable place to relax and have a bite. Staff is friendly and efficient. JW Steakhouse is one of the best in the city ....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PG13LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
208 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Wow ! the Grosvenor house is situated in a fantastic location just off of Oxford St, overlooking Hyde Park, and is built glamorously. The elegance of victorian-ish architecture, combined with service at the levels that one comes to expect from the JW Marriott suite of hotels, the Grosvenor house gave us a remarkable stay in London.
Being Marriott gold members we were offered an upgrade to a room that was larger than most apartments with a stunning view of the park. The hotel staff were extremely courteous and I don't think we've stayed in too many hotels that were more luxurious than this.
Definitely highly recommended if you're visiting London.

Room Tip: Look for a room overlooking Hyde Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aftab T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My family and I recently traveled to London (from Los Angeles) and spent several days at the Grovesnor House (JW Marriott), located in the exciting Mayfair neighborhood of London. The property is next to Hyde Park and is centrally located for sightseeing, shopping and dining. The hotel, its staff and our overall experience was superb. We checked in early and discovered a very elegant room waiting for us! The room was exquisitely maintained and big enough to accommodate a rollaway bed! It was also extremely quiet. The hotel also provides some very nice dining options. For example, the Park Room's afternoon tea and regular dinner menu are excellent! And if you're on the go, the Park Lane Market provides some tasty treats too! Our every need was met by staff who are courteous, professional and well-informed. I would highly recommend this hotel. We have previously stayed at other high-end hotels in London, but Grosvenor House is the best!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

How can you beat the location across from Hyde Park? Well start with the staff at this special hotel. Each and everyone of the employees is a walking customer service model. They are unequalled. The rooms are comfortable and the amenities in the hotel are all top shelf. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonSlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#322 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Address: Grosvenor House 86-90 Park Lane, London W1K 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel is a landmark 5-star hotel on Park Lane, Mayfair offering luxurious guest rooms & suites, high quality dining and 24 hour fitness center. Our hotel's ideal location is just steps from Hyde Park and a short trip from Buckingham Palace or the London Eye. The hotel also boasts elegant and expansive meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing