We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price!”
Review of London Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Lodge Hotel
Ranked #312 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good for the price!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I feel somewhat of a traitor for failing to give this Hotel a top rating. Above all the staff is a major asset here. Very helpful from the first electronic enquiry and the many that followed....patient and accomodating. Thankyou Lea.We chose LL based on a recommendation from a friend who had been twice previously ..the last visit being three years ago.I believe things may have looked better then.However we booked with eyes wide open knowing the room rate would not afford luxurious accomodations.The location was very good...close to restaurants and the tube although the street is very quiet for sleeping purposes. Breakfasts were good and we did use a TA coupon that gave us a FULL breakfast everyday.The BR was large...a bit of a step to get into the tub for a shower but what a nice hot strong shower it was.We had a few issues with toilet flushing but finally mastered that 'trick'. The room itself was an 'executive' room and therefore somewhat bigger ..cannot imagine anything smaller by the time we piled in all our cases.The lighting wasn't especially good. The room and it's furnishings were very tired,bordering shabby.The carpet in need of cleaning if not replacing.BUT...my biggest problem with the room was the space outside the wondows...a ledge that contained cigarette butts,oddbits of garbage and ....traps? This was a major put off everytime I opened or closed the windows.That space needs cleaning too folks.it's very much in your face.So if returning to London...we would try and find better...but most likely more expensive accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellasusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Bellasusanna,
Thank you for your review.
I have to say that I am disappointed too. We have cleaned the balcony and the carpet plus the toilet flush is just a typical old English flush. We have a rolling refurbishment and the room (well the floor you were on) is next.
Considering the price you paid, as you mentioned, I would have thought we deserved at least a 4 but we understand how you feel.
It was lovely to meet you both and maybe we'll meet again soon!
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    310
    78
    15
    7
See reviews for
151
210
127
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaggeryd, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A nice little hotel with very serviceminded staff. Nice and clean rooms with bathtubs.
Convenient location from Heathrow to hotel with underground - without any steps! Of course the rest of London is just as easy to reach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseMarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear RoseMarie L,
Thank you so much for your review. It's very kind of you.
See you again!

Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

It was just as nice as we remembered! Their 3-person room is very spacious and though the street in front of the hotel (Lexham Gardens) is very quiet, your sleep quality is always better if the room is on the other side. The bathroom is quite spacious too and both the room as the bathroom were very clean. The breakfast was even better (more versatile) than during our last visit (2,5 years ago). Tea/coffee, toast, butter/jam, muesli, flakes, youghurt, juice, fruit...and if you order for example omelett you´ll manage more than well ´til lunch. Of course there is some noice from the neighbour because the house is very old, but there were not any "party people" now as there wasn´t during our last visit (August 2011).

But their best is their staff. That kindness can´t be bought. It´s in their attitude: they WANT to serve you well and make you feel "home"!

We visited in London also last October and stayed as usual in Kensington, but didn´t get room for three persons in London Lodge Hotel (they have only one room for 3) and so we had to stay in another hotel. But let´s not mension that hotel´s name in here...in their 3-person´s room there was even no space enough to pass another. So if someone says that the three person room in London Lodge Hotel is small, he hasn´t seen "the typical room size in Kensington"!

I can assure you that also next time we´ll stay in London Lodge Hotel. It´s almost perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PekkaTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear PekkaTurku,
Thank you so much for kind review.
It was a pleasure to accommodate you again and I hope this will continue.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I must confess that I was expencing an average service, very pricy, downgraded 3 star acomodation and I found a very helpful and friendly staff, a very well located and a fearly decent room...plenty to improve but to be honest....a nice surprise.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanFPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear JuanFPerez,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I'm sorry that we weren't what you expected.
i hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you int he future,
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Spent a two night break here at the end of March with friends. It was an ideal location, only a 10 minute walk from Earl's Court underground. The staff were very friendly and did everything they could to make us feel at home. We had two twin rooms on the top floor. Beds were comfortable and rooms equipped with all the usual facillities - there was even a jacuzzi bath, but we were a bit too busy to try it! Our deal included continental breakfast. There was plenty to choose from and it was served in a very pleasant breakfast room at the basement level. I would certainly stay here again when visiting London. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Hi Anne F,
Thank you SO uch for taking the time to write a wonderful review.
Look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We have just spent 18 nights at the London Lodge Hotel - so by the time we left it felt like 'home from home'. We were exhibiting at the Ideal Home Exhibition in Earls Court so the Hotel was perfectly situated. Having stayed at the hotel before on a few ocasions I knew what to expect & was looking forward to my stay. Once again the service from the management & staff was fantastic ! I would definitely recommend the London Lodge...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 994coling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear 994coling,
Thnak you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to accommodate you.
See you soon!
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I had booked another hotel but rudely got kicked out so came here at about 9 at night and fortunately there was a room left. The customer service was excellent and the room was nice and clean to say that they weren't expecting any guests. I was also offered tea and coffee facilities and she brought them to my room for me. I did not have any problems and there was even a room for me to put my bags in when I went to a convention for the day of check out and this was free! It is close to Earl's Court Tube and there is Tesco a short walk away and Nandos and Mcdonalds etc. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Charlotte G,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I'm sorry you had such a bad first impression of London hotels but I am VERY glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Hope to see you again and to welcome your friedns in the future.

Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#433 of 1,067 in London
764 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#309 of 1,067 in London
511 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#502 of 1,067 in London
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#272 of 1,067 in London
616 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#177 of 1,067 in London
939 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#280 of 1,067 in London
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Lodge Hotel

Property: London Lodge Hotel
Address: 134 / 136 Lexham Gardens, London W8 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#266 Family Hotel in London
#301 Business Hotel in London
#340 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — London Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Lodge Hotel is situated in the quiet and historic Kensington area of London; it is approximately 4 minutes walk from Earl’s Court underground station and this prestigious Town House hotel has a style and charm all of its own. London Lodge is sumptuous in its furnishings, attentive in its service and convenient in its location. Bedrooms have air-conditioning and the high level of facilities that is nowadays expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing