We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at the London Lodge Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
London Lodge Hotel
Ranked #283 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kauneonga Lake, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the London Lodge Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My daughter, grandson and I recently stayed at the London Lodge Hotel, from initially booking to checkout our experience was excellent. Lea was so helpful during booking and the receptionist was great when we checked in early. She arranged to have our luggage stored and had us freshen up in the facilities there after our plane journey. Our room was clean and spacious (we had a extra bed in the room for my grandson so we were tight but without that the room was very spacious). The bathroom was recently redone and very nice, great shower and water pressure. The breakfast staff was very pleasant and efficient. My 8 year old grandson was ill our last day and they arranged a late checkout for us so he could sleep late which is exactly what he needed. I can't express how helpful the staff there is, from dining recommendations, to providing information on train schedules and sights to see. The location is quiet and I felt very safe. The London Lodge strives to provide excellent service and far surpassed our expectations! We highly recommend them and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCTBethelNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear MCTBethelNY,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I hope your grandson is well recovered.
Hope to see you again soon!
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    306
    73
    14
    5
See reviews for
145
206
123
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is my first tripadvisor review and I feel a bit lost here. London Lodge Hotel is a lovely hotel. I stayed for 3 nights here. It's not close to the city centre. The hotel is in a very quiet area but within easy walking distance of Kensington and Earls Court. The room was small. Bathroom was good with an excellent shower. With tea/coffee making facilities provided and everything we needed was there. Staff were very attentive and polite. We had the continental breakfast which was very nice. we´ll be back the next time we visit London!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear SimonHol,
Thank you so much for making us your first review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The London Lodge is affordable and quaint. Had we wanted a hotel for enjoying a hotel, would not have chosen this one. this is the perfect location for a nights rest and a shower in a safe location. Its located in the heart of Kengsington which means nice area, right near Cromwell St. the gals up in the front are Extremely helpful to tourists. Without Damaris, we would have been LOST!!! There is a great English pub just up the street (Earl's court pub) - eat there. We woke up too late every morning to catch the breakfast, but I took a look, enough to get you through the morning. Our room happened to be very spacious. Not sure what the others looked like, the bathroom looked like it was recently remodeled. Awesome shower.

Room Tip: room 6 was on the lower floor, away from everyone, but right below the elevator. Careful if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Rahena G,
Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us.
We hope to welcome you in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently spent 4 nights in the London Lodge Hotel. It's in a superb position with very easy walking access from Earls Court Metro (even with large suitcases). There are plenty of restaurants nearby and a self serve laundromat and laundry. Breakfast which was included in out tariff was a full English breakfast and cooked according to our order. It was very nice. Staff were very pleasant and obliging. Our bedroom which we shared with our 15 year old granddaughter was a quite adequate size and nicely presented. The one downside was the bathroom. One afternoon around 5pm I needed to shower before going out and the water was lukewarm. It seems this can be rectified by the staff pressing a button to heat it up but it's difficult if you're already under the shower when you realise! Just worth mentioning to make you aware if you're showering at an unusual time. There was also a small water leak into our room from upstairs. I think though, if these are both overcome, it's a very nice hotel in which to spend a few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Sue L,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
I think you may have misunderstood, the boilers are on all the time but we turned them off one day to repair a tap in another room, the boiler didn't restart on it's own which was why the receptionist just needed to press a button. The hotel should always have hot water unless we are doing some general maintenance.
I'm sorry that you felt that we only deserved 3 stars even though you all enjoyed your stay. Maybe we can improve next time.
We look forward to welcoming you all in the future.

Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights and i thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff on reception were quick and professional. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable bed. I asked for an extra pillow which was given to me within 5 mins of asking. The breakfast was excellent and i am very fussy with my eggs. I asled for a dippy poached egg and it was cooked to perfection. I will be recommending all friends.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhairi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mhairi S,
Thank you for staying with us again, and for taking the time to write a review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is quiet - located in a predominantly residential area of Kensington, it is surrounded by up-market private houses and the nearest shops and businesses are a couple of streets away, so if you want to avoid the noisy nightlife and disturbed sleep then this could be for you.

The room had been redecorated fairly recently in typical London hotel style - and was well equipped - air conditioning, colour TV, hairdryer, toiletries in the en suite shower room, trouser press and reasonable wardrobe space, plus a minibar.. Free WIFI was offered when booking in, and although there was no tea and coffee in the room, the receptionist offered it before I asked and brought a tray with kettle and plenty of supplies to the room within 5 minutes of getting in.

The room was a bit small by some standards, but perfectly adequate for a single traveller and everything I needed was there. It smelt slightly musty but I soon realised this was because the windows were painted shut and sustained use of the air con unit in the warm weather was probably the cause. Tip to the owners - its better to open windows to air the rooms than just leave air con on.

Continental Breakfast, which was included in the price of the room when I booked, was the typical basic mix of fruit juices, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, cheese and ham options, with toast and jams brought to the table along with coffee. Not exciting but adequate, filling and plenty of it, plus the staff were very attentive - I was offered refills on the coffee three times,

Staff were very attentive and polite, at reception, maid service and at breakfast. The only criticism was that the 'uniforms' of some staff such as the waitress at breakfast, were a bit tired and grubby not what you want when being served food. Another tip for the owners -invest in some fresh outfits for the staff.

Overall this hotel represents reasonable value for money and a quiet nights sleep, things that are frequently hard to find in London. I'd certainly use it again

PS - Id rate this hotel as Good = 3.5 rather than Very Good or just Average but that's not possible

Room Tip: Ask for Tea and a view ......
See more room tips
Green Features: Just the usual 'put used towels on the floor' signs.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Annie B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
You will be pleased to hear that we are in the processes of upgrading our continental breakfast offering, in fact, our new tables and accessories should be delivered next week - watch this space!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in an ideal position for Royal Albert Hall, museums and places to eat, and easy access to tubes and buses. We were lucky and stayed for 1 night in an executive twin room. The room and bathroom were very clean, with exception of finding a bottle top under table, and the toilet lid was broken (did report it). When we booked in we did find the receptionist not that smartly dressed (shoulderless flowery long dress) but was very friendly and helpful. The booking out receptionist was very smart in blouse and skirt, and also very friendly. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElM0C0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear EIM0CO,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
My apologies for the bottle top and the toilet seat and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#267 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#284 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#416 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#165 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#494 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Lodge Hotel

Property: London Lodge Hotel
Address: 134 / 136 Lexham Gardens, London W8 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#266 Family Hotel in London
#301 Business Hotel in London
#340 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — London Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Lodge Hotel is situated in the quiet and historic Kensington area of London; it is approximately 4 minutes walk from Earl’s Court underground station and this prestigious Town House hotel has a style and charm all of its own. London Lodge is sumptuous in its furnishings, attentive in its service and convenient in its location. Bedrooms have air-conditioning and the high level of facilities that is nowadays expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your London Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing