We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel with some hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Ranked #243 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fine hotel with some hiccups”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you have been to a Novotel, you will not be surprised by the general package. Rooms have a simple but modern and attractive design. Most everything is clean and functional. There are nice extras that round out the stay: free WiFi as well as public terminals, a safe in the room, a decent fitness room and sauna, reasonably-priced buffet breakfast (at least when pre-paid). The location is quite good: right next to the Tower of London and at the edge of The City, with a tube stop within a 3 minute walk. A standard room can accommodate a family of four; it was a bit tight for us but we weren't spending very much time inside.
I would be giving a rating of four but I must deduct a point for several reasons:
- the hotel was very crowded and the staff seemed inadequate to deal with all the guests at times
- as one consequence of the above our room was simply not made up one day
- the desk personnel was usually polite but standoffish
- breakfast was below the standard I am used to at Novotels (at least the ones on the Continent) although I will admit the tea was outstanding
- the rowing machine that I was pleased to see in the workout room proved to be non-functioning, evidently for lack of maintenance
Most of my complaints seem eminently fixable so I would be certainly willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckaroo-8th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    1,240
    299
    76
    30
See reviews for
1,481
432
106
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our family of 4 (including 2 children aged 3 and 6) stayed here for 5 nights.

I booked through Expedia and selected this hotel on the basis of it being the most reasonably priced hotel that could accommodate a family of 4 within one room, and also after referring to trip advisor reviews that the location was good.

The location was ok. It is extremely convenient to the closest tube station, but it is at least a good 25 minute journey to make it into central London shopping, sightseeing and the theatre district. This includes changing train lines once. So not the easiest lugging a stroller up and down all the time. If you enjoy being close to the action, shops and restaurants, I would suggest that this is not the place to be.

It's helpful to know that the cab ride from Heathrow Airport to the hotel was approximately 90 pounds, but we prebooked a transfer to take us back which was half the price. If you are using a taxi service, look into Hummingbird as an option. The booking service was helpful and efficient.

Aside from this, the actual accommodation and service is of a reasonable standard- what I would expect from Novotel.

They do have an Xbox in reception which is fun for the kids, computer and printer access which was very handy and they do give a small welcome gift to the children on arrival.

Our first room had a bathroom sink that was not draining and the bathroom had a very bad odour. Since maintenance was not available on a Sunday, with prompting by myself, we got an upgrade to a refurbished corner room. This was much more spacious, classier and had Korres toiletries. This room was very comfortable for us, and the reason for the 4 star rating.

Eating at the hotel proved to be reasonable value when compared to eating out which is good considering there didn't appear to be that many alternative options nearby. We ate dinner in one night, had room service another and ate breakfast there twice. They cater well for kids with a well priced kids menu and free buffet breakfasts for children. The children enjoyed the breakfast selection.

If I had my time again, I would have perhaps contacted some of the more central hotels individually to see what they could do for a family of 4. It was a bit too far from the action for our family - a bit too inconvenient to return for naps, etc.

However, we did have a fantastic time in London, a nice bed to sleep in and you can expect clean, modern rooms and for the most part a good level of service.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jess07Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven K, Manager at Novotel London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for the nice words you have left about our hotel here on Trip Advisor.
Ideally located at the Tower Bridge and Tower Hill, we will be happy to invite you again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The breakfast was fine, dinner adequate, and room service prompt and reasonable in terms of cost. The location near the Tower of London was a bonus in that I didn't necessarily need to go anywhere in order to ensure I got to see some of the city and make it feel like I did something besides work while I was in London. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers absolutely; families and couples I would probably find another location for.

The room wasn't out of this world, but absolutely met my needs. I had a business rate so that made it a more value based experience; the published rates didn't seem to make this a budget concsious hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILikeCheckingBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Busy, good position and reasonable value for what you get. You can easily walk to London Tower and to the Tower Bridge pier to catch a ferry (10 minute walk) - and Tower Bridge underground is close by. The rooms are fairly basic but adequate. Our bed sloped a bit to one side and we only got one pillow each, but otherwise the room was clean and quite comfortable. The bathroom was ok - plenty of hot water and pump dispensers of soap (no other toiletries provided). The toilet was very low (in height). Breakfasts were great (fantastic sausages and if you are gluten free they have gluten free bread, you just need to ask for it!) really worth the fixed price and kept us going all day although you need to get there early to beat the queues. Front desk is helpful but could really do with more personnel during peak periods of the day as you can wait for ages for help with a simple request and the lifts are hopelessly slow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURE N, Manager at Novotel London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for your great rating here on Tripadvisor. To excel in our service we try to do our utmost for all of our guest, therefore Gluten Free bread is always available.
kind regards,

Steven Kusters
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brook2
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I visited London for a weekend away with my family. This hotel was perfect, rooms were clean and a good size, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast very nice and location was perfect close to some attractions and tube station. We would defiantly return to this hotel when we next visit London

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURE N, Front Office Manager at Novotel London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We would really like to thank you for your kind comments and compliments left here on Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much at Novotel London Tower Bridge giving us the maximum score of 5 stars and I look really forward to welcoming you back to our property for your next visit to London.
Kind regards,
Laure Navarre
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a perfectly situated hotel in the centre of London, a 30 second walk from the tower hill tube station. There are views of the tower bridge, although the room I stayed in was facing the adjacent hotel, not ideal. The bathroom and the toilet were separate, and neither rooms had locks fitted, which was a minor inconvenience. Stopped in this hotel for the new years celebrations, and after a 7 hour wait, was not disappointed! I would stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with tower bridge views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURE N, Front Office Manager at Novotel London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment your stay on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome you soon again.
Best Regards
Laure Navarre
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

You cannot go wrong with this hotel. Near subway station. Nice bar. Hotel rooms are okay. It served the purpose of our site seeing visit to London. Did not have breakfast in the hotel. Staff is very hospitable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgeevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAURE N, Front Office Manager at Novotel London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your very nice feedback following your stay at the Novotel London Tower Bridge.
I am really pleased to read that you liked our convenient location, in the heart of the City of London just on the doorstep to Tower Hill underground station as well as being a shot walk away from some of London’s major attractions such as Tower Bridge or the Tower of London.
I am also so glad to see you found our staff to be helpful and pleasant.
I was a real pleasure looking after you and we will be pleased to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to London.
Laure Navarre
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#74 of 1,067 in London
3,710 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#268 of 1,067 in London
2,090 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#177 of 1,067 in London
2,142 reviews
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#342 of 1,067 in London
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Tower Bridge

Property: Novotel London Tower Bridge
Address: 10 Pepys Street, London EC3N 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in London
#155 Family Hotel in London
#180 Luxury Hotel in London
#235 Business Hotel in London
#254 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Tower Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London Tower Bridge is located in the City of London. Offering 6 meeting rooms and WiFi internet access for business travellers, the hotel is also a superb base for those on holiday in London. Situated opposite the Tower of London on the Thames close to Tower Bridge and St Pauls Cathedral. Take a short tube ride to the London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge or the West End theatre and shopping areas. The hotel has Keepers Lounge bar and kitchen, gym, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Novotel London Hotel Bridge
London Novotel
Novotel Tower Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing