We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marble Arch London
Ranked #612 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We paid a bit more and booked a Club Room for 2 nights, and it was a lovely room and the hotel was lovely too. Continental breakfast was very nice and the service was good and the breakfast restaurant was in a lovely room in very stylish surroundings. The only thing that I found a little annoying was I heard a gentleman complaining about his (standard) room been too small and was demanding to be moved, so the hotel manager upgraded him to a club room foc, which was very nice of him, however, if he wanted a bigger room he should of paid extra like we did and booked (& paid) for the club room in the first place! We could all be tight and pay as little as possible and then get upgraded for free but what about the decent guests that have paid full wack? Anyway, rant over… a very nice boutique hotel in a perfect location and we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindsorKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear WindsorKP,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.
Kind Regards,

Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for The Marble Arch London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here last week for one night. First impression was good with attentive staff making the checking-in process simple but professional. Our room wasn't ready initially but we were offered tea/coffee while we waited. Unfortunately it was downhill from there. We were given a room in the basement, not our preference, but this was a 5 Star Hotel so no worries yet! When we were shown the room I initially thought it must be a mistake, it seemed no bigger than a large cupboard. The room was very very small, with a tiny window that provided little natural light. The whole ambience of the room was gloomy and dark with just enough room to manoeuvre around each side of the bed. The bathroom also was very dark, no bath (remember this was supposed to be a 5* Hotel) but with a shower cubicle that had no lighting – very dark! Returning late in the evening after a show, looking forward to good nights sleep was, in retrospect, over optimistic to say the least. It would seem that our room was underneath the main corridor of the floor above and consequently it was very noisy and we had very little sleep. Breakfast was taken in a room on the ground floor. It was fairly cramped with little leg room at the tables. The breakfast fare was fairly average and probably sufficient for a 3* Hotel but woefully inadequate for a hotel marketing itself as 5*. The only thing that was pleasing was the staff, who were very attentive, but woefully under strength during breakfast. In summary our experience was a bad one, the room far too small and the noise during the night dreadful. If it had marketed itself as 3* hotel, fine, but creating bedrooms in areas where guests will be disturbed by noise and unable to sleep is unforgivable.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms in the basement!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Marble Arch by Montcalm. I was very sceptical about staying here because of reading previous reviews on Tripadvisor. On arrival we were greeted at the reception by frendly staff who took us through the check in process and then showed us to our room.
We stayed in room 201 on the second floor. The room was very stylish and modern and was of a decent size. The room offered great amenities such as free WiFi, iPod Dock, Mini Bar, Bath Robes, Large Bath Tub with Rainfall Shower and Flat Screen TV.
Breakfast was really nice and offered traditional breakfast items such as sausage, bacon and egg.
The hotel is in a great Location, only a 5 minute walk to Marble Arch Underground Station and Oxford Street.
Overall we loved our stay at the Marble Arch Hotel, staff were all very helpful and friendly and we will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s90gmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear s90gmw,


Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to see guests enjoying and having a good experience while staying with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here on 6th Feb for one night as we had tickets to the theatre. Easy to find and a great location just off Oxford street. Reception floor was filthy but it had been snowing only the day before. The receptionist was lovely and she took the time to show us to our room. The room itself was TINY we have cupboards bigger!! My husband had to sit on the bed whilst I unpacked as there was no room for both of us to stand at the same time. It had one tiny window which looked straight into the living room of the flat opposite so we had to keep the curtains closed the whole time we were in the room. The curtains were hanging off on one corner, the air conditioning didn't work, the lighting in the bathroom was very dull, the bed sloped into the middle so we spent most of the night clinging to the edge to avoid crashing into one another and the complimentary bathrobes for us to use were ripped!!
Breakfast was very good and the young girl single handedly running the restaurant was lovely and by far the best thing about this hotel.
Having stayed in London many times and always in 5* Hotels this was not at all what we expected and needless to say will not be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Booked a room advertised as The Montcalm on lastminute.com which turned out to be over the road at The Marble Arch - this was noted in the deal print on lastminute.com so I shouldn't have been surprised but the rooms appeared to be the same standard. I now know I should have received complimentary water and fruit on arrival but didn't and didn't know to ask for it.

If I'm honest I don't think it's worth the full price for the size of the room. However the facilities, style and quality were all very good. You could use all the facilities of the main hotel and even during the snow it wasn't a problem to cross the road for the Spa and Bar. The Spa is great after exploring London, with sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and small pool.

The location is great for Oxford Street and 100m from Marble Arch tube station. The staff were friendly and helpful

The bar was also very good and the drinks prices pretty reasonable considering the location and a hotel bar.

Overall I was very pleased with my one night stay and would stay again providing I could get the discount rates. Although this time I would make sure I got things like the complimentary water and fruit!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank console
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Mr. Console,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.

I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.


Kind Regards,
Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Okay, as pointed out by other reviewers it's not THE Montcalm, the Marble Arch is just across the road from its prestigious namesake. Got a club double at a hugely discounted rate of £112 per night. Room was good, though a little on the small side. Checking in was quick but staff not particularly welcoming and seemed a little disinterested.

Went out for the day shopping and room still hadn't been cleaned when we returned. We started to relax before going out to the theatre when room service finally knocked at 5:20!

Had a fab might out at Ghost the Musical and even though snow had been forecast the entrance to the hotel hadn't been gritted and was an ice rink. We pointed this out to the staff on reception and were greeted with silence.

Overall a good base for a weekend in London let down by lack of service. Would of been very very disappointed if I'd paid the full price of £280 per night!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Warestar,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.

I was sorry to read that you found staff not welcoming and disinterested and I have conveyed your valuable feedback to my team members. Also I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused due to late room service.
I hope you give us a change to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,
Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The service was good without being over the top and the rooms were very comfortable. The location is excellent right next to Oxford Street, Mayfair and a short 5 min taxi ride to Knightsbridge / South Ken so the wife was very happy for her shopping trips!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Mr. Neil S,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to see guests enjoying and having a good experience while staying with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#299 of 1,072 in London
680 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#22 of 1,072 in London
1,762 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#85 of 1,072 in London
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marble Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marble Arch London

Address: 31 Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7TA, England (Formerly The Marble Arch by Montcalm)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#269 Romantic Hotel in London
#357 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £218 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marble Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marble Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marble Arch By Montcalm Hotel London
Palace Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing