We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathbone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rathbone Hotel
Ranked #278 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ocoee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for a week, had friends here also in a separate room. Hotel is great, very charming and clean, breakfast is good. Only concern is make sure you are not in a room facing the street because the noise from the Pub and Restaurants will keep you up very late and then the trash and recycle collection will wake you up very early. I had a room in the inside and heard no noise.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior to ensure you have a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you and your friends for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    469
    144
    47
    31
See reviews for
115
435
92
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The rooms are cramped, and the third night we had no electricity, or A/C or hot water! It actually was very uncomfortable. Truthfully they may have been able to handle the situation better, but it all happened on a Sunday night and its hard to get anything repaired on a Sunday. Positives: The neighborhood is adorable and very safe, and walking distance to British Museum. The concierge was lovely and helpful. That being said, I wouldn't stay here again for the following reasons:
1. Too far away from a good underground line. The nearest underground station with decent lines- Tottenham court road, is a solid 10 min walk.
2. Nightlife very loud on Friday and Saturday. Can hear it outside from the front rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariK888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our guest bedrooms vary in size and for extra space preferences, our reservations team are very pleased to assist with recommendations regarding a quiet and spacious room. Unfortunately as the electrical issue was external to the hotel, its recovery was beyond our control however engineers did respond quickly and repaired the fault as soon as possible that evening. I am sorry this affected your stay, thankfully a once off occurrence from our experience.

Goodge St. (northern line) is our closest underground station, 300 meters from our hotel with direct connection to Tottenham Court Road station which by foot is slightly further at 500 meters from our hotel. We are very well connected by a selection of underground stations with access to the majority of London underground lines. At any opportunity our concierge team will be very happy to assist with directions. I hope you will reconsider your decision and visit us again.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked this through a "Top Secret" service where you don't learn the name of the hotel until after you have confirmed the booking and paid. Specified 4-star London West End and got the Rathbone. Excellent value for a superb hotel in a great No-Ho location.

With a very slight "tarting-up" this would almost qualify as a boutique hotel. As it is, it is very nicely presented and even the small single room I had (Room 207) had all the amenities I needed for a three-night stay. Extremely clean and comfortable. Things like huge fluffy bath towels mean a lot to me and the "single" bed would have qualified as a double in lesser hotels.

The location is absolutely superb - very easy walking distance from all West End attractions. 3 minutes from SoHo. Great for Goodge Street and Tottenham Court Road tube stations and easy walk from Kings Cross or Euston mainline stations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildfowler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and your acknowledgement of our amenities is a pleasure to read. Our location is second to none as you mentioned, we truly are in the centre of it all.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We arrive to no power, no lights for 3 hours. Carry our bags in the dark up 4 flights of stairs. Staff is very sorry and compensates with a glass of wine. When power comes on they want 16 BP per day for WiFi. I complain and they compensate with WiFi included in base rate. We wake up this morning to no hot water or air conditioning. Again they are very sorry but no estimate of when it will be repaired. Why this hotel has this 4 star plus rating amazes me. Maybe their golden years were with queen Victoria. Recommend you miss this ride. Entry is expensive and the experience poor.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. As you are aware the hotel suffered loss of power due to an electrical fault in the local area. Unfortunately the electricity board were required to disconnect the mains, external to the hotel in order to rectify the fault as soon as possible. I’m sure you understand that this situation was beyond our control and that every effort was made to provide maximum assistance whilst ensuring our guests were kept informed as far as possible.

Thankfully this was a rare incident and I am confident, should you choose to stay with us in future, you will agree with great comments written by so many of our guests. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a well located hotel in the heart for the Charlotte Street precinct which has lots of great bars and places to eat. A 5 min walk to Oxford street &

My room was a standard double and for London a reasonable size. The bed was a little on the hard side but comfortable enough.

The decor is a little old school and a throw back to the 80's.....red carpets and tones.

A nice hotel, very well priced and comfortable. Perfect for a city stay where you want somewhere that is clean and comfortable and is a great location.

My one quibble was the very over priced WiFi £15 per day....this just seems absolutely excessive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for highlighting our great location. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel comfortable and good value. We recognise that you travelled from afar and that this was not your first visit to London. Next time, e-mail us direct on reservations@rathbonehotel.co.uk and we will offer you the best available rate with complimentary WiFi. We hope you will visit again.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Please get free wifi for our next visit- very friendly clean and comfortable hotel- lovely staff and breakfast and great value for money- good location for theatres - highly recommended for another stay

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank for taking the time to share your feedback. We will be delighted to offer complimentary WiFi to next time, so please contact our reservations team on reservations@rathbonehotel.co.uk or by calling us on 0207 636 2001. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I when I booked the Rathbone Hotel was pleased to have found a four star boutique hotel at a good price. I booked into a single and was really pleased with the concierge service, the foyer and greeting.

Unfortunately the room left much to be desired. It was in major need of tlc, expecially the bathroom. I have stayed in 2 star hotels with nicer bathrooms. The shower tray was so old it was dirt stained, the tiles were full of filled in holes and the silicon was badly retouched up. The bathroom needs ripping out and starting again.

The room itself was small (a single) and my main bugbears were that the kettle lead was so short I had to keep it on the floor and no choice in teas. There was also only one a double socket - across the room from the bed. On the plus despite being just off Tottenham Court Road it was a very quiet room and the bed was comfortable.

All in all I paid for the location, which was amazing (and why the average rating), but I felt a bit ripped off.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Darling1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. We very much regret your disappointment and that you did not bring these issues to our attention during your stay with us. I would ask you to contact me direct by calling the main hotel number on 0207 636 2001 to discuss your comments further. Please be assured that our hotel rooms, our personal service along with our location all attribute to the excellent reputation we pride ourselves on. I look forward to hearing further from you.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#380 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#342 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#32 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Hotel

Property: Rathbone Hotel
Address: 30 Rathbone Street | Fitzrovia, London W1T 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#206 Luxury Hotel in London
#238 Romantic Hotel in London
#289 Family Hotel in London
#330 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathbone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathbone is a comfortable, intimate, boutique style hotel, located within the heart of London's West End, within easy walking distance of Oxford Street, Bond Street, Regent Street, Soho, the Theatre District, Museums, Art Galleries and a wide choice of some of the best and most vibrant restaurants London has to offer. With its 72 en-suite, air cooled bedrooms and suites, the Rathbone provides the perfect base for business and leisure visitors to London and provides a convenient, comfortable and tranquil haven amidst the pace of London's bustling environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Rathbone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing