We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, intimate boutique hotel in the heart of Kensington”
Review of Cranley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cranley Hotel
Ranked #524 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Charming, intimate boutique hotel in the heart of Kensington”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Am spoiled for hotel stays after just one night at The Cranley this past December. Check-in was oh-so gracious and personal at the writing desk in the middle of a drawing room. Even though we arrived past the hour for complimentary bubbly, the staff was only too happy to send a couple of glasses with chips up to our room.

The room was a good size and when I asked about the loud TV playing in the room next door, the front desk attendant was quick to call and ask them if they wouldn't mind lowering the volume a bit. This hotel clearly cares about the experience of their guests and the sitting room is warm, gracious and welcoming. Exactly the kind of boutique hotel experience I've been looking for and the cost was reasonable by London standards. An excellent choice in location if you'll be taking in the museums and even if not, I still wouldn't stay anywhere else. Very much looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singleminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear singleminded,

Greetings from the Cranley,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback about your experience at the Cranley Hotel.

I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to our team at the Cranley Hotel, who will be delighted to hear about your experience at the Cranley Hotel.

We are certainly looking forward in Welcoming you back at the Cranley Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Fabian Schuettke
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    218
    94
    37
    22
See reviews for
129
323
44
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were a little early for our check in however, this hotel welcomed us with tea and biscuits while we waited for our room to be ready. Our bags were already waiting for us when they announced our room was ready. There were several wonderful restaurants, on Gloucester Road, walking distance from our hotel. You could also walk to the "tube" (subway) just down from the restaurants and ride the Picadilly Line to Picadilly Circus, Harrods or into London itself. If you need a cab, the hotel can arrange one for you, or just grab one yourself, as there are plenty. Other than the prompt tea and biscuits every morning in our room, the breakfast was not always on time (or that much). As close as the restaurants were, we walked to one each morning, that wasn't a problem. Expect to walk alot when in London, so bring comfortable shoes. You are fairly close to everything from this hotel, theaters, the convention center, museums, art galleries, shopping, restaurants and of course the must see landmarks that make London a distinctive destination. We spent 7 nights and 8 days combinding 3 days of business with 5 days of sightseeing. Loved it...would return.

Room Tip: We liked our second floor view of Bina Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prancer330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear prancer330,

Greetings from the Cranley,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback about your experience at the Cranley Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have chosen the Cranley Hotel for yur stay London.

We are certainly looking forward in Welcoming you back at the Cranley Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Fabian Schuettke
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This small hotel is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are excellent. I appreciated the free champagne and canapes at 7 p.m. and the helpful staff. I have stayed here twice and would return again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank md1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Dr,

Greetings from the Cranley,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback about your experience at the Cranley Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you have enhoyed your secon stay at The Cranley Hotel and we are indeed looking forward in Welcoming you back at the Cranley Hotel in the very near future.

Also we are glad that you have liked the room, for your future stay with us please feel free to enquire for the same room again and we would of course do our best to accomodate that request.

We are certainly looking forward in Welcoming you back at the Cranley Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Fabian Schuettke
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zarren belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

it is very homely cosy antique decor but luxury as in a big hotel friendly staff
just the breakfast is very minimum for the price of it if that was better i gave a 5 star

Room Tip: the 4 poster rooms are with spacier and so not as hot as on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsjezarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Elsjezarren,

Greetings from the Cranley Hotel,


Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback about your experience at the Cranley Hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Cranley and that you have had a unique experience.

Also thank you very much for giving us your feedback in regards to the Breakfast we will indeed investigate the matter.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Cranley Hotel in person in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Fabian Schuettke
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed in the Cranely for one night and it was really great. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a four poster king room and it was so comfortable. As others have said, it is facing onto a road (which seemed quiet enough) but there is no noise at all. The room was lovely but it would have been nice if there were tea & coffee making facilities.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early and they even gave us a bottle of champagne free as my boyfriend was celebrating his birthday!
The hotel is within an easy walk from Gloucester Rd tube station on the Piccadilly line and there are quite a few nice looking bars and restaurants in the area.
I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrelandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear IrelandLaura,

Greetings from the Cranley,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback about your experience at the Cranley Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have chosen the Cranley Hotel for this very occasion. We hope that you indeed have had a splendours London experience.

In regards to the Tea & Coffee Making facilities, we do not offer those in the room but we do have a 24h Room Service who would be delighted to to serve you Coffee or Tea at any given time.

We are certainly looking forward in Welcoming you back at the Cranley Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Fabian Schuettke
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Just a one night stay for a friends birthday, but what a find! Kind and thoughtful staff, comfortable room in a great South Kensington location.
Beautifully appointed throughout, with a great drawing room for afternoon teas or breakfast.
We will certainly be back when next in London.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shields33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear shields33,

Greetings from the Cranley Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback about your experience at the Cranley Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Cranley and that you felt well looked after.

We are certainly looking forward in Welcoming you back at the Cranley Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Fabian Schuettke
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I came back to the Cranley after almost 6 years and there are some disappointments: the breakfast is not anymore free and served in your room as in the past. The hotel is quite expensive for not to offer at least a decent breakfast. The second was the staff, all of which looked like trainees who did not know what to do and how to handle simple questions. Finally, in the past there were canapes in the evening and a glass of wine. The only thing you will get now is water and some green apples at the lobby. My room however was good and spacious although it was supposed to be single. Location is also good, so not sure really if it will be my first choice when I am back in London. Maybe just for the location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelfanNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#167 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#364 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#130 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#539 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
South Kensington
The Bentley London
The Bentley London
#274 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranley Hotel

Property: Cranley Hotel
Address: 10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#286 Romantic Hotel in London
#290 Business Hotel in London
#292 Family Hotel in London
#329 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting quietly on an attractive South Ken side street, The Cranley Hotel in London is the perfect townhouse-from-home. With its mahogany antiques, Regency-period palette and prettily embroidered bedheads, it's an ideal base for a spot of Anglo-centric shopping, sightseeing and tea-taking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Cranley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranley Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing