We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small slice of indulgence”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cranley Hotel
Ranked #476 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“small slice of indulgence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

A well placed, luxury hotel which delivered on service and amenities. Staff - polite, attentive & courteous. The room was small but well appointed and the complimentary canapes and champagne were a nice touch.
My 2 negative comments would be:
- the included breakfast was sparse which was disappointing
- the hotel decor is in desperate need of a revamp or at least a visit with a paintbrush and a carpet cleaner. This really let the hotel down.
Otherwise, The Cranley is a small slice of indulgence in Kensington.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clavell1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    216
    92
    34
    21
See reviews for
127
320
44
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed with my friends last summer at Cranley and we had a great time there.The location was very convenient and the stuff were very helpful and nice. The room also was veru big and clean. I definitely recommend to stay at Cranley!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 898xristianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at The Cranley for 3 days of our 7-day trip to London, and I wish we had stayed at The Cranley the whole stay. Nothing else quite compared after it. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly staff and led to our room. We stayed in a beautiful, sunny four-poster room (#107, highly recommend) that was absolutely perfect. The staff was very helpful in arranging a babysitter for us for our toddler, so that we could go out one night.
I look forward to staying at The Cranley again.

Room Tip: Room #107 is sunny and has a street view with huge windows to open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We like to stay at the Cranley Hotel when visiting London. The location is excellent. Within walking distance of Kensington Gardens, High St Ken and the restaurants of South Ken. The rooms are small but very comfortable. The check in staff are friendly and efficient and the lounge is a nice place to enjoy tea or an evening cocktail.
The standard rates are expensive, but it is good value when you can book under one of their promotions.
My only complaint is the multiple sheets of paper required for internet access, each device requires a separate code, not sure why they feel this is necessary.

Room Tip: I like the upper floors. Our daughters were on the level below the street and it was a bit noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webb1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

One night stay was wonderful. Room was very small but big window and high ceilings made it feel fine. No coffee/tea in room but lots of booze! Great location. Comfy bed with premium bed linen. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totana, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is well situated for visitors to the South Kensington museums and the Royal Albert Hall. It is less than 10 minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube station.

The Hotel is not large, and has bedrooms on a number of floors, but does not have a dining room or restaurant. A simple breakfast is provided, juice, coffee/tea and bread/croissant which can be taken either in the room or in the reception area/lobby. Some food is also available later in the day, to be taken in the room. There are a number of restaurants within reasonable walking distance.

The room we had for two nights was quite small, with little free space, but the furnishings were of a good standard and the bed was comfortable. There was air conditioning, a safe, and adequate hanging space and hangers for clothes. The bathroom was adequate with over the bath shower.

We found the staff to be friendly and informative. If needing to stay in this area in the future we would seriously consider using this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a one night stay, wish it had of been longer! Great location, walking distance to tube stations, great restaurants and pubs, Albert&Victoria museum, Hyde Park.

Having read some of the negative reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. Check-in was friendly and efficient, the lobby/lounge area was gorgeous. The building is old, so of course there will be wear and tear in certain places and bathrooms will be smaller, it's to be expected! Great size room (I was on my own, but size would have been more than adequate for 2), room has mini-bar, desk and sitting chair, small but adequate bathroom (shower with bath), good shower pressure and hot water (although I overheard another guest complaining about lack of hot water).

No issues with wifi in room (including ability to skype).

Good breakfast but if it's not included in your room price, go local, as the add-on price is quite expensive. If the weather is nice, have breakfast on the front patio. Lovely way to start the day.

If you want old world English charm with personalised service, this is the place for you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#173 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#372 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#129 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#568 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
South Kensington
The Bentley London
The Bentley London
#255 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranley Hotel

Property: Cranley Hotel
Address: 10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#286 Romantic Hotel in London
#290 Business Hotel in London
#292 Family Hotel in London
#314 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting quietly on an attractive South Ken side street, The Cranley Hotel in London is the perfect townhouse-from-home. With its mahogany antiques, Regency-period palette and prettily embroidered bedheads, it's an ideal base for a spot of Anglo-centric shopping, sightseeing and tea-taking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cranley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranley Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing