We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, but for two flaws” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #91 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent, but for two flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Staff and service excellent. Room a bit of a shoebox but with a large bathroom. Breakfast service one of the best and not as over priced as some other London Hotels.
The two flaws are: terrible UHT milk in the room so the tea was undrinkable and not even having freeview in the room (so I couldn't listen to Radio 5Live)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudges-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,700
    927
    227
    95
    34
See reviews for
871
1,828
177
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Just back from a 3 day visit to the Rubens; this being my 4th visit in the past 18 months. The hotel continues to be top notch..the hotel itself is wonderful but it is the level of service demonstrated by the enthusiastic staff that makes it special. What impresses me most with good service is how things are handled when there is a problem. This visit there was a small issue with an internet booking at check in but the problem was swiftly dealt with and the on duty manager phoned me in room afterwards to make sure I was satisfied; attention to customer satisfaction like this is what keeps me coming back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RIMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Stayed in the Rubens with my mum for her birthday, and the service could not have been better. Stayed in a double room overlooking the Royal Mews... GREAT VIEW!! We watched horses going in and out all morning.
BREAKFAST: was also fantastic, lovely room and had every breakfast choice you could think of.. cereals, juices, full english, freshly prepared eggs exactly how you want them, pastries, fruits, yoghurts.
LOCATION: Lovely view of the palace, a 2 minute walk from Victoria tube station and the Victoria Palace theatre. Within walking distance of green park and hyde park and lots of fantastic shops.
SERVICE: All staff were very friendly and helpful. As it was my mums birthday, a card and cake was sent to our room one evening, courtesy of the hotel.... lovely touch!!
BAR AND RESTAURANTS: Lovely rooms and very quick efficient service. We loved going and listening to the piano player, as we returned to the hotel each eveing.
Overall a fantastic stay and would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a lovely time and they were so friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdbooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

I traveled to London with my step-daughter to visit her daughter who is studying there. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we felt well cared for. The reception staff was very friendly and seemed to take a personal interest in us. Our room was charming and was decorated in a traditional motif. The room rate included a wonderful English breakfast daily which sustained us for most of the day. The hotel was perfectly located since we were able to walk to almost all of the tourist attractions. We enjoyed our stay here immensely and I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

As a reasonably well seasoned traveller I have to say the, unfortunate short, stay at The Rubens was exceptional.

Hotel
The décor and ambience of The Rubens is indeed of a very high standard. The room was very clean and very comfortable reflecting the high standard achieved throughout the hotel.

Staff
The reception staff set the standard with an extremely courteous, helpful & professional approach to the guests. This attitude was carried on in with aplomb in the bar and restaurant.

Two examples

1. I requested a cork from the bar staff for an open bottle of wine that would be travelling with us.

A ‘spare’ cork couldn’t be found, so they opened a bottle of house wine and gave me the cork! (a wine stopper was put in the open bottle)

2. At check-out the male receptionist discovered (during a pleasant conversation) we had over indulged the previous night and offered us bottled water for our onward journey

I now regret not making a note of individual names. That said, all the staff encountered by us during our stay are a credit to you and The Rubens. As regular visitors to central London we will definitely stay at The Rubens again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justwantvalue04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

I just stayed at the Rubens at the Palace and had an excellent experience. From the staff to the room and meals the Rubens Hotel knows how to treat you special. I had a King Superior Room with a Buckingham Palace view (Royal Mews) it was great! The room turn down service at night was so special and made a busy day out and about in London even more special. The English Breakfast to dinner at the Old Master Carvey was a true meal experience, great choices. I enjoyed the nightly piano music at the palace lounge what a way to end an evening on the town. Close to St. James Park, Green Park and Hyde Park as well as shopping, museums and Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and Parliament and of course a stone toss to Buckingham Palace the Rubens at the Palace is the perfect choice while in London. I can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labaule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#27 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#174 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#7 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#39 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#83 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing