We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lynchburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and I are experienced travelers. Our hotel selections are based on location, rates and reviews. We recently stayed 8 nights at The Rubens at the Palace in London. The Rubens has a wonderful location near Buckingham Palace and minutes from Victoria Rail/Underground Station. We booked a "deluxe room." Our room was good with a great bathroom which included both a tub and a shower. Towels were large and fluffy. The bed and linens matched the room description - deluxe. The hotel service was superior in every respect. This is not an economy hotel, but is well worth considering for its quality, location and service. We highly recommend The Rubens to discerning travelers.

Room Tip: We wrote the Manager in advance and asked him to select a room for us that HE would enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackVMI67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,798
    942
    230
    95
    34
See reviews for
905
1,883
185
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the Rubens at the Palace recently. The hotel is centrally located and close to buses, tubes and trains. The hotel is charming and sophisticated. Rooms are comfortable and the bars are cozy and convenient. Breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful and always willing to go the extra mile. Roman and Bogdan were both exceptionally helpful. If you are looking for a hotel in London, you can't go wrong at Rubens at the Palace.

Room Tip: Rooms are small so upgrade as much as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corkie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have stayed at the Rubens once or twice each year since 2008 and we were there recently in September to celebrate my wifes birthday and once again the staff were extremely courteous, the room was clean and comfortable and the food especially the afternoon tea was exceptional. It is ideally situated for whether sightseeing or visiting the theatre, just a short walk and you're there.
We have never been disappointed and we will be staying there again in December, wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We just returned from 23 days in Europe, our two days in London at the Rubens was the best part of our trip. Our room was small, but delightful. The concierge, David, was the best and Nathan the "doorman" was extremely helpful. The breakfast was a real treat. Our entire stay was perfect and we will definitely go back to London and stay at the Rubens!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamB721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The hotel is exceptionally well situated; our room quaint, quiet and clean; and the staff attentive, supportive and accommodting. After 8 nights, it felt like home and we were sad to leave. Dave, Bogdan and John were wonderful with great advice, many laughs and even hugs for 2 Canadian women travelling on their own! Colin at the front desk was kind and thorough in resolving a minor billing issue. Everyone did their utmost to make our stay enjoyable. We could not imagine staying anywhere else while in London.

Room Tip: Our second floor room on the back was quiet, the air conditioning was unobstrusive, the bathroom bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We just got back from a week's stay at The Rubens that included a 2 1/2 year old. We were so pleased with the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room we had was a King and worked out beautifully for our needs. It's not designed for kids, but they were willing to help us when we needed it and were so sweet to our little guy. The location was fantastic for all the things we wanted to do with a toddler. It's literally across the street from the Palace and a couple blocks from St. James Park. You're in walking distance to so many of the wonderful London spots like Picadilly, (and Hamley's Toy Store) Westminster, the Aquarium, Churchill's War Rooms, etc. Excellent choice at a great price. We hope to go back and stay again. One small note. Being that it's in the location it is, you can hear some noise at night on the street like when emergency vehicles go by.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We enjoyed it so much the first time around a couple of years ago that we came back for another stay! The hotel itself is clean and the staff very courteous and friendly. As my husband was busy with work, my daughter and I were on our own so the Rubens was perfect for us as a centrally located base for sightseeing. From here, it was about a 5 minute walk to Victoria Station (tip - if you don't want to get stuck in the long waiting lines for tube tickets at rush hour, buy them in the evening on your way back to the hotel!). Another huge plus was the Marks & Spencer behind the hotel. We would load up with fresh goodies (look for the tiny gourmet cheeses in individual portions) to take with us for a picnic lunch while sightseeing or grab some gourmet snacks on our way back after a long day.

There is also the convenience store across the street for fresh milk if M & S is closed. In between very filling (and fattening) English breakfasts', we would just pick up some of those cereal boxes that come in individual portions, top this up with milk & fresh fruit & there you have a nutritiuos, inexpensive breakfast!

One last thing. There is a local eatery down the street that serves wonderful and cheap English breakfasts. We got this tip from the concierge so he would know the name of it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai-HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
779 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#195 of 1,067 in London
3,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,137 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing