We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rubens at the Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,526)
Filter reviews
4,526 results
Traveller rating
3,126
1,016
246
101
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,126
1,016
246
101
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuckingham palacevictoria stationlibrary restaurantafternoon teaold masterscavalry barred carnationjames parkking roomfull english breakfastconcierge deskwonderful hotellovely roomgreen parktrafalgar squarebig benlocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
3,296 - 3,301 of 4,526 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

You cannot go wrong by staying here. The rooms are tiny, so tiny that the kettle and tea essentials are stored under a little desk in the room. Even though the rooms are small, they are so charming and the bathrooms are spacious and updated. There is internet access and a bowl of apples to snack on. Our room came with breakfast, which was very delicious. We also ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was also very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This was our first stay at the Rubens. We chose the hotel based on positive reviews and high rating on Trip Advisor and am glad to say we were not disappointed! The location is great as it is close (max 10 minute walk) to the Victoria Train and Coach Station. The Gatwick Express runs to/from the Victoria Train Station while alot of the local day tours run from the Victoria Coach Station.

On arrival we were greeted by a really warm and friendly doorman. The staff in general were all friendly with the exception of the rather stiff pair at the the entrance of the breakfast room. Not very welcoming those two...

We booked a Superior King Room which was supposedly 15 sqm - the lady we booked with said that there were different sized superior king rooms and that she would put us down for one of the larger ones available. She certainly did as the room we got was sufficiently roomy and very well decorated! Our room number was 426. It does not face the main road which is a good thing as the main road is really noisy.

We had breakfast included in our rate and it provided a good variety of hot food. It might be just because we went to London after Paris but I found their selection of pastries quite limited. It all tasted good though! We also had dinner and drinks at the bar which we found to be really good and fairly priced.

Minor gripe :Amenities in the bathroom are very basic - we are used to hotels providing everything like cotton swipes/hair ties/combs etc so were a little surprised to find only shampoo and body wash in a 4 star hotel.

In general, we had a lovely stay at The Rubens. Our room was really wonderful and the hotel is decorated in such a tasteful traditional English style. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone as we are likely to come back ourselves!

Room Tip: When booking ask to be allocated the biggest room possible for the type you've selected as the room sizes vary.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wennie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Just returned from our 5th stay at the Rubens. We were happy to see that the quality and service has remained on such a high level. We were only in London for a day and night before returning to the US. We had plans to have a pre-theater dinner and then see a show. After checking in with recption, we asked to see the hotel manager, Malcom Hendry. We had been emailing back and forth for the past year and wanted to put a face with the name. He was as gracious as we expected and offered to help with any still pending requirements. We mentioned a restaurant that I had found on the interned that was close to the theater. He and Dave ( lead Bellman?) and Malcolm's assistant gave us a look that indicated we may have made a mistake in the choice. Malcolm suggested that they look into a couple of other choices and see if they could make reservations for us. After getting to our room, the phone rang and we were told that they made reservations at a restaurant just down the street from the theater and they were sure that we would like it. We walked to the theater area from the hotel and passed by the restaurant we had chosen from the internet. A total of 2 people were eating dinner. The restaurant we had reservations for was a couple of doors down the street. It was packed with people. And for good reason. The food and service was wonderful. It was 6PM and we told the waitress that we had tickets to a show at 7:30. She said no problem, most of the patrons were going to the theater at about the same time. She was right. We were out the door without being rushed at 7:05 and at the theater at 7:15. On the way to the theater, we again passed by the original restaurant. This time there were 4 people eating dinner. Malcolm and Dave helped save our night out on the town.

As far as room size is concerned. most Americans are surprised by the room sizes in the hotels in Europe. Especially in the older buildings where the bedrooms did not have bathrooms but you had to go "down the hall". Adding bathrooms takes away a lot of square footage. We have stayed in the Royal wing of the Rubens as well as in the "standard" section of the hotel. The standard double is smallish. The Executive King is very adequate and similar in size to most Marriott, Hilton and Weston American king rooms. One year we stayed at the Hilton Marylebron in London. Talk about small rooms. The bathroom only held one person at a time. No way for two to get ready at the same time. We didn't have that problem at the Rubens.

Room Tip: Classic double = queen bed - smallish room - lowest published price Superior King = king bed - slightly larger room - 10 British pounds Sterling more than the Classic double Executive King = king bed - good size room - 30 British pounds sterling more than the Classic double Booking directly could change the price structure.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This was my 2nd stay at The Rubens and I was just as impressed as my first. The hotel is very traditional and on first glance would appear to be only for 'posh' guests, however I can confirm that despite it's opulent character (which all adds to the experience) the hotel staff treat every guest like someone special has just walked through their doors! The staff are very courteous but friendly and the concierge is brilliant! And if you're going to stay there you just have to treat yourself to the amazing Rubens afternoon tea! The hotel is situated down the side of Buckingham Palace and only 5 mins walk to Victoria theatre/station.
If you're going to London for the whole 'experience' then Ruben's is definitely the place to stay!

Room Tip: The Executive King is definitely good enough for 3 adults sharing or a couple with a child. The rooms are cosy but have everything you need.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

To start, we have been in contact with the hotel after our stay and they have been reception to the feedback we provided. The level of service they provided after our stay far surpassed our expectations & they were quick to highlight that they take pride on the standards of product and service they provide. We advised them on the disspointmenet during our stay & they were very accommodating in determining how they could make it up to us. Cudos to them on being receptive to feedback post stay...

Now about the stay, we are truly an easy going family, not too fussy, but at minimum we like to assure that the cost of hotel measures up to product/services offered...

Upon checking in and walking to our room (room 123), there was a lot of noise. Upon entering our room, we realized it was not only quite loud but you could also feel a vibration throughout the room. Turns out the fire door right outside our room, did not have a magnetic strong enough to hold it in place so it was constantly vibrating. We phoned down to the desk immediately and let them know. They acknowledged the noise and indicated they would have someone fix it before night, as this would be a disturbance for sleeping. This did not occur, so we had to use ear plugs in order to fall asleep. Not only did it not occur that night, it was never resolved throughout our stay despite the fact that we politely asked on numerous occasions.

The toilets, well they didn’t really flush very well. We had to wait at least 15 minutes between flushes in order for the toilet to flush. We were forced to use the public washrooms in the downstairs part of the lobby to assure that we weren’t leaving remains in the toilet for an extended period of time.

Next the sofa bed, we realized these are never the most comfortable of beds, but the one at the Reuben was barely sleepable. We had to use the extra blankets and fold them on the mattress to try to alleviate the feeling of springs digging into our back. Now, because we were traveling with 3 people the sofa-bed was standard for most of our accommodations in the UK, and this was by far the worst.

The room was pretty small, but we expected that so no major issues here. The room was also very clean and well maintained.

Other than the location, and the advice/directions provided by concierge, our stay at Reuben left a lot to be desired, especially for the cost/night.

Room Tip: Avoid room 123
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cane_123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews