We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

If you are going to London for the experience of all things British, this is a great place. Impeccable service. The staff understands it is up to each of them to impress guests and keep them coming back. From the room, to the food, location and overall atmosphere it was fantastic. I travel a lot. This place was great!

Room Tip: In this case if "size matters" make sure you are very clear about exactly what you are get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,800
    942
    230
    95
    34
See reviews for
906
1,884
185
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel in September for a special anniversary and can honestly say it was well worth the wait to visit. After scanning so many hotels in London we were not disappointed at our final choice. The decor is beautiful, traditional and very classy which was exactly what we were looking for. We usually stay in 4* hotels but this was much more than that. We have also stayed quite recently in a 5* hotel but I personally prefer The Rubens and shall not hesitate to stay here again when we come to London. Well done to the staff who were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hokiejoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here Oct. 3 through 8. We had w wonderful stay and was so impressed with the service. However, we were not able to get the two things we really wanted because of the difficulty with communicating with staff and having request fullfilled appropriately. We tried to order two of the Ruben's terry bathrobes which was announced in the hotel's services book in the room. It stated that we could order the bathrobes through housekeeping. There was something wrong with our phone in #113 because when we pushed the button for housekeeping we got an outside line twice for directory assistance. Then we tried to have coicerge handle the our request but it did not get conveyed to housekeeping. On the evening prior to our departure we talked to the reception desk staff but because of his limited understanding of English he sent housekeeping staff to our room with two used bathrobes. When we explanied to the housekeeping staff we wanted to order new bathrobes to be shipped to our home they informed us that we could leave our address with reception staff the next morning when we checked out and that the bathrobes would be sent. The next morning when we checked out we once again tried to arrange for the shipment but the reception staff had no idea what we were talking about and we just gave up. I was so disappointed that we would never have Ruben's beautiful fluffy bathrobes to wear at home. We told them there was something wrong with our room phone button for housekeeping because there were two charges for phone usage. They were very agreeable to remove those charges from our bill. This will be the only time we will visit Europe and the Ruben was definately the highlight of the whole trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was delighted to read that for the most part you enjoyed your time with us but was disappointed to learn of the housekeeping and front of house service inconsistencies and miscommunication you encountered during your stay with us. Here at The Rubens, we pride ourselves on the quality of product and service we provide, which makes it all the more disappointing to hear that we let ourselves down on. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having delivered an exceptional experience and rest assured that I have addressed this feedback with my team here.

I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens in person in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Our stay at Rubens at the palace was brilliant! The doorman was very nice and helpful and the staff at reception quick and efficient. The room was very nice and the beds were very comfortable. The only thing we could complain about was the breakfast. It was ok but not worth the money. The location was great. Very close to Victoria station. I think this is the best hotel In London I've stayed at!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pliggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Rubens last year and saw 2 West End shows. This year we stayed Friday and Saturday and saw Legally Blond. I still shopped around to check all hotels around this price point but chose the location next to Victoria as it was central to two key meeting points. The hotel is a little expensive but the interior, bedroom and breakfast are worth it although most people seemed to go out to drink due to the bar prices. I have seen comments posted about the poor rear views and we have stayed in a suite at the front which can be noisy - but it's London and is still quieter than New York by a long way. All said if you want a garden view you will have to pay double to stay by the Thames or overlooking one of the Parks.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quiter but lose the Palace view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

You cannot go wrong by staying here. The rooms are tiny, so tiny that the kettle and tea essentials are stored under a little desk in the room. Even though the rooms are small, they are so charming and the bathrooms are spacious and updated. There is internet access and a bowl of apples to snack on. Our room came with breakfast, which was very delicious. We also ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This was our first stay at the Rubens. We chose the hotel based on positive reviews and high rating on Trip Advisor and am glad to say we were not disappointed! The location is great as it is close (max 10 minute walk) to the Victoria Train and Coach Station. The Gatwick Express runs to/from the Victoria Train Station while alot of the local day tours run from the Victoria Coach Station.

On arrival we were greeted by a really warm and friendly doorman. The staff in general were all friendly with the exception of the rather stiff pair at the the entrance of the breakfast room. Not very welcoming those two...

We booked a Superior King Room which was supposedly 15 sqm - the lady we booked with said that there were different sized superior king rooms and that she would put us down for one of the larger ones available. She certainly did as the room we got was sufficiently roomy and very well decorated! Our room number was 426. It does not face the main road which is a good thing as the main road is really noisy.

We had breakfast included in our rate and it provided a good variety of hot food. It might be just because we went to London after Paris but I found their selection of pastries quite limited. It all tasted good though! We also had dinner and drinks at the bar which we found to be really good and fairly priced.

Minor gripe :Amenities in the bathroom are very basic - we are used to hotels providing everything like cotton swipes/hair ties/combs etc so were a little surprised to find only shampoo and body wash in a 4 star hotel.

In general, we had a lovely stay at The Rubens. Our room was really wonderful and the hotel is decorated in such a tasteful traditional English style. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone as we are likely to come back ourselves!

Room Tip: When booking ask to be allocated the biggest room possible for the type you've selected as the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wennie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#35 of 1,067 in London
783 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#196 of 1,067 in London
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,138 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing