We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #85 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rubens.
The staff were first class whether reception, bar or service staff and the doorman had a Taxi available in all of thirty seconds, what service!
Only minor problem encountered was being "upgraded" at £30 per night from a back room to a front room was the road noise outside the hotel, despite being assured it was a quite room.
The room was ok and clean but rather difficult to get passed the bottom of the bed and not knock the very good flat screen TV off the wall.
Breakfast was very good with every choice possible

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,731
    933
    227
    95
    34
See reviews for
883
1,845
180
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel is like a second home. Incredible staff. Amazing location across the street from Buckingham Palace. Cozy and very well run. No better hotel in London for tourists

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank styrlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

look no further if you need to stay staying in the Victoria area of London, I was made to feel welcome from the moment I arrived all the staff were very helpful. The room I was allocated maybe a little small for some but when in London how much time are you going to spend in your room. but the room itself had everything you needed wih rich wall coverings and a really comfortable bed, the Bathroom was very modern loved the shower. The bar area had a piano player and he was very chatty, a real feel of hotels like they should be. The breakfast was out of this world with eggs cooked to order. Did not have dinner in the hotel but the bar food looked very good and not over priced. I will always look to see if the Rubens have availablity when next in London

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2travelwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed four days in mid October. First the location is great and the staff is fantastic. Dave and John at concierge desk are both great fun and provide wonderful insights into great activities. The front desk staff are also very helpful.

We had the breakfast included in our rate and the selection is good as was the food. Also we had the high tea and enjoyed it as well.

The king room was good sized and the bathrooms was big. The shower was our favorite part of the room.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

If you are going to London for the experience of all things British, this is a great place. Impeccable service. The staff understands it is up to each of them to impress guests and keep them coming back. From the room, to the food, location and overall atmosphere it was fantastic. I travel a lot. This place was great!

Room Tip: In this case if "size matters" make sure you are very clear about exactly what you are get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel in September for a special anniversary and can honestly say it was well worth the wait to visit. After scanning so many hotels in London we were not disappointed at our final choice. The decor is beautiful, traditional and very classy which was exactly what we were looking for. We usually stay in 4* hotels but this was much more than that. We have also stayed quite recently in a 5* hotel but I personally prefer The Rubens and shall not hesitate to stay here again when we come to London. Well done to the staff who were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hokiejoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here Oct. 3 through 8. We had w wonderful stay and was so impressed with the service. However, we were not able to get the two things we really wanted because of the difficulty with communicating with staff and having request fullfilled appropriately. We tried to order two of the Ruben's terry bathrobes which was announced in the hotel's services book in the room. It stated that we could order the bathrobes through housekeeping. There was something wrong with our phone in #113 because when we pushed the button for housekeeping we got an outside line twice for directory assistance. Then we tried to have coicerge handle the our request but it did not get conveyed to housekeeping. On the evening prior to our departure we talked to the reception desk staff but because of his limited understanding of English he sent housekeeping staff to our room with two used bathrobes. When we explanied to the housekeeping staff we wanted to order new bathrobes to be shipped to our home they informed us that we could leave our address with reception staff the next morning when we checked out and that the bathrobes would be sent. The next morning when we checked out we once again tried to arrange for the shipment but the reception staff had no idea what we were talking about and we just gave up. I was so disappointed that we would never have Ruben's beautiful fluffy bathrobes to wear at home. We told them there was something wrong with our room phone button for housekeeping because there were two charges for phone usage. They were very agreeable to remove those charges from our bill. This will be the only time we will visit Europe and the Ruben was definately the highlight of the whole trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was delighted to read that for the most part you enjoyed your time with us but was disappointed to learn of the housekeeping and front of house service inconsistencies and miscommunication you encountered during your stay with us. Here at The Rubens, we pride ourselves on the quality of product and service we provide, which makes it all the more disappointing to hear that we let ourselves down on. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having delivered an exceptional experience and rest assured that I have addressed this feedback with my team here.

I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens in person in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#187 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,770 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#39 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing