We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #72 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rubens for two nights on our way to Paris two weeks ago, and we very much enjoyed our short stay. Our room was comfortable as was the bed, the shower was great (awesome water pressure!) and breakfast each morning was yummy. Every single staff member we encountered were friendly and very helpful. Thanks for the good memory!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimat29forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,823
    949
    232
    95
    34
See reviews for
914
1,899
185
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just returned last night from a great four night stay at the Rubens. When we arrived at 11am, our room understandably wasn't ready, so they let us have an alternative room the first night and moved our things for us the second day. The King Henry VIII room was amazing! If you want a "British" experience, definitely book a Royal Room.

The bar area food was good and reasonably priced. Christopher was a great server.

The location was good...close to the underground etc, but we couldn't find anywhere to eat late at night (after
seeing Wicked...which is just three blocks away) besides in the hotel. I would say the only downside to the hotel was the slight lack of restaurants in the immediate area (but there are some, and the hotel food is also good).

Overall a great stay and totally recommended! Just remember you are not booking a new modern contemporary hotel, you are getting a really cute traditionally British hotel with great service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveopt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We have stayed at The Rubens for a week, it is a shame to leave. It has been fantastic, from staff to food and rooms it has all been a pleasure. We would highly recommend and would love to stay again. The room was more than we expected in size and the bathroom ample size. Location is great we walked just about everywhere, and the trains and buses close and run often. The bar is nice an welcoming, and the buffet great value. The added touches all make the stay feel special. Close to ample eating venues and bars if you need a change.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We arrived early at 6am. Check in not until 3pm. They said we looked tired and gave a day room with a bathroom and shower and daybed to use until our room would be ready. They said they would transfer our luggage to our new room for us. After being out and about, our new room was clean and well appointed with home baked cookies to great us. The concierge walked down the streat to mail my postcards so they would not have to wait until the next day pick up. The location close to Victoria station made getting around simple. The central location next to Buckingham palace was wonderful. A great experience. a great boutique hotel chain Red Carnation. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the street Buckingham Palace Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

From the moment I walked in I felt cared for at The Rubens. The staff is available and helpful at all hours. The consierge provided recommendations for resturants that were great.

Whenever I had any questions, Alex at the front desk was friendly and informed. When I told him the sink in my room had a clog he was very attentive to fix the problem. At the end of my stay the Guest Services Manager actually apologized for the condition of the sink - it was completely unnecessary but well appreciated.

Room was excellent, breakfast was amazing, and accomodations overall were top notch. Would recommend to anyone I know traveling to London for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Rubens at the Palace was excellent. The concierge was very helpful and knowlegable on where to go and how to get there, the room was well appointed and their complementary breakfast was a well stocked and tasty buffet that would satisfy most anyone. A major plus is the Rubens location, just a block from Buckingham Palace and central to many major sights. We were able to walk easily to many of the things we wanted to see. It is not cheap but for London, worth every pound!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiells
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Spent 4 nights (04/18/12 thru 04/21/12) in this wonderful hotel. Great service; excellent restaurant and food (especially for London) and comfortable room. Literally, across the street from Buckingham Palce Mews and other entrances. Could not have enjoyed our stay more!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#33 of 1,068 in London
835 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,068 in London
3,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,177 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing