We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our dog's first trip to London.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #89 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our dog's first trip to London.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We needed a luxury hotel to take our daughter's for her 16th birthday with our pet dog Tilly. From the first step into The Rubens reception we knew we were going to have a great stay.
We were greeted by all of the front desk staff & a big fuss was made of Tilly. What a lovely surprise we had on entering our room, a birthday cake for our daughter, a bed made for Tilly with her own dog room service menu. They have a great team of staff working at The Rubens, it made our stay most enjoyable & we will certainly stay again. Thankyou from the Taylor family of Nottingham.

Room Tip: We booked a suite because we though we might need extra room for our dog, it was very quite with lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,693
    927
    227
    95
    34
See reviews for
870
1,822
177
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went here for my boyfriends 21st staff were nice/ average nothing special we paid extra for 2 rooms an we had to ask what rooms we had paid extra for as they all were small an dated. Headboard was very very worn, view was of a dustbin but paying 200+ for a room you expect extra. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice an good service. Easy to find location is good. Best thing about the experience was Billy Elliot the musical MAGICAL!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

The English know about service and the Rubens is a superstar! From the minute you hit the front door to the time you sadly must say goodbye, the service by each and every person at this lovely hotel is 5+ stars. Outstanding.
The rooms, especially on the 4th floor, are beautiful. Crisp smooth white sheets and duvet, flat screen TV, top notch bathrooms and double paned windows that create a quiet quiet room.
Location is perfect. Walk to Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, the West End and in good weather, everywhere beyond.
Breakfast is eye popping with perfect and friendly service. Afternoon tea is a must.
Great job Rubens. I highly recommend your lovely hotel with the best staff ever. I miss you all!
Thank you.

Room Tip: 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlsgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

The Reubens is the sort of London hotel that you really hope to find!. It has history and character, a wonderful situation adjacent to Buckingham Palace and Victoria Station,and staff that really understand the importance of good service. And people do make such a difference...from the pleasant but meaningful greetings, to assistance with logistical and theatre queries.The Library Restaurant is a great place for dinner - discreet and intimate, the same delightful staff and I would love to give it top marks...but the food just needs to be better. From Goats Cheese served at teeth chilling temperature, to a "Green Godess" salad that was just tired!!. Paradoxically, my rib eye steak was superb, but the wine list is curious with a huge penchant for south african whites and not a single NZ sauvingnon on the list. There is so much that is right about this hotel that I want it to be perfect.With just a few twaks it could be...but I like its attitude and attention to detail, and I certainly will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fionnuala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

I travel for business... a lot. And I tired long ago of those cookie-cutter business hotels that we all know. What they gain in terms of predictibility, they lose in terms of, well, predictability. As such, I find myself looking more and more for unexpected gems. Hotels that sing "service" and "local" without feeling pretentious or forced. Some of my favorite hotels in the world - from Vancouver to Milan, from Reykjavik to Buenos Aires - I stumbled upon in this way. Of course, I've had some major turkeys as well, so caveat emptor is my mantra.

The Rubens was, all in all, a most pleasant surprise. Although the room was, shall we say, "funky" ( red padded walls with large mirrors made me wonder what sort of client might request such a decor!), the service was absolutely outstanding. I genuinely don't remember when a group of hotel staff so genuinely and sincerely dedicated themselves to my experience. This alone would get me to return, but the location was yet another great surprise. Close enough to everything (I walked to every meeting I had over three days, and enjoyed the mid-winter strolls), yet just far enough off the tourist grid - by a few blocks - that I enjoyed walking "through" rather than "with" the tourists. Made me feel like a wee bit of a local, if you know what I mean?

Breakfast was copious and perfectly acceptable. Room service dinner was, again, acceptable (I don't think I'd travel to the hotel to eat, as London has so many astonishingly good restaurants). The linens were absolutely FANTASTIC, as were the pillows and bed comfort. YAY! Fast WiFi made my late-night working sessions a breeze. They even pulled together a very early to-go breakfast for me, as I had a 7:00 flight from Heathrow.

But the biggest factor for my "excellent" rating was the cost. Granted, I was not there during peak season, and I would expect my experience would have been dramatically different in July, but for the money it was a huge win.

An important note for anyone considering this hotel, particularly during high season, this is not a top-end hotel. Rather, it is the best second-tier experience I've ever had. Go in with realistic expectations and prepare to be blown away. Go in thinking you're staying at the Ritz and, well, you'll likely be disappointed.

I'm putting The Rubens on my extremely short list of "must return" hotels.

Room Tip: Interior-facing rooms are extremely quiet. Fourth floor was recently remodeled. Lower floors appear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneTrueMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Had an amazing weekend stay at the Rubens. The staff are amazingly helpful and could not do enough for us. My special thanks to the Manager for my mouth watering Breakfast of Waffles!!

The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bathrooms are exceptionally clean. It's a great location near Buckingham palace and is only a short ride away from the West End. I will no doubt be staying again in the near future.

Room Tip: 4th floor is perfectly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jubba33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Nice enough hotel and the staff were pleasant but perhaps we were expecting more of the rooms, eating areas and food but it wasn't the top end establishment we were hoping for. I guess it just goes to show you can't always believe what you read. If our expectations weren't so high this hotel would probably be a three star rating as opposed to the four given here. So don't let this review put you off if you want a decent hotel then go for it because nothing was seriously wrong here, as I said I guess we are used to that little extra. PS: because it was Xmas the food was generally for the masses, not the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#29 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#181 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,689 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#39 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#81 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing