We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 1-bedroom apartment at Catherine Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent 1-bedroom apartment at Catherine Place”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed in a 1-bedroom apartment at the Catherine Place Apartment for a week and absolutely loved it. It's a duplex apartment with a cosy living room, comfortable toilet, and a well-stocked kitchen. We loved the 'antique' look that was carefully created with lovely old books and artefacts in the living room, counterbalanced with modern appliances and comforts including heating/air-conditioning and all the Sky Chanels one could ask for. However, the fabric sofa cushions could do with a bit of an uplift - they felt too squashed and a bit worn down.

The plush Penhaligons toiletries and hand soap/lotion in the kitchen were thoughtful touches, as was the welcome basket stocked with M&S preserves, Whittard coffee, and hot chocolate sachets. The bed on the upper level was comfortable, and the second TV in the bedroom was a bonus. Bear in mind that the bedroom itself is rather small and could barely accommodate the queen-sized bed without much walking room.

A huge plus was the daily room service that was offered, which was top-notch and very professional. The apartment also has an excellent location - a few minutes walk from Buckingham Palace, Victoria Station and the stop for the hop-on-hop off busses. Overall, a fantastic place to stay if you find hotel rooms to be poky and would like a bit more of a home away from a home experience. It was too cold for us to enjoy the terrace, but I'm sure it would be lovely in warmer weather.

The only minor downside was the extensive construction work presently taking place in one of the flats, which could get noisy in the mornings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akaur5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,793
    941
    230
    95
    34
See reviews for
903
1,879
185
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Met up with family for a short theatre break. The hotel was chosen for its location close to the theatre but we shall certainly return again - The Rubens is run as a hotel ought to be run.
The room was smallish but the furnishings beautiful. We enjoyed the early pre- theatre carvery which was well done and an excellent find if you are off to the theatre and wish to eat early.
But the stand-out feature if this hotel was the superb service and attentive and friendly staff. They were really really good and I would highly recommend them and this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the weekend before Xmas with no complaints at all not even a little niggle, rooms very modern and very smart and clean, sparkling bathroom and a shower to die for. 2 min walk from the tube, and walking distance from a few of Londons main attractions, great atmosphere in the bar/restaurant, definitely value for money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bridgend350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our Family visited the Rubens at the Palace for three nights during March Break. We took advantage of 3 nights for the price of 2 and really splurged and booked the King's Suite. It was awesome. Our 8 and 11 year olds loved having the living room with the bed and pull out couch to themselves, and my wife and I enjoyed the extra large bedroom with a canopy bed, excellent en suite facilities, and large closets. The service at the Rubens was outstanding. In particular, assistant manager Marta was extremely attentive and made the extra effort to make our stay memorable -- like getting a signed photo from the cast of Wicked which we loved. The concierage Dave was also very helpful. Finally, the food at the Rubens, at the Master Carvery, was very good. Breakfasts with the variety of eggs from Lukas were a special treat and the dinner buffet of carved lamb and beef and the well prepared veggies while not creatively presented were delicious to eat. The location of the Rubens was very convenient, close to Buckingham Palace and all its associated pomp in the immediate area, and a lovely short walk along St. James Park to Westminister Abbey, Big Ben, the Churchill War Rooms, and even to the gruesomely awesome London Dungeon. We will return

Room Tip: King's Suite is large and perfect for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel is amazing. The service and attention to detail is outstanding. We ate in the restaurant and the food was incredible. The location is just perfect And lots to see on the doorstep. Cant wait to do it all again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

An amazing experience in London. Would definitely rate this hotel as a 4****DELUXE. Location is perfect when you arrive from Gatwick airport (3min walking distance from Victoria train station), also this is a very touristic area, with plenty of theatres and museums (I advise to se Wicked and Billy Elliot musicals, just few steps from the hotel. I asked the Concierge for tickets).
The staff is very friendly, professional and really service-oriented. Every morning the General manager was personally welcoming us in the lobby. We have also met their Director of Sales (a very charming French Gentleman) who invited us for a cup of tea.
I've spent 5 nights in this hotel and from the beguining my feeling was - to be home.
Next time I'll try to stay in their sister hotel The 41 (in the same building).

Room Tip: You should ask for a RED Room (if you like the red colour) or for a room in the Royal Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EkaterinaS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I had the chance to spend 6 wonderful nights at the Rubens on a business trip to London. The buffet breakfast is amazing with a large choice and they cook your eggs in front of you(Malcolm the General Manager was even here in the morning to welcome the guests!). I had a nice quiet room, recently refurbished with a huge bathroom. Complimentary wifi was highly appreciated as well as the desk where I found a stapler, pens, paper and many other stuff. Special thanks to the two nice guest services Janine and Martha, very helpful and always smiling (as all other employees). After my crazy days in the city,I used the room service to get the perfect club sandwich and even invited a few colleagues to have a drink at the bar near the fireplace. Thanks to the doorman Nathan that helped me get a taxi straight away every single morning! I would definetly come back for my next trip or for holidays with the family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
775 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#192 of 1,067 in London
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,132 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#68 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing