We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just cannot fault Rubens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #91 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shropshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just cannot fault Rubens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at Rubens at the Palace on 12 - 14 July to attend the Coronation festival and gala and the Hotel made us feel so welcome. Everyone was so courteous and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and bar snack in the evening very good. I will certainly return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANZ8740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,700
    927
    227
    95
    34
See reviews for
871
1,828
177
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

booked as a special treat for my partners birthday. initially disappointed with allocated room which was at best, a single room with a double bed squeezed in, and with the air con units immediately outside our room. i made enquiries at the desk and was shown to 2 alternate rooms one of which we moved to immediately.
the staff here are very accommodating and provide excellent customer service (in the main ..... however would question the bar staff in the cavalry bar who tend to be a bit selective about if they are going to attend to you or not !) however, the concierge staff are a delight, the reception staff equally so, especially the duty manager who is a lovely sweet girl who makes time for engaging in conversation with all guests and making them feel like old friends excellent management skills. the only problem with the trip was out of the hotels control and we were kept well informed in that the mains water burst outside the hotel had left us without cold water (thus a shower) from the wednesday we arrived until the friday teatime, which in the blistering heat, and lots of walking, made for a bad combination. bottles of water were delivered to our room so we had to resort to strip washes in the WHB in order not to offend our fellow restaurant / theater goers! i appreciate this is not the hotels fault, but i would have expected some reduction in the bill for the inconvenience. maybe i am too british and didnt complain enough, but paying nearly £300 per night for which we only had running water for one of them i felt was a bit of a poor show.

Room Tip: luck of the draw i'm afraid ....... if you're not happy with the room then please inform rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val_steve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for posting your review, and I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

I was most concerned to read that you were so dissatisfied with elements of your stay and that you were disappointed with the size and view of the room you were initially allocated. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes of accommodation, but I was glad to learn that my team were able to more you to a more suitable room once you had made them aware of this.

Thank you for your kind words about my Front of House team. It is concerning to hear that you did not feel that the service in the bar lived up to the same standard. Be assured that I have discussed your comment with my Food & Beverage Manager, who in turn has taken this back to his team.

I am very sorry to hear that your experience was impacted by the temporary lack of water we experienced at the hotel for 24 hours last week. This is a highly unusual occurrence, which was completely out of our control and caused significant disruption to the hotel’s normal service. It was due to a ruptured water mains on Buckingham Palace Road, which occurred on Wednesday evening. We did everything possible under these exceptional circumstances to make our guests at that time as comfortable as possible and to speak to everyone in order to ensure they were satisfied with our efforts. We have since received a number of guest compliments regarding how well the situation was handled. Thames Water have, following this day’s temporary disruption, now overcome the issues related to the burst mains, and I am pleased to say that normal service has been restored, as it was the day after the 24-hour disruption. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

English afternoon tea just as it should be - exquisite !
I must say the staff were very helpful to all of us in our party. We arrived early than was booked but it was no problem for the staff. They had put us in a separate room to accommodate our party of 20.
Sandwiches , scones with Jam & cream plus cakes and also lots of Tea which was the main reviver after a hot day in London seeing the sites.
I think the manager of the hotel has a wonderful team of dedicated staff all doing their professional job in a kind and friendly way. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
I think my wife and I next trip to London will possibly try staying at the Hotel.
Roger Newcombe

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We just returned from our stay at The Rubens from a seven day trip to London. The staff was outstanding in every way. They were very professional and courteous. The location is very convenient to the tube and within walking distance of Buckingham Palace. The front desk always greeted us by our names when we returned from a day of sightseeing. Our room was very thoroughly cleaned each day. The concierge was very helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay in the Royal Suites wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed at The Rubens several times. We have just returned from our stay, bringing 16 friends with us on a tour. The customer service at The Rubens is extraordinary. Marta and her team worked hard to accommodate us even though they were trying to handle large crowds in for Wimbledon and other groups who recognize The Rubens' excellence as we do. We discovered The Rubens by accident in the 1990s while looking for a good English afternoon tea. We found not only that, but the superb Carvery, comfortable, pristine-clean rooms, and a staff whose professionalism, courtesy, and knowledge are incomparable. My wife and I will be back, and we will not hesitate to bring our groups--many of whose members commented on The Rubens excellence--with us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were greeted and checked in by some of the friendliest staff that we have met in a London Hotel. When we got to our room we were disappointed in it's position and it's size. As we could only stay one night as opposed to our original planned stay of 2 nights, we decided not to complain. We then received a call from Reception asking how our room was, I did say that we were disappointed with the size of the room but we're only here overnight so it will do. Minutes later another call saying that the Hotel were trying to find us another room as we were not happy. They tried, but unfortunately it was a busy night and there were only a few options, we said that we appreciated them trying but we would stay put for now, we were told that on our next stay we will be automatically upgraded which we appreciated. We ate in the Old Masters, and upon arrival were shown to our table and given a glass of Champagne each as part of their apology, a nice touch. Our Waiter was very attentive and very polite, we had a lovely relaxing evening and although our stay didn't start too well, we appreciated how we were being looked after. Breakfast was very good, a great choice and poached eggs cooked to order in front of you (I love a Poached Egg!). We will return to Rubens at The Palace as it is friendly, well positioned and offers fantastic service.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms ending in 31 as they are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Jane_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Read some of these reviews before you read mine. Throw out any of the negatives because the positive comments speak most truthfully. After arriving from Los Angeles their driver picked us up like movie stars with the new 600 S Mercedes-First Class. Arriving at the hotel and I wasn't sure just what to expect? Let me tell you, they are nothing but first class hospitality. They can not do enough to make you feel welcome and make you comfortable. An e-mail had been sent requesting a room set up for a special occasion. e-mails didn't do it well enough. Instead they called the States directly to offer suggestions and make all arrangements. Upon entering our room (and not expecting anything) for the celebration, my wife felt like it was a scene out of Pretty Lady. A shadowed room with several lit floating candles with some reflecting off the mirrored walls, passionate red rose petals spread abundantly over a pulled back bed, iced champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries with mood setting romantic music playing softly in the background, night cap drinks at the downstairs piano bar, etc, etc. I really have to especially thank Marta for her involvement as she was obsessively determined to make our stay unforgetable which it was and will always be. We were there for several days and what a location. We toured the Mews--it was VERY interesting and just a jump across the street. We saw Billy Elliott at the Theatre across from Victoria Station which is a 7-10 walk from the hotel. We were also able to walk to the Bus Terminal (10-15 min.) and take an all day tour of Windsor Castle, Stonehedge and Bath and end the day at the Savoy Theatre Beatles "Let It Be" performance. Plenty of dining and excitement--we WALKED to the London Eye and MANY other major tourist attractions very comfortably. After tiring on the third day we bought the two day Hop-On Hop Off and used everything from public transportation, the subway, etc. You just can't beat Ruben's,. And, by the way, their breakfast is to die for. You won't need lunch after feasting on their Breakfast Buffet. The shower has the force of a fire hose so learn how to adjust it-it is great. The bed was like a floating cloud, especially when you are tired. We got all the rest and relaxation every night to fuel up on their breakfast and run at a breakspeed pace all day and late into the night. We will continue to see more of London using Ruben's as our home base. BTW We met several other couples that joined us on an Oceana Cruise thru the British Isles and they described Ruben's as I have--a place that take's great care of you. Give it a try-you will love it and not be sorry. Many of our memories of our stay at Ruben's are at the top tier of memories of the British Isles Tour.

Room Tip: Get what you can afford. All of those at the front desk are more than capable of helping you and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne93010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed such a wonderful time. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I was particularly pleased to read that you liked our breakfast and that you found the service provided by Marta to be wonderful. She was equally delighted to hear your kind words when I passed these on to her.

I was thrilled to learn that you were impressed with the turndown service in your room upon arrival. Our selection of turndown services is popular among our guests as these allow them to enhance special occasions by offering a relaxing conclusion to the day. On their special occasions, couples enjoy our romantic turndown with rose petals, chocolate-dipped strawberries, candles and a bottle of Champagne. And theatre-goers just love to return from a show to our themed Wicked turndown! What better way to organise a surprise for a special person on a special occasion?

Thank you once again for your kind comments. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#27 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#174 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,706 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#7 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#39 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#83 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing