We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a top notch hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I booked this hotel for my wife and I because they were offering one night free if you booked three nights in a suite. Since we were staying in London for 6 days the two free days made a big difference on our bill. Our room was the African Queen suite on the first floor. The decor was a little dated but the room itself was large, especially for London so we had plenty of room to unpack our clothes and store our luggage. The bathroom was also very large and the bath was very nice.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and proactive in making sure that we enjoyed our stay. As a lot of other reviewers have written, we received a call shortly after checking in to make sure that we were satisfied with our accommodations. Every night there were chocolates left with our turn down service and there was complimentary water provided.

The hotel bar had someone singing and playing piano most nights which was a very nice touch. The hotel is located next to Buckingham palace and the Victoria tube and bus station so public transport is very close. One night I left my coat in the bar but one call to the concierge and it was waiting for me in the lobby on my way out the door the next morning.

Overall my wife and I had a wonderful time at this hotel and would highly recommend it to my fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,328 - 2,334 of 4,413 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Rubens at the Palace for six nights. Our room type was a lovely Executive King. Since this is our third stay in just a little over a year it almost seems as if the Rubens is becoming our home away from home. And of course the hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Westminster and right across the street from Buckingham Palace. But what really sets the hotel apart from all the rest is the staff. Everyone is trying very hard to provide sterling customer service. We especially would like to thank Jo Lovegrove, Front Office Manager for her courtesy and professionalism.

Room Tip: Highly recommend an Executive King
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The person who wrote about the rude doorman wasn't even paying to stay in the hotel. As a paying guest I'm pleased the riff raff are kept out, who knows in this day and age who is trying to get into a hotel and for what reason ?

I shall stay again as I'm delighted to see this hotel has a strong security policy.

Everyone treated me with upmost respect, politeness and kindness

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank faerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

my first 5star rating on trip advisor. this hotel oozes class. great staff, excellent restaurant,
quiet and comfortable room.(would you believe turndown service avail at request?) 10 min
after check-in, a call from the front desk regarding room quality. 15 min later, a knock on the
door from housekeeping to check our room amenities. spent 7 wonderful nights, and will
return again.
a bit pricey(it ain't the ritz folks), but victoria station one block away. and buckhouse 2 blocks
down the street, it's a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raceaveal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Been to London many times and stayed at several hotels. A friend told us about the Rubens at the Palace and have gone back every trip since. The location is terrific. Buckingham Palace across the street, Victoria Station just a couple blocks away, many good restaurants nearby and central to get most anywhere. The staff is professional, attentive, poised and knowledgeable. The hotel itself is older, but well maintained, and rooms have nicely updated decor along with free WiFi. Rooms are comfortable (some a bit small), are nicely appointed with great towels and down pillows. Food in the restaurants is excellent and if a big breakfast buffet is not your style, local breakfasts can be had just few minutes walk away. Reasonably priced with all the pluses. Will be back again...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpetemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed at the Rubens with my Springador dog for a couple of nights. The hotel could not have been more welcoming - they are genuine dog lovers, combined with having a superb quality hotel. They gave Tyler a choice of beds, her own bowls, biscuits and a toy, plus a lot of fuss, all of which she loved. The room was immaculate, and the food outstanding. I couldn't recommend Rubens more highly. The location is also excellent for dog owners, being so close to Green Park and St James's.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I booked this Hotel for our London trip because of my mothers recommendation ( she and her husband stayed there in 2012 ). The atmosphere is very elegant and warm. My wife loved the rooms with the "royal" decor. The staff was very polite and helpful and willing to assist with directions or attraction recommendations. We did not eat evening meals at the hotel, but did have breakfast several mornings and were very satisfied with the selection and quality. It is not a cheap hotel ( our price per night 187 pounds ) but for the quality the Rubens offers, it's right on par with the cost.

Room Tip: Our standard King room was average size and you can upgrade to a suite ( 100 pounds ), but if your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#229 of 1,081 in London
4,475 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#33 of 1,081 in London
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,803 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £166 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing