We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rubens at the Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I visited here with another couple as we were attending the Festival of Rememberance. First impressions were very good and greeted by very curteous staff, as we arrived early the consierge took care of our bags until our rooms were ready. When we arrived back later that afternoon our bags were ready in our rooms which definately had the 'wow' factor. We had a look at our friends room which was decorated completely different which we thought was a good touch. The hotel was spotless and with handwritten notes welcoming us to the hotel. Breakfast was as good as you get from a large hotel, everything was fresh and displayed in an appealing way. All staff were helpfull and nothing too much trouble with The head consierge introducing us to the restaraunt next door with the recommendation for a Wagu beefburger which was top class. The only gripe was paying £22.50 for 3 black coffees and a cup of tea as at the end of the day its only boiling water and a few granules of tea/beans! saying that we probably will use this hotel again as its perfectly situated and we never once used the Tube all weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay.

Hearing ones guest experience helps me immensely to ensure that our services and consistency levels are as high as they can be.

I was pleased to read of the highlights of your stay, but sorry that our lounge prices offended. We do try very hard to maintain good value pricing and feel that we are comparing to other competitor hotels in our area. However, I am sorry that this has put a slight disappointment in your experience. Thus being said, I am hopeful that other areas of value of enjoyment made up someway for this.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,214 - 2,220 of 4,334 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed with wife and 2 kids for 1 night, arrived to a wonderful welcome, lots of attention to the children, took the pressure of the adults while we checked in (and had a drink - very nice selection!) room was spacious and very quiet didn't hear any traffic or street noise. Breakfast was good, lots of choice and a very spacious dining area. Location is brilliant, near to the palace and waking distance to Oxford St etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnemmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rubens in November 2013. The hotel is well situated near to Victoria Tube and in close walking distance to all attractions. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly recommend taking advantage of the free turn down service and also eating in the Old Masters Restaurant. Their carvery was extremely good.

Only negative I had was coffee was lukewarm at breakfast but I an live with that.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 232 was ideal as it is in the centre of the hotel and of the main road. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiovanniYeldarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience with others. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, highlighting specifically our welcome central location and our Old Masters Restaurant. Our Rib of Beef is a particular favourite amongst our guests.

I am sorry to hear of your coffee issue and have addressed this with my breakfast team. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to The Rubens at the Palace in the not too distant future.

With my very best regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel as part of a London Theatre visit. All staff extremely friendly, very comfortable and well furnished bedroom and strong attention to detail. Happened to mention to a member of staff it was a Wedding Anniversary and we later found a card and small gift in our room. Also, very pleasant and relaxing bar area with live pianist.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have been to a couple of the Red Carnation group hotels before, the Summer Lodge in Dorset and Hotel 41, next door to the Rubens. Both hotels were fantastic and I would do again but the Rubens was different.

For the price the rooms are small for the price unlike the other two hotels.

The decor was standard corporate, unlike the other two hotels I stayed in.

What really let in down was the food in the bar. We had eaten a large lunch so decided to eat in the bar. We had between us two rounds of sandwiches, a portion of chips, two glasses of wine and a bottle of beer.

The sandwiches were white bread, that might have been bought from the corner shop when you ran out without any taste to it. Cutting the crusts off could not disguise this!

The chips tasted like frozen and not appetising.

And the cost for this culinary masterpiece...........................£51!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerbyHappytraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experiences following your stay with us. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with the size of room that you had booked with us, and that as a hotel we faired a little less when compared to our other 5 star hotels 41 and Summer Lodge, both of course excellent hotels, and in nature much smaller boutique hotels compared with ourselves, a much larger 4 star experience.

This being said, I was especially disappointed to read of your experience in our bar. We pride ourselves on all of our standards, food service being no exception, and I am sorry that on this occasion we seem to have let you down. Please be assured that I have shared your experience with our Chef and re-iterated the importance of consistency and quality at all times. From our bread to chip potatoes, we feel that we are always insistent on the highest quality, and I am sorry that on this occasion you did not agree with this and were left disappointed.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and my apologies for your disappointment.

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Another wonderful stay at The Ruebens ,Reception great,concierge excellent ,were able to leave bags early & check in later,rooms clean & comfortable free Wifi,breakfast plenty & fresh planning 3 more stays in the new year can't wait.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasberry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I'm studying abroad in London and my mother came to visit for a week and we stayed here.
I thought it was absolutely perfect.

The location is great- it's right in Victoria so it's near all the sites, along with great restaurants.
The rooms are very decently sized for a city like London.
The people who work in the hotel are friendly and ready to help you.
The breakfast and restaurant is very nice- definitely a perk.

I have really loved staying here and would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

Room Tip: The upper floors are quieter, but the lower floors aren't too loud, just a tiny bit noisy someti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne11344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#206 of 1,077 in London
4,293 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,701 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#32 of 1,077 in London
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £159 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing