We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect but it was superb from the minute you walk in . Great front of house staff and same in restaurant . All very friendly and made you feel special . Afternoon tea was delicious . Must do again

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,798
    942
    230
    95
    34
See reviews for
905
1,883
185
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We chose this hotel based upon its location and because of the positive reviews the hotel had received and are pleased to say that it lived up to all of our expectations. The hotel itself is perfectly situated for a sightseeing/shopping trip to London. Our room was clean and very comfortable and sufficiently spacious for 2 adults and a child. However most impressive was the warm and friendly attitude of all staff. They made us feel most welcome and were especially attentive to our 7 year old daughter. We shall most certainly return and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank graham i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Four of us had Afternoon Tea. It was excellent. There was a good selection of sandwiches, nicely made and fresh. Two scones each, served warm with cream and Rubens' own very good strawberry jam. Several cakes each, including a cheescake snowman and a whiskey surprise present cake (it being the week before Christmas). A good selection of teas, a glass of good champagne. We were offered more hot water for the tea, and indeed more tea; and more sandwiches, which we couldn't eat as we were pretty full by then. The Lounge where we had the tea was very pleasant, and very comfortable. All in all, an excellent experience. Not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for. I must also especially mention the staff in the Lounge, who were lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small, but so are many hotel rooms located in the city. They are very nicely kept and clean. The location is very convenient. My view was not very good at all, but they do have rooms with better view of Buckingham Palace.

Room Tip: if you are also wanting a good view from your room ask to be placed in the front of the hotel becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yannet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the size of the room you were allocated. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes. If anyone is not entirely satisfied with the room that they are allocated, my team are always more than happy to show you room alternatives.

On a more positive note, it is wonderful to hear that you liked the location and overall feel of the hotel, and that you felt so well taken care of by my team. They genuinely enjoy looking after all our guests and were thrilled to hear your comments when I passed these on to them.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great location and warm hearted atmosphere in this welcoming place.
Though I had a minor problem with not having a flexible shower hose in my room, the staff was very helpful and let me change the room as soon as one was available.
We have stayed in this hotel for several Christmas shopping weekends already and will certainly come back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyasweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
So pleased to read that you loved our location, atmosphere and staff, and that your plans are certainly in place to return.

I have instructed my maintenance team to have a stock of shower hoses available should you or any other guest have a preference.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and I hope to see you again in 2014.

Kind Regards
Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My Aunt and I stayed here in November and from the moment we stepped out of the cab we were made to feel special. The staff at this hotel were all very polite and friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for any of them. We ate in the carvery one evening and the meal was excellent. The breakfasts were also very good. We had a room overlooking the Royal News which was nice. The room was very clean and comfortable, lovely deep bath and lots of hot water and nice fluffy robes. We could not fault this hotel and we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 914AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ditchling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This was our second visit to The Rubens at the Palace with our little dog. We were, all 3 of us, welcomed back by all of the staff. It truly is a "home from home" with plenty of personal attention and staff always having time to talk to us and assist.
We stayed in a Junior Suite which was very generously proportioned, well furnished and spotlessly clean.
We had dinner there on each of our 3 night stay and all were excellent - particularly the ones in the Library Restaurant.
We plan to come back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the Buckingham Palace Mews
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#195 of 1,067 in London
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,137 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing