We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross Negligence or Theft ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gross Negligence or Theft ?”
Reviewed 4 September 2008

I stayed at Reubens a number of weeks ago. It was to my horror that checking my credit card bill that I noticed that the hotel had taken an additional £216 from my credit card supposedly due to a mistake by the night auditor! What the night auditor was doing with my credit card details and how he accessed them when I checked out at midday remains to be seen. It does not matter how good or bad the hotel is if you cannot trust the employees.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank turk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,823
    949
    232
    95
    34
See reviews for
914
1,899
185
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We stayed two nights this summer, and liked the hotel. The rooms were small but nice enough, and the place was clean. Unlike some hotels, this one does have a nice lobby and bar area. The location is good in some respects -- right across the street from the Royal Mews and the entrance to Buckingham Palace was right down the street. We visited the palace during our stay so that was convenient (be sure to book your palace tickets online to avoid a huge wait in line). I would not pay extra for a view room because the Mews are not that interesting to look at (not like you are looking right at the front of the palace). It is a medium-sized walk through St. James park to the parliament/Big Ben area. Our second stay was in Trafalgar square and we found that location to be more central and convenient.

  • Liked — lobby and bar, friendly staff
  • Disliked — small rooms, location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

The Rubens is an interesting hotel within walking distance of Victora station and Buckingham Palace. its decor is "old world colonial" which you either like or hate. There is a formal feel to the hotel, which again is down to personal preference.
The service is excellent as is the food, but it can be on the pricey side. As the hotel is a old building creaky floors are omnipresent but some rooms are quiet noisey, these are typically the small single rooms, which are also very pokey, no view etc.
Dont get me wrong its a fine place, but you must like the old world feel ( and sounds).

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fearmór
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We just stayed at the Rubens for 4 nights in the busiest time of the year for London, and I absolutely loved the entire place! The staff was fantastic, from the check-in to room service to the concierge. The rooms are very plush, although a bit small. The location is fabulous - right around the corner from Buckingham palace and a short walk to Victoria Station! I highly recommend the Palace if you want to feel VERY catered to!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasMommaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The staff of this hotel is so friendly & so polite, starting with the reservation. I had a lot of questions and the staff was always friendly and very polite. It was a really a pleasure! The room (king size bed) is maybe a little bit small but the room was wonderful also very comfortable bed. The hotel is also very clean which we do appreciate a lot! the english breakfast is overwhelming and excellent! the afternoon tea in the hotel is the best of london, we could compare this with the afternoon tea of Fortnum & Mason but the afternoon tea in the hotel was better also with live piano music, so very british!
We are so pleased of this hotel that we come back to the rubens in december for x-mas!

  • Liked — The service and the cleaness + the interior of the hotel
  • Disliked — rooms maybe a little bit small
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AntwerpSippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I don't really want to write a review about this Hotel; because I don't really want to let the Secret out of the bag. You are probably familiar with it's location very close to Victoria, so for exploring London it is excellent.

It's one of the friendliest and most efficient Hotels I have stayed in for many a year. I have been fortunate to travel around the World and this includes London and for efficient and friendly service this one is fabulous and hard to fault.
From the initial booking error which was MY FAULT, it was corrected to the deal that I wanted without fuss or traumor which allowed me to relax and enjoy my stay immediately.
The staff are very eager to please and very attentive but this is done in a relaxed and friendly manner which does not appear in anyway false but the staff seemed truely eager and passionate
about their duties. I have stayed here twice in the past 3 months and for a change my normal grimace at the tought of staying in a London Hotel; The Rubens at the Palace is a stay I am actually now looking Forward to.
Before you book have a look at the web-site under offers as these seem to change seasonally and you can make quite significant savings over the standard adverstised room rate and I would advise to book on their website direct as I could not find a cheaper deal on any of the usual sites.

Eleven out of ten for me on this one but SShhhhhh.

  • Liked — Staff who are really Eager To Please
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank daverogers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Everything about this Establishment is Ultra 1st Class.. I think even her Majesty would'nt be disappointed here. Idealy located and service exceptional booked thru Hotel Direct for a good rate. Felt like royalty for 2 days try L'arco italian Bistro 100yrds to your left yummy

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#32 of 1,069 in London
834 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,069 in London
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing